We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“So relaxing...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #40 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“So relaxing...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

This hotel is special... it welcomes you from the first step. A lovely fountain decorated with artistic ceramics and many cosy corners once you get inside: pretty patios with small tables or swimming pools to really let yourself relax and forget about everything for some days... I am italian and I am a difficult customer at the restaurant, maybe fussy sometimes, however the restaurant too was able to surprise me...I will never forget the homemade cheesecake :) highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank francescap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    75
    19
    10
    14
See reviews for
33
145
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jonesborough, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We stayed here April 1-5 in room 114. We were delighted with everything. The room is clean and well decorated. My wife and I both agreed the bed was comfortable.

The Inn's high points are that it is quiet and serene, well landscaped with mature plants and trees, and the restaurant is excellent. The complementary breakfast is made to order. You have a choice from 5 different breakfast plates. I much prefer this rather than the food troughs at chain hotels where you and 500 of your best friends slog through soggy bacon and runny eggs. Instead we sat outdoors in peace and quiet and enjoyed our breakfast. We ate dinner a the hotel's restaurant two nights and it was fantastic, the chef and our waiter were first rate. We are picky where food is concerned and do not review restaurants favorably very often. Once again we were able to sit outside and enjoy the evening.

If we had to find any fault I suppose it would be our bathroom. It isn't exactly modern in appearance and could perhaps do with a makeover, but this was only a quibble where we were concerned.

Room Tip: Room 114 is tidy and well decorated (Asian feel). Bathroom could use an update.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Red H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Take your time and give yourself more days to relax If you are staying at this resort, cause the environment is fantastic and feels like you don't wanna leave.
You actually don't need to go any where too, the restaurant is fantastic with amazing food and drinks and shopping areas are close by.
In the restaurant menu choose the "lamb chop", (even though their all foods are great), it was the most delicious lamb chop I have ever had. There are only two "4 Diamond restaurants" in palm spring and "Europa" is one of them.
This resort is just like an European piece of haven in Palm spring.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShahriarS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked a room for two days as part of a two week holiday touring the west coast. We ended up there for nearly the whole holiday, apart from one day they were full and and booked us into a nearby hotel for the night. We didn't have to lift a finger, Jacob arranged everything. Palm Springs makes a great base for exploring both inland and the coast. Jacob, Jack and all the staff are so subtle, they just glide around getting everything done but never in your face. Both rooms we stayed in were full of character, and the hotel has some interesting history. I've read some criticism of the state of the electrics and bathrooms, but apart from an odd bit of sealant needing renewal etc., there is nothing wrong with the facilities. It has two lovely pools, although the hotel was full while we were there, we nearly always had the pool to ourselves. As the rooms are all near the pools, children are not encouraged to stay, and although there were a few around, it was such a lovely peaceful place to stay. The restaurant was excellent, and to sit outside eating breakfast, watching the humming birds was a delight. If you want a party place and a cloned hotel room, this is not the place to go but I shall certainly be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndreaD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga,CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This delightful B & B is has a special intimate charm, a bit of old school Palm Springs at its best. Our third trip to Villa Royale was even more enjoyable than the first two, as we have chosen to upgrade rooms each time (every room has a special feeling all of it's own). The service here is impecable; staff are friendly and helpful, often going above and beyond. Both Jacob and Kirby were exceptional....thanks guys! The grounds are lush and have delightful places to sit, read, sun and relax... a little piece of heaven! A must inclusion is dining at their on site restaurant, Europa. The food is outstanding! This unique and delightful B & B is rapidly becoming our favorite easy, affordable, get-out-of-town getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TwoCruzinCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver b.c.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

For our group of 5 ladies getaway, we wanted to find a property to stay at for our 4 nights that was not at a basic cookie cutter hotel/resort. We decided on the Villa Royale Inn and was quite delighted with the experience of getting a taste of how stars from the old Hollywood glamour days might have enjoyed. The series of courtyards, main pool and layout of this sprawling property located on over 3 acres reflected a serene Mexican hacienda. The red tile roofs, gorgeous Bougainvilleas, orange trees, blue tiled accents, wrought iron features and beautiful concrete fountains is simply lovely. The best rooms we encountered were the ones in the main courtyard (we rented a villa suite and 2 separate rooms). The rooms were decorated with an eclectic array of antiques from vintage Asian to American style. The service we encountered from Jack, Jake and the owner was extremely friendly, helpful and courteous. The made to order breakfast was a lovely bonus to dine at in the in-house award winning restaurant...however it would a extra nice touch to offer a fresh squeezed juice considering the calibre of the restaurant. In general, if one were to really look at every tiny detail with a magnifying glass at this property, then you would find the need for better detail on clearing dust bunnies around corners, refresh the linens somewhat and refresh the bathrooms with more up to date hardware. However, with its convenient location, peaceful and safe setting, extra perks such as bikes for use (possible rental) and the idea that you stayed at a once very magnificence place where Hollywood stars used to go for a pampered and discreet getaway, then Villa Royale will not disappoint. We had a great time!

Room Tip: Treat yourself to one of the hidden little suites that is just a lovely spacious retreat (living roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eatluvshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I have been visiting since the place was first created. On my recent visit, they changed my room to a dank cave in the back, accessed by crossing a bridge over dirty wanted and ground that were bare dirt. I complained, reported I had no sleep due to noises through the walls and the dankness and dampness of the room and cancelled our second night. They fully charged me for the first miserable night. They have palm trees being destroyed by vines, unkept grounds and, simply, they have gone to seed. The place has lost its charm. I won't return and you would do better at a Courtyard by Marriott or Hilton Garden Inn, not a place that charges as though it were the Biltmore.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alexinLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.8 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#7 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.6 mi away
La Maison Hotel
La Maison Hotel
#4 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#11 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#32 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
1.2 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.6 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#9 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing