We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little Civilization in the Jungle of Life”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014

NOTE: We have never stayed at the hotel. This is a review of the restaurant only:

My wife and I had been invited to the restaurant by e friend. From the very moment we entered the cozy courtyard of the Europa Restaurant we realized we would be experiencing a magical experience.
As the evening progressed we were not disappointed.
It wasn't just the tasty, well-prepared courses or the friendly and responsiive service (by Erin). It was also, to a large extent, the atmosphere of the restaurant itself. Tables that were not on top of each other. Simple, but elegant touches of art, lighting, flowers, table appearance.
Most of all, we were actually able to converse with our two friends in quiet, lovely surroundings. We have been to just about all of the highly rated restaurants in the Coachella Valley. We've many wonderful meals in those restaurants. Yet we cannot cite a single one that made us feel so comfortable, relaxed and impressed.
Fine dining in a restaurant, such as Europa, should not just be enjoyed.
It should be treasured.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thehoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2014

I was lucky enough to get to spend four nights in this lovely inn. The grounds are beautiful; there are well-tended surprises everywhere, and fragrant blooming flowers scented the air. The rooms are spacious and well-appointed, each room is unique and charming. It really feels like you are visiting someone's home when you stay at Villa Royale, especially since breakfast in the dining room is included (a nice menu selection on weekdays, a buffet on weekends), and you can head to the lanai for complimentary coffee or tea in the morning or for snacks in the afternoon. We spent time in the hot tub and by the pool, but also took Jack's advice and visited the Thursday fair in town, which we hadn't known about. I am looking forward to coming back with my husband for a long weekend soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLN831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Stayed with friends recently at the Villa Royale and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The grounds are so welcoming and beautiful and the staff is so accommodating and friendly, you feel as if you are at a friend's villa instead of a hotel. Little details make it feel special, from the friendly conversation and tips from Jack on where to find a great lunch and where to park when going to the Thursday night Street Festival, to the cookies and flavored water near the outdoor fireplace, to the wonderful food and service at their Europa Restaurant. The bar has folding doors that open onto the patio and pool. Rooms are all different and have special touches. Some have sitting areas, two bedrooms and even kitchenettes. It felt like we were in a close friend's home. Rooms open onto courtyards with pools or fountains. Gorgeous views of the mountains from outdoor areas. Beautiful plantings and even some fruit trees on the property. When you walk through the gates, you begin to relax. The free breakfast is also an added bonus. Highly recommend the Villa Royale Inn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAexplorer2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

From the moment we entered through the courtyard accented with fountains and flowers, we felt welcome and comfortable. Jack at the front desk had perfect advice for things to do, where to eat and how to manage the Palm Springs crowds and parking during a busy Modernism weekend. Our rooms were lovely welcoming, clean and spacious, with charm and character. We enjoyed spotting hummingbirds among the flowers while having our morning coffee in the hot tub under towering palms. After long days out hiking or touring the city, we we welcomed back at the inn with complementary fruit infused water or tea at the poolside outdoor bar, and we appreciated the peaceful beauty of the property and its lovely gardens and walkways.

Room Tip: Each room is unique, decorated with elegant fabrics, lovely collectibles and interesting antiques. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FormerCheeseHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

What a lovely inn! The rooms were charming, the inn was peaceful, and the food at the restaurant was delicious. I stayed there four nights for a reunion with school friends, and we could not have chosen a more perfect place to relax. I will be back!

Room Tip: I stayed in a wonderful two bedroom suite with a living room and a kitchen. It was very roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

A late booking due to a surprise birthday holiday - didn't know anything about the hotel....why not, what a gem! Jack's welcome after a 31 hour journey from home was balm on frazzled nerves. We had a 1 bed villa that was just huge compared to our ground floor at home! Everything is characterful old style well looked after. Tranquil courtyards, ours had a fountain, behind us was another set of rooms and villas around a pool, and in front again another pool by the Europa restaurant - reviewed separately but again top marks. Coffee and tea provided in the lanai before breakfast, treats too but as we were here for modernism week we were out on tours so didn't get a chance to partake. Enjoyed both pools but no time for the spa pool again tucked away in another quiet area of the hotel. A very peaceful place with wonderful friendly staff.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MrnMrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just spent 3 nights, with high school friends and enjoyed our visit so much. A very European charm with beautiful landscaping. A fireplace in the rooms. No two rooms a like, and all unique in their own way. Service was great. A very quiet location, but close enough to downtown and Steinmart, just down the street. The restaurant was a nice choice for dinner. The staff could not have been more helpful. Was the home of Sonja Henie (Olympic skater) Jack, Joe and Nancy were the best at making our stay a very memorable one. If you are looking for something special, this is the place.

Room Tip: Most any location is nice, we saw many of them and it would be hard to go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevB205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
193 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ingleside Inn
Ingleside Inn
#45 of 74 in Palm Springs
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 74 in Palm Springs
212 reviews
2.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 74 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
2.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $80 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing