We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet little gem.”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #46 of 72 Hotels in Palm Springs
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“quiet little gem.”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We decided to get away for the Labor Day weekend and found this place online (Trip Advisor). We arrived very late but were greeted by David and with a quick check-in, were shown to our room. Granted, it is an older establishment, but that is part of the charm. Our large room had a private patio and kitchenette. We loved the mature plantings, the privacy, and the ambience. The dinner we had at Europa (on-site restaurant) was fantastic. The staff gave good recommendations for other evening dining as well. A definite stay again!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were very excited about our first trip to Palm Springs and staying at the Villa Royale, which we'd discovered online.

We arrived rather late (8:30 pm) for a 2 night stay and were pleasantly greeted by two fellows at the bar. Nancy checked us in and was nice enough, providing a quick overview of the property and showing us to our room (122).

Each room is uniquely decorated and we'd chosen ours from pictures we saw on Facebook and a phone conversation with Jack.

We loved the room, which is more secluded than the others and is a lovely space. There were a couple of minor issues:

1) There seems to be a housekeeping problem with the bathroom - In checking out the room we found a large empty vodka bottle stashed under the bathroom sink (!?); the bottom edge of the tub, where it meets the bathroom floor, was dirty with scuff marks, etc., which should be cleaned off, c) there is mold forming in the ceiling corners over the tub.

2) the patio entrance gate to the room (patio is in front, not back) was hard to open or close - the mechanism is basically broken - we reported it to the front office when we checked out

The property is beautiful and we took advantage of the lovely little pool and the lounge chairs - there were plenty of pool towels available and there was ice water with lime available to drink at the little outdoor lounge area. I went swimming very early the second day and had the pool to myself, while the sun came up...joyous!

We didn't have the complimentary breakfast the first day - just had some of the good Lavazza coffee that was put out in the lounge area near the pool.

The second morning we went to breakfast in the beautiful Europa restaurant, but the service was hugely disappointing, as the waitress was sarcastic and rude. She also basically yelled the orders to the cooks - hardly what one would expect in anything other than a cheap diner. She doesn't seem to like her job. The coffee also wasn't as good, but not sure why...the breakfast is very small and we got the feeling we shouldn't ask for an extra piece of toast or sausage, so we didn't. It was disappointing.

Before leaving, we walked around the property and discovered the back section with its own pool, the lovely rose garden that Jack was tending, as well as where the fitness and spa rooms are - neither were open, so we didn't get to see what they're like.

We came away wanting to go back again and next time we'll stay in one of the villas. We hope that the some of the small repair items around the place will be addressed and some staff training takes place before we return - we'd love to give 5 stars next time!!

Room Tip: check out the room pics on Facebook to find the room you like!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CC0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The property is a couple miles south of downtown Palm Springs and a tad difficult to find if arriving at night. The B&B is clean and our spacious suite had a private patio opposite the pool so it provided a sense of seclusion for our stay. Staff was quite friendly and the only real complaint was the absolutely necessary room air conditioner being quiet loud though that probably covered up any outside noises.

They offer iced tea and cookies during the late afternoon and the complimentary breakfast at the on-site restaurant, Europa, is quite basic- choice of one item, either an omelette of the day with toast and potatoes, fresh fruit platter, two eggs any style including toast and potatoes or oatmeal, all accompanied with orange juice and coffee. Very basic, nothing fancy.

If you are looking to partake of the bars in town, taxi fare is approximately $8.00 before tip and you might want to provide the driver with directions to get back to the B&B.

Overall, a very nice place that we would stay at again if visiting Palm Springs.

Room Tip: You do have a bit more privacy with the rooms have a mountain view versus those facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at Villa Royale for two nights in the heat of June, but the heat didn't stop us from enjoying the trip or the Inn. We loved the grounds of the Inn, and the staff was very helpful and friendly, although it wasn't always super easy to find them. The room was fantastic - huge and comfortable. The one big downside - critters in the room. We had several cockroaches, spiders, and a tiny lizard join us for the weekend. Otherwise the room was clean. There was a mini-fridge in the room, books to read, and a couch to lay on. The pool was open 24 hours, which was great. The Inn serves breakfast in their restaurant, and most folks chose to eat outside. There were a few things to choose from, but the selection wasn't great. The second morning I had the fruit plate and was disappointed by its small size. We never dined there for dinner, but it definitely got fancier in the evening. The Inn also offered cookies every afternoon, but we always missed those. We found the location to be good - it was a drive to the downtown area, but it was too hot to walk far anyway.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRinkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, GA
Level Contributor
1,294 reviews
213 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Jack checked us in and was very nice. He made us feel very welcome and even fetched a dvd player for our use. Our room was spacious and comfortable but there were no extras as there were at the B&B we stayed in the night before. Our room was poolside, and even though it was miserably hot, I went out there to read and was thoroughly relaxed. Jack had mentioned that there would be some special snacks set our for the guests to enjoy poolside, but they were nothing to write home about--chocolate chip cookies that were neither warm nor soft and a pitcher of water. Again, the previous night's B&B offered appetizers and cocktails. We stay at B&Bs all over the place and usually get a glass of wine or SOMETHING. We had dinner in the Europa restaurant on the premises, and it was very good. The options were many and the choices were difficult. I ended up eating the mixed seafood grill, and my husband had the Bronzino. Mine was excellent, although the scallops could have been a little better seared, and my husband enjoyed the fish, but the server had never boned a fish at the table and left it to my husband after she cut off the head. He was telling HER how to do it which was a little embarrassing since it was the special that night. Breakfast the next morning was a little disorganized. They start serving at 8:00 on the weekend, and we had to be in Cathedral City by 8:45 for a tour. It was doable, but there was no one there to open up the restaurant by 8:00, and the cleaning woman seated us and brought us coffee. A Drench couple sat next to us and were in a similar situation timing-wise. They were frustrated way more than we were since they had been there two nights and were disappointed that there was only grape jelly for there toast each morning and their room was dirty. When we checked out, I didn't catch his name, but the guy working at the desk was rude about the restaurant not being open for us at 8:00, rude to my husband when he asked a question, rude to the French woman about her massage and not too friendly checking me out. Overall we had a pleasant experience, but we probably would return to the other B&B and eat dinner at Europa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S, Owner at Villa Royale Inn, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Guests,
Thank you for sharing your comments. Please rest assured that your comments are taken very seriously and are used in our training effors and our continuoes effort in acheving excellence. Again, thank you and we hope to see you back at our property allowing us showing you our improvements.

Sincerely,

Villa Royale Managment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had a great time over there , the suits were clean, spacious and comfortable.
The food at the restaurant is delicious , there are 2 pools and plenty space for relaxation and privacy. This was our 2nd time at Villa Royale we will definitely return again sometime soon !!
Highly recommended resort to visit !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

This was my third stay at the Villa Royale Inn and it continues to be a wonderful get-away-in-the-desert and a sort of "throw back" to another time. The original place was built in the late 40's as a private home and added on to through the years. Still, do not expect a new or very modern plac.! Part of the charm is that it is a bit old fashioned and Old World. The bathroom in our suite could use updating. The grounds are lovely and lush. This may not be for everyone, but it is refreshing to feel like a fifties Movie Star. =-) The service is excellent and very personal. The restaurant is very good, although this year we all felt it might be slightly over-priced. Again, one feels as if in a Europe. To be fair, we did not dine any place else in Palm Springs, so this price increase may be something all the restaurants have had to do. I would always dine one night of my stay there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main pool. The rooms off the smaller pool/courtyard would be quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denadenaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#21 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
2.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 72 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#30 of 72 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing