We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our two day getaway to Palm Springs”
Review of Villa Royale Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Royale Inn
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Irvine, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our two day getaway to Palm Springs”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Gorgeous landscape, historical landmark, relaxing atmosphere and meticulously clean inside and out! This was by far one of my best getaway experiences in years. The food at the Europa Restaurant is simply unparalleled in the entire region if not California!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    79
    21
    10
    15
See reviews for
34
153
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
2 reviews
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband & a group of our friends spend the last weekend @ Villa Royal Inn. We had an amazing night, each room was different & had a different charecter, it has pool, spa, workout room, bikes, as well as being romantic and a very relaxing hotel. we had dinner at the hotel, best food I have had in a long time, compliments to the chef. The staff were friendly & helpfule.


I recommend this place for having a good time, & be romantic.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Villa Royale Inn in Palm Springs over the holiday weekend. The entire experience was excellent, starting with Jack at the front desk, who went above and beyond working with the owner to get permission for our lab to stay with us (ordinarily they have a 30 lb. dog limit). He was so helpful, calling back multiple times to make sure it would work out. The hotel decor is quirky - a combination of old European hunting and Buddhist! But somehow it all works. The 3 courtyards are gorgeous, with lush plants and 2 pools and a hot tub. We stayed in a room that had a fireplace and a small private garden. The furniture is a bit dated, but the surroundings are so nice that you don't mind. The bed was very comfortable, as were the pillows. Forget the fitness room though - a total bust for anyone who is used to a real gym. A delicious full breakfast is included in the room price, served at their Europa restaurant on site. We had 2 amazing dinners there as well. The entire experience was so friendly and positive, including all the nice guests. No stress, all smiles...just a really excellent getaway.

Room Tip: We loved having the fireplace and the private garden, including a small kitchenette. Be sure to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool,CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Just returned home from a 4 night stay at the Villa Royale. We stayed in room 201, a one bedroom with a full kitchen. The room had a full sized living room, with fireplace, and a very large back porch. The unit is beautifully furnished.
We loved everything about our stay. The hotel is so lovely, filled with European charm. One of the things rarely written about is housekeeping. They have this down very well. Housekeeping was there early every day, leaving our room spotless and looking like the first day we arrived.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. Jack was especially kind, and always available.
I love this hotel and will always return when we are in Palm Springs.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelimmersion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for four nights in a very quiet section of the hotel (next to the smaller pool that is heated like a bathtub during the cooler months. There was a lot we loved about staying here: great room with kitchenette (not stocked for cooking, but great for snacks or having leftovers), beautiful grounds with lots of brick, bikes available for rent, great restaurant, complimentary breakfast and Lavazza coffee from Italy, helpful and friendly folks at the front desk. the weather was great and we enjoyed the singing birds, flowering plants, and the pool being so warm was awesome! If you like cooler water, use the main pool. A couple of suggestions would be to replace the bed (it was like sinking into quicksand) and get new pillows (2 were extremely flat and 2 were heavy and hard). But we enjoyed the central location as it was easy to go into town or we could be in Palm Desert very quickly. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SonomaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

My mom and I visited Villa Royale for a quick getaway. We loved the grounds, the staff, and the amenities. Our room and bathroom were clean, the beds a bit on the soft side, and the small shower in need of a bit of cosmetic update. We lounged by the pool and the jacuzzi, and enjoyed the quiet and beautiful surroundings. The breakfast was excellent as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This place is a Wow! Originally a retreat for the Hollywood set, the private patios, the secluded nooks, make this quiet property a gem to visit. The bartender mixes some great drinks, and the meal to order in the Europa,is the mushroom risotto with a signature beet salad. There is a private room w/ a cozy fireplace for those cool evenings for up to 12 people. This is a must for those visiting Palm Springs.

Room Tip: room 118 very spacious and cosy fireplace, close to the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceE961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
2.2 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#24 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
2.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#37 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Little Paradise Hotel
Little Paradise Hotel
#5 of 71 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.7 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#29 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Royale Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Royale Inn

Property: Villa Royale Inn
Address: 1620 S Indian Trl, Palm Springs, CA 92264-8842
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Royale Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named the "West's Best Small Inns" by Sunset Magazine, Villa Royale Inn is a unique Palm Springs bed and breakfast with luxury accommodations, a historic restaurant, heated pools, in-room massage, exquisitely-landscaped grounds and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Royale Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Royale Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing