We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly Charm”
Review of Korakia Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Korakia Pensione
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Heavenly Charm”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

This place will cast a spell over you and take your breath away.
This intimate and most romantic gem is nestled in Palm Springs, about 2 hour drive from Los Angeles. I stayed in the Moroccan Villa, Orchard House and I could not stop commenting on how lovely and perfect this place was.
From an enchanting entrance that transports you to some other ethereal dimension, to candle based lanterns that covered the front yard and trees illuminating the magic in the air, everything about this place was perfect. Pictures online do not do it justice. It is truly exquisite, and the deep bath tub is amazing for a relaxing bubble bath in the evening with a glass of wine…that is if the jacuzzi by the bedroom with a small water fall surrounded by orange trees was not enough to invigorate the body.
There is a lovely kitchen and it’s perfect for making a romantic dinner and enjoying it under the stars and lantern lit outdoors. There are pretty, bohemian inspired day beds everywhere on the property and the pool is amazing. The spa services are also great; I suggest the lavender wrap. The staff is very friendly and charming. They are just as enchanted by the beauty of the place as people who visit it are which makes this an overall genuinely great place to stay.
I cannot wait to go back. Part of me was left behind upon check out :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    61
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
12
184
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
81 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is THE place to stay in Palm Springs! Such a beautiful place and beautiful grounds. We loved it. Especially the hot pool as it was freezing when we visited.
Super schönes kleines B&B in Palm Springs. Sehr schöne Anlage, alles total liebevoll gemacht.
Unbedingt buchen! Super Lage, zu Fuß in 5 Minuten auf der Hauptstraße!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014

I cannot comment on any room at Korakia, other than The Orchard House (and some of the others looked a little funky). Also, we do not usually stay at or like a Bed and Breakfast type place.
Generally, the Korakia has a cool "old Palm Springs" vibe and is located in a great old town location.
The Orchard House is quite something. The bedroom/outdoor area (with fireplace and waterfall hot tub) were just extrodinary. The rest of the House was a large space, but dark. Some simple track lighting could convert the living room, kitchen/dining room and bath areas into really enjoyable and livable spaces.
The bed was great, as was the staff, and the breakfast in the main courtyard was very pleasant.
We discovered through some research before we arrived that there is no TV or sound system, and so were prepared, but otherwise it might have been a disappointment.
Overall, we found this to be a beautiful, relaxing and very enjoyable venue.

Room Tip: Orchard House is great. The rest are unknown to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dela520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Vermont
Level Contributor
113 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

Magical morroccan vibe, warm saltwater pools, fire features, fountains, old movies under the stars, vibey character filled rooms (squeaky clean), breakfast in the courtyard under an orange tree, tea and gingersnaps in the afternoon, lovely and warm staff. All this and the mountain views......(oh and the easy walks to dinner). Yeah, I could live in this hotel. My fave ever.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank deliciousworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This is our second time staying at Korakia and it is as magical as the first visit. We love the outdoor beds, the more than 200 candles they light every evening and the spaciousness and inventiveness of the rooms. We found everyone to be very pleasant indeed and the gardener was just as interesting as everyone else and informative about the landscaping. He stopped in the middle of his work to answer all our questions. Our private cottage had a giant bowl of oranges, a record player with 78s we could play and a pretty sprig of Palm Springs Bougainvillea. When we needed something the attentive staff was quick and cheerful in bringing it to our suite (extra linens, plates.) On request you can have breakfast in and that was super fun because there were 3 private patios that opened from our room. In the evening, we enjoyed watching the outdoor classic movie.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deborah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Diamond, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I were excited to stay at what sounded like a delightful little hotel in Palm Springs. Unfortunately this place needs a lot of money to transform it from shabby and worn to charming. The setting and the grounds are lovely, but the rooms have upholstery with tears, peeling paint and mattresses that need replacing. Some staff were friendly, others not. We left a day early. Overall, the sort of place I'd love to have for a renovation project!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgaryGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
korakiapen, General Manager at Korakia Pensione, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Thank you for your review. Korakia is a labor of love and we are consistently updating and improving the hotel. I am sorry that your experience was less then perfect and wish that you will come back and give us another chance to prove why Korakia is such a special place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Brilliant set and beautifully served. We had a great vacation there and enjoyed thoroughly every aspect of the place. It is a place that brings to the magic and mystical-ness of truly being in an aosis in a desert - every room is very uniquely decorated, almost always with a kitchen, 2 pools, fires by the heated pool, the movie in the open, the evening mint teas, cozy little corners, warm & enthusiastic hostess'... what a place to vacation!

... And ofcourse there is great inspiration in this place for one who goes to seek it ....

Room Tip: Ask for Agies - by the heated pool and planty French doors (unless you would like to be super privat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naveen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 73 in Palm Springs
286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#19 of 73 in Palm Springs
49 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#13 of 73 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korakia Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korakia Pensione

Property: Korakia Pensione
Address: 257 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-6336
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Korakia Pensione 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korakia is an experiential resort housed in two lovingly restored historic Moroccan and Mediterranean-style villas. A stunning location for small destination weddings and intimate group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Korakia Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korakia Pensione Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing