We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Retreat”
Review of Korakia Pensione

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Korakia Pensione
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Korakia is my ideal of a respite from hectic routine. I visited in late May with two friends. The soothing Moroccan/Mediterranian ambiance, the attention given to small luxuries and the gracious, accomodating staff make the experience perfect. One of the highlights of my stay was sitting out by the pool after dinner at a local restaurant and enjoying the balmy evening. The grounds are lit by flickering lanterns and candles. The surrounding neighborhood is quiet and the San Jacinto mountains seem close enough to touch.
I would not reccomend Korakia to travelers that prefer a large, full service, family friendly hotel. Korakia is a good choice for persons who seek privacy, relaxation, quiet conversation and perhaps a place to settle in and read a good book.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horus7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 266 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2008

The property is upscale from the utilitarian places we usually stay but, as it was our first trip to Palm Springs and the hotel was offering a great low-season rate, we decided to splurge a bit -- and we're glad we did!

We were delayed in our arrival until some time after the lobby closed but the staff accommodated us wonderfully. We were not advised of the complimentary breakfast or afternoon tea, however, so missed them our first day. Also, as indicated by others, the "full-service" kitchen wasn't quite! Tableware was provided but we, too, had to purchase pots and pans. The mini-fridge was missing one of its feet, so wasn't level, and I believe one of the burners of the stove didn't work.

The amenities were an interesting mixed bag. The bed and bath linens were luxurious and the toiletries first-rate but the physical aspects of the room were a mixed bag. The furniture (other than the mattress) was "rustic," which is to say not especially comfortable; there was no sofa, only a sort-of parson's bench, and dining table and chairs. The single rooms clearly were not intended for their occupants to spend much time in them -- most of them were much too small for that. The linen drapes were nice in the bedroom but, in the bathroom, were mounted directly to the casement window, so one had no privacy when the window was open. With no air conditioning in the bathroom at all, and the bedroom A/C at floor level, it was very warm at high summer (117 most of the days we were there, and nights in the 90s). From a purely aesthetic perspective, some of the remodel work was not of the quality we'd have expected (for example, the "tile" work around the kitchen sink and tub was of rather poor workmanship).

The complimentary breakfast, though certainly complete, left a great deal to be desired. At least the days we were there, the fare (no menu here) was South-of-the-Border (certainly not what we'd have expected) and not all that great. To say that it was "homestyle" cooking would be accurate but not a compliment. The coffee and juice were excellent, and the service very good. The afternoon tea, on the other hand, was exactly what it should have been and couldn't have been better.

On a more positive side, the grounds are truly wonderful. The period architecture, mature bougainvillea and palms, and the careful thought given to the outdoor ambiance were exactly the experience we expected. We stayed in the Mediterranean Villa and would probably prefer to do so again (though would definitely opt for a larger room, one of the bungalows or the Naish house). The pool area was wonderfully private and, being filled to the top, extraordinarily quiet. Floating in the dark, with the artistically lit palms, full moon and poolside gas flames for illumination was as restful as one might imagine.

In summary, the period architecture and ambience and upscale amenities were wonderful; the more recent "rustication" and food service were not. Our visit was within a few months of the purchase of the facility by a hospitality chain. It is our hope that they had the wisdom to upgrade those things that needed upgrading and to leave alone everything that worked. I've just taken a look at the current website but, other than apparently the names of some of the rooms, I'm not sure what else may have changed.

All this said, we'd certainly give it another chance.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PlaygroundGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2008

Korakia is a true Oasis - the best place to stay in Palm Springs. A unique property, ambiance and wonderful staff. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kentw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2008

My boyfriend and I booked the Sahara Room at Korakia for a brief mid-week get away from LA upon a friend's suggestion.
From the moment we stepped into Korakia, the staff was super friendly.
We were hours early, and they quickly took our bags and invited us to enjoy the day around the pool until our ( cozy and comfy ) room was ready.
I cannot say enough about the "feel" of this place. It was as if we were in Morocco itself!
Shabby, chic elements in a very clean and ultra relaxed environment helped to add to the feeling of being in a real "home" versus a hotel.
The character of the hotel is stellar, and we spent the days floating in the tiled pool while listening to the sounds of the fountains.
The Moroccan side of the properties is much nicer than the other across the street.
Breakfast in the am was simple, but enjoyable.
I cannot say enough about Korakia, and I will be returning again and again.
Private, sexy, and soooo relaxing. Thank you Korakia!

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank piscesboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2008

For years I have been hearing wonderful things about this desert
retreat. Friends adoringly described it as romantic, peaceful, soothing, in every and all words - a very special hideaway. To some extent, they are right. Having stayed at several of the other PS hotspots (The Parker, for one) I have some experience/comparisons in writing this review. Korakia is indeed a charming, private boutique hotel, but with some real glaring issues to date. As another
reviewer reported, the hotel is understaffed and amenities and services are meager for the premium price. The furniture in the rooms is spartan and inexpensive, and such offerings as WIFi did not work in the room. It was difficult to get ahold of the front desk, as there are no phones in the room. We made due with out the replacement lightbulb we requested, additional ice, and to fix our oven (we wanted to heat up a special dessert for a birthday celebration). On the positive - the pool is lovely and relaxing, we stayed in the Aegean room which was right next to the pool - the evening fires and full moon were a nice touch. The complementary bkfast was quite good (we brought along champagne to make mimosas with the fresh squeezed OJ - a must!) and the peaceful, quiet, somewhat rustic atmosphere is very soothing. If you are looking for bling and pizzazz - this is not the place for you. If you want a quiet, charming hideaway not overly kitched-out or garish - this is the place for you.....but the price is steep for simplicity and privacy....

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank susLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

I loved this place! It was unique and so far from those large prison-like hotels that I usually stay at for conferences that it totally made the whole conference wonderful, despite being with vendors all day and shmoosing.

They serve really, really good home-cooked breakfeasts - we had french toast with strawberries one day, musli and pancaked another, eggs and potatoes another - each time with fresh-squeezed orange juice.

The architecture is mysterious and calming - I took dozens of photos before leaving. I hope to someday have a house like this.

The pools were also really nice as they were heated!

This would be an excellent spot for a low-key honey moon or anniversary retreat.

Also - the view of the mountain was great. They also had all the basics - clean towels, comfortable bed, nice soaps/shampoos, and a very attentive/sweet staff.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nerea_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2008

This hotel has obviously gone downhill. The hotel is understaffed, almost empty of guests. Switches did not work in our room, magazines were over a year old, we were given bath mats instead of towels the first night, the bed was lumpy, our lounge upholstery was dirty as were the tablecloth linens at breakfast! All in all, quite spartan!

In their favor, they do serve a lovely breakfast and the few people who do work there are nice. Setting is lovely, but this hotel is a long way from being a luxurious retreat!

Stayed: March 2008
Thank moderngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.7 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#13 of 74 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
0.5 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Serena Villas
La Serena Villas
#10 of 74 in Palm Springs
89 reviews
1.6 mi away
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
L'Horizon Resort & Spa
#20 of 74 in Palm Springs
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 74 in Palm Springs
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Korakia Pensione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Korakia Pensione

Address: 257 S Patencio Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92262-6336
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Price Range: $225 - $494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Korakia Pensione 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Korakia is an experiential resort housed in two lovingly restored historic Moroccan and Mediterranean-style villas. A stunning location for small destination weddings and intimate group events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Korakia Pensione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Korakia Pensione Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing