We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very charming”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #46 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Just spent 3 nights, with high school friends and enjoyed our visit so much. A very European charm with beautiful landscaping. A fireplace in the rooms. No two rooms a like, and all unique in their own way. Service was great. A very quiet location, but close enough to downtown and Steinmart, just down the street. The restaurant was a nice choice for dinner. The staff could not have been more helpful. Was the home of Sonja Henie (Olympic skater) Jack, Joe and Nancy were the best at making our stay a very memorable one. If you are looking for something special, this is the place.

Room Tip: Most any location is nice, we saw many of them and it would be hard to go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BevB205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 292 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2014

We were driving by the Villa Royale and decided to stop and have a look. We fell in love with the place instantly.

We spoke to Jack at the front desk and he took the time to show us around and answer all our questions. It has an old world charm and elegance that is rarely seen and all the rooms are uniquely different in décor and style. Jack set us up in a great room that had its own patio and was close to the pool. As it was off season we essentially had the place to ourselves, sort of our own private villa. We had dinner at the Europa Restaurant which is part of the Villa Royale and again, we were not disappointed. Good food, good service and a delightful experience.

We only stayed one night but we will definitely go back. The atmosphere, the charm and the attention and service that we had from the staff (particularly Jack) was second to none.
This place is a treasure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We come out every January for a long weekend and always enjoy the service, the ambiance and the views. The restaurant was superb as always and Jack at the front desk was very helpful. Our only concern was the complete lack of hospitality shown by the young woman who handled our breakfast. When my wife went over and asked for an extra coffee cup, she was told we had one in our room.When I went over and told her we only had one cup, she rolled her eyes, went in the back to get a cup and came back out and placed it on the counter as though we had insulted her. Later, when we had breakfast, she was extremely rude and very put out when we asked for refills on our coffee and water. Clearly, she is not someone you want dealing with the public. Other than that, the service by everyone was superb.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

While the antiques and collectibles are varied and beautiful, and the landscaping and private areas throughout the property are delightful, there is considerable need for repairs and maintenance, and also for more attention by the front desk. Much of the furniture was worn, a paint job would have helped considerably, and several things were not in working order--the fireplace and phone for example. Plastic blinds that off-gas are not the stuff of a 5 star hotel, nor is old, gungy caulking in bathroom. Front desk not on top of things, and often inaccessible. They clearly do not want to do breakfasts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scuba86girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

To the naysayers who disparage this lovely Inn I say go for the cookie cutter Marriott, Hilton or other chain. For a true vintage Palm Springs experience you have to spend a few days at VRI.
Just hosted 12 people in 6 rooms for my wife's birthday. We occupied 2 of the suites and 4 larger rooms. Do be a little careful as there are a few very small rooms. The hotel manager "JACK" could not have been more pleasant and helpful. Knowing we were a group he put us in a hidden away wing so our group could wander between rooms and be a little noisy without disturbing others. The pool is wonderful as are the grounds. They also provide free bikes for cruising the area. Everything was as advertised and every need was met. Again if you want a 300 room cater to the masses spot this is not for you. If you want to be treated well and have an "experience" this is your place

Room Tip: We enjoyed suites 118, 119 and room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank boatdrinks011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. Highly recommend it. A couple miles from the main Downtown area. Quiet location. Very helpful staff. Cute and cozy room! Enjoyed the hot tub and they were very accommodating in bringing the included breakfast to our room. And the breakfast was really good, tasty, and filling. Everything was above and beyond our expectations.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JayFrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Apparently located in Sonja Henie's old home, the Villa Royale is a very pleasant place to spend a few days. The room we had was spacious and while not decorated at a Four Seasons level was very comfortable (there are some rather small rooms, so be careful).
The hotel is small and built around a large, well maintained pool. The restaurant on the property was excellent for dinner. It was nice to be able to walk out of our room to dinner less than 50 feet away. The breakfast was good but with limited choices (meat and eggs and pancakes were available.)
The hotel is in a quiet residential area. But, it would be a long walk to downtown Palm Springs.
All of the front desk staff was excellent. Jack, in particular, made us feel very welcome.
We visited in November on a Travel Zoo voucher. With that, it was an excellent value. I not sure about the cost of the better rooms, or of the competition, in season.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about your desires. I'm sure they will try to be accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old New Orleans Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.0 mi away
Ingleside Inn
Ingleside Inn
#44 of 74 in Palm Springs
263 reviews
2.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 74 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 74 in Palm Springs
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#4 of 74 in Palm Springs
198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#11 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $80 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing