We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Throwback to a Bygone Era”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #46 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Throwback to a Bygone Era”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Apparently located in Sonja Henie's old home, the Villa Royale is a very pleasant place to spend a few days. The room we had was spacious and while not decorated at a Four Seasons level was very comfortable (there are some rather small rooms, so be careful).
The hotel is small and built around a large, well maintained pool. The restaurant on the property was excellent for dinner. It was nice to be able to walk out of our room to dinner less than 50 feet away. The breakfast was good but with limited choices (meat and eggs and pancakes were available.)
The hotel is in a quiet residential area. But, it would be a long walk to downtown Palm Springs.
All of the front desk staff was excellent. Jack, in particular, made us feel very welcome.
We visited in November on a Travel Zoo voucher. With that, it was an excellent value. I not sure about the cost of the better rooms, or of the competition, in season.

Room Tip: Talk to the staff about your desires. I'm sure they will try to be accomodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Old New Orleans Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

A unique place that revisits a bygone era, with individually decorated rooms in a quiet back street, centered around the pool of the old hacienda, with walkways and gardens that are waiting to be explored. The restaurant is bold in it's offerings and lives up to the challenge. The food is flavorful, well prepared and served in an intimate atmosphere. Staff are eager to please, but not hovering. Overall, a wonderful experience that will be repeated again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LAPHIL310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I had been looking for a place in Palm Springs that allows children - no easy feat. Villa Royale Inn was more than welcoming to our three-year-old, but still maintained that relaxing, peaceful vibe the adults want. We were very happy with the hotel layout, the beautifully decorated rooms, the comfortable pool areas, and the breakfast. The breakfast was a really nice touch - great food, coffee, juice and table service in a nice setting.
The location can't be beat either. Although you can't really walk to the main drag, it's an easy, quick car ride.
I would recommend checking out the hotel map/ room pictures to get the room you want. From what I can tell, they're all very different, and there's something for everyone.
We will absolutely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SwissG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My husband and I spent a week in Palm Springs and booked a room here. Later in the week our daughter arrived and joined us. There are several pools on the property and rooms are clustered about each pool. The location is beautifully gardened. When we were there in March a hummingbird had nested and sat on her egg daily. The location is in walking distance to town although the heat may make it a better bet in the early or late of the day. All in all I would recommend this hotel without reservation. We had the breakfast plan and each morning would have breakfast in the back of the on site restaurant on a small courtyard. Tea and cookies are served in the afternoon on the covered veranda.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank msl50birm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My sister and stayed at the Villa Royale Inn- It was wonderful- exceeded our expectations - The rooms were outstanding and were decorated with beautiful taste- the staff was friendly and helpful- enjoyed the pool area and the resturant was simply fantastic- We have decided this hotel will be a yearly "sister trip"

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darlene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Our family was in need of a vacation and we bought a TravelZoo voucher for this place (as well as some friends of ours). The place ended up being perfect: we booked a one-bedroom suite with a kitchen so that we could eat in with the kids if we needed to and our friends booked the suite next door. Our suites looked out onto a courtyard with a fountain so our families ended up getting take out and eating there each night. Villa Royale has friendly and accommodating staff, the pools are fun, it is close to the city center (2 minutes by car), and is perfect if you are looking to relax. It has the personal eclecticism of a Bed and Breakfast combined with the size and quality of a hotel. While many 'boutique hotels' trade room size for chic modernism Villa Royal gives you ample room and a personal touch. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Each room/villa has something unique about it. We preferred a kitchen to a fireplace (since we are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmgmp3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The VR is very quaint and has a peaceful setting. Grounds are well landscaped and adds to the charm of the inn. Accommodations were nice and staff was wonderful. Very helpful and friendly.
The pool area was very inviting and relaxing. We had one of the smaller rooms but was charming and well decorated with great use of space. I do agree with a couple other reviewers that some various items around the inn and restaurant showed wear. Just need to be replaced.
I would not hesitate to recommend to others and we will return again for another stay.

Room Tip: they have various room sizes and room décor. I would check out their Facebook page prior to making...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank options123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 73 in Palm Springs
288 reviews
1.4 mi away
Old Ranch Inn
Old Ranch Inn
#20 of 73 in Palm Springs
624 reviews
1.4 mi away
Korakia Pensione
Korakia Pensione
#33 of 73 in Palm Springs
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#14 of 73 in Palm Springs
70 reviews
2.1 mi away
Movie Colony Hotel
Movie Colony Hotel
#56 of 73 in Palm Springs
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 73 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing