We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would gladly recommend Villa Royale Inn to anyone who's looking for an exotic and absolutely relaxing getaway.”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #47 of 75 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was invited through a friend to spend a weekend here. The place is beautiful, romantic, exotic, unique, secluded and i can just go on and on. All the suites are huge, very well maintained and most importantly the owner who by the way is a true gentleman and one of the nicest people I've ever mat, has kept and protect the originality of the place.
I don't think words would do justice to quality and taste of the food, the ambiance and the amazing service they offer at their one of a kind restaurant. You need to experience the indescribable feeling first hand and in person yourself. I'm not kidding when I say the food is religiously delicious.
At the end if you're looking for a romantic, quiet, beautiful and original, with amazing service and very affordable, I highly recommend Villa Royale. In my books it's an 8 star place. I would definitely go back as soon as time permits.

Special thanks to team Villa Royale specifically the owner, thank you David.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Reza-Aliee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 292 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

Well, I must confess to being the "ignorant, clueless" parent of the lone child who supposedly spoiled everyone else's "quiet time" by having the gall to actually swim in the pool at Villa Royale for two whole hours (gads!) in the afternoon. One of the things I LIKED about the hotel is that it allowed us to bring our daughter. We had done a lot of searching to find a high quality place that would allow us to bring a child and based our stay upon Swiss G's review from November 2013 concerning how welcoming the hotel was to her young family. We too felt that the staff was extremely friendly and bent over backwards to be kind to our daughter (Roberto actually told her to go ahead and yell when I shushed her at the poolside. What a rebel!). The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous and the pools and hot tub are beautiful. If one of them is too noisy you can always go to another unless you are incapacitated somehow. I saw Jack and Daisy in particular go out of their way to help everyone who crossed their paths. My advice to anyone reading these reviews is that this hotel is absolutely not a wild, kid-infested nightmare. It is lovely and peaceful and may have a kid or two around sometimes. If you are the kind of person who can't stand the sight of a kid, then go elsewhere (there certainly are unlimited options in Palm Springs). The day we arrived there were three ladies drinking Bloody Marys in the pool and dropping f-bombs. We peacefully coexisted (they were very friendly!) with no problems and it did not ruin our day in the slightest, but we are not that uptight.
About the room, ours was very spacious. Everything sort of needs updating--linens, curtains, furniture. The pillows are lumpy. The tile and caulk in the bathroom is getting a bit ucky. Our spare blanket had a brown stain on it and the robes were really threadbare and need replacing. These details are the difference between a nice hotel and a luxury hotel. But you stay at this place for the grounds and the gorgeous setting. That and the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: We stayed in 219 and could hear the little waterfall, which was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank IowaBluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This Inn is very nice and romantic with peaceful pools, a decent side street location, and well run with a very courteous staff. The restaurant is fabulous but on the expensive side, worth it though to spurge. Haven't been there I a year or so but recommend it. Ambiance Plus

Room Tip: One by the back pool for privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sdskyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I just stayed at the Villa Royale Inn for the fifth time in a few years. I have loved this beautiful, charming oasis in the Desert for many reasons, mostly because it WAS a peaceful, tranquil adults preferred property. No more. For the first time ever, my weekend retreat was ruined by the presence of young children on the property. My sacred afternoon pool time was destroyed by a noisy nine year old splashing in the pool and yelling at her parents for attention. She was there for over two hours, rendering any quiet time impossible. All other adults (the hotel was full) were driven from the main pool area as well, not a soul in sight but this kid and her ignorant, clueless parents. Had she not been there, I'm certain the patio/ pool are would have had all chairs full with happily relaxing grown ups reading books and enjoying pool side cocktails. Shame on you, David, for changing this policy. Children should not be allowed to stay here, this is not a family hotel, this is a quiet retreat for adults. It had always been that way in the past. Now it's ruined. Every other aspect of the place is perfect, and it will be sad to say goodbye. I have discovered a TRULY child free experience in the Desert, your competitor the San Giuliano Hotel nearby. They are quite simply "Absolutely no children under 18 allowed", and that's how I, and many other mature adults like it.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if you're looking for peace and quiet. The Europa restaurant is excellent. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elisavann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Beautiful ambiance, quiet and serene. The hotel offers a very romatic setting.
Compliementary breakfast was more than expected. The room was spacious and private
We have stayed at the Villa Royal twice now and definitely plan to go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simba438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

NOTE: We have never stayed at the hotel. This is a review of the restaurant only:

My wife and I had been invited to the restaurant by e friend. From the very moment we entered the cozy courtyard of the Europa Restaurant we realized we would be experiencing a magical experience.
As the evening progressed we were not disappointed.
It wasn't just the tasty, well-prepared courses or the friendly and responsiive service (by Erin). It was also, to a large extent, the atmosphere of the restaurant itself. Tables that were not on top of each other. Simple, but elegant touches of art, lighting, flowers, table appearance.
Most of all, we were actually able to converse with our two friends in quiet, lovely surroundings. We have been to just about all of the highly rated restaurants in the Coachella Valley. We've many wonderful meals in those restaurants. Yet we cannot cite a single one that made us feel so comfortable, relaxed and impressed.
Fine dining in a restaurant, such as Europa, should not just be enjoyed.
It should be treasured.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was lucky enough to get to spend four nights in this lovely inn. The grounds are beautiful; there are well-tended surprises everywhere, and fragrant blooming flowers scented the air. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, each room is unique and charming. It really feels like you are visiting someone's home when you stay at Villa Royale, especially since breakfast in the dining room is included (a nice menu selection on weekdays, a buffet on weekends), and you can head to the lanai for complimentary coffee or tea in the morning or for snacks in the afternoon. We spent time in the hot tub and by the pool, but also took Jack's advice and visited the Thursday fair in town, which we hadn't known about. I am looking forward to coming back with my husband for a long weekend soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLN831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#59 of 75 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#7 of 75 in Palm Springs
109 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#24 of 75 in Palm Springs
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#3 of 75 in Palm Springs
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,977 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#12 of 75 in Palm Springs
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $80 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing