We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room Burglarized!!! STAY AWAY.”
Review of Ingleside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ingleside Inn
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
HB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Room Burglarized!!! STAY AWAY.”
Reviewed May 13, 2007

Our room was burglarized on our recent stay for our anniversary. Do not stay here. Rooms are not secure at all. No deadbolts. Front desk was possibly in on the scam to rip us off. I read TripAdvisor reviews too late cause it looks like we were not the only victims.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
5 Thank Jared555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    52
    11
    12
    11
See reviews for
15
157
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

My room was broken into during my recent stay there and several valuable items were stolen. The door locks are very flimsy handle knob locks, they do not have deadbolts. The door was just pried open with a screwdriver.

The management said they "cannot be responsible for local crime " when I asked them to compensate me for my loss. I recovered less than half of my loss from their insurance company and I had to absorb the rest.

Melvyn's is a great restaurant. After my experience with this theft and the Ingleside's attitude about it it is hard to feel positive about staying there again.

  • Liked — Melvyns restaurant
  • Disliked — Poor security
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank czar1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2006

We were given a gift certificate to this hotel, so I don't know how it was booked or selected. I had never heard of it before, but was told that celebraties had hung out there. My husband and I found this hotel easily, though were confused as to where to park. There were only signs for the valet. They let us check in early, which was pleasant. Our room, #142, was next to the lobby, and may have shared a wall with the restaurant. The room was furnished nicely, with cute antiques, a beautiful chandelier, and a cheeze and fruit tray. It had two windows and two heaters, which for late December we really needed. We stayed for just one night, so it was quite fun to see that they turned down our bed while we were gone for dinner.

We did not eat at Melvyn's, however we heard it at the party going on there until very late at night. It really bothered my husband, who was so annoyed, he finally called the front desk to find out when they would stop with the loud music.

We checked out the restaurant in the morning, and found it too expensive for our taste. Our room did not have a courtyard, or any private outdoor area, and the pool, although heated, was filthy. That's probably due to the high winds in the area. We also hoped to see some type of celebrity, because we were there on the same day as the funeral for President Ford, but we saw no one.

I would stay here again, but in a room with a private courtyard and further away from Melvyn's.

  • Liked — The heater in the restroom
  • Disliked — The loud music and filthy pool
  • Tips/Secrets — Get a room away from the restaurant
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaofEnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2006

My wife and I have been celebrating her August birthday for years at the various B & B style inns that dot the so-called Tennis District just off Palm Canyon Drive in downtown Palm Springs. We like to be able to walk to dinner at night and home in the dry evening air.
Invariabley we take a morning walk as well before the heat of the day drives us to the pool, the movies or our air-conditioned room. Those walks always take us to the eastern most road of the Tennis District, Ramon Road, which is also on one side of the Ingleside property. We had gotten a brochure and contemplated staying here although the $200+ Saturday rate was significantly more than our previous stays at Coyote Inn, Casa Cody and Calla Lilly which averaged about $125.00 per night during the off-season.
Part of that rate can be attributed to us staying in a middle level room, (#146), which is at the back of the property. Not the cheapest but not as expensive as the suites. It is also one of only three rooms (#147 and suite 10 being the others) that feature central air. Because this is a historical site, no major building modifications can be made. So the first thing I would suggest is, if you want even cooling throughout the day and night, pick one of those rooms. They were damaged by fire some years ago, we were told, hence the central air.
Unlike the small inns this is a full service hotel. So you don't get the owners talking about the car dealerships they gave up to own a B & B (which is a good horror story to hear if you ever thought you wanted to own a B & B). You do get a bell man who helps you with your luggage and a fully staffed reception desk. You also get the on-site restaurant, Melvyn's and with it the adjoining bar (more on that later).
Our room was very large with two love seat style couches facing a coffee talbe, the previoulsy mentioned small TV, the good sized bathroom and a huge closet. Outside was a private patio with two lounge chairs, an umbrella table and two side chairs. Perfect for sipping coffee and reading the gratis newspaper each morning.
The grounds are beautiful. The pool, as old fashioned as it was, is kept at a cool temperature so you can jump right in and get relief from the 111 degree temperatures we faced one day. They provided ample towels and, as a nice touch, kept pitchers of iced tea and cold water next to the pool for your enjoyment.
Finally there is Melvyn's which they are rightfully proud of. We had dinner there one night and while I would not call it superior to the best steakhouse in town, the experienced wait staff made it pleasant. It was the meat market in the piano bar afterwards that made things interesting.
Mind you I am 52 years old, but I felt young in this place. And it was a blast. The piano player entertained with a full pallet of classics that were supported by various local retired entertainers. There was the trumpet player who is/was a doctor, the opera singer who had been on nationwide tours in her day and the older diva who engage the audience in a singalong. All the while the 70-somethings were sidling up to the young 60 year olds to get them on the small dance floor.
We had a great time and have committed to go back someday. It isn't the $400.00 a night, four room Willows Historic Inn and it isn't a $200.00 a night, off-season mega-golf resort with thousands of kids crowing the pools like you get at the Marriott, Hilton, Hyatt or some other cookie cutter chain. It is unique and it is romantic and it worked.

  • Liked — comfortable bed, large bathroom, good air-conditioning, fruit plate
  • Disliked — cramped shower, had to ask for hair dryer
  • Tips/Secrets — select one of the rooms with central air if available and if you can afford it
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 8, 2006

We loved our stay at the Ingleside Inn. We had started at the Pepper Tree Inn and we were unable to sleep two nights in a row. We happened to walk past the Ingleside Inn and were enchanted by the lovely gardens and Pool. We spoke to the desk clerk who we later came to know as Howard and he wedged us into the hotel because of it being heavily booked. We were delighted at the service we received and we were made to feel like part of the Ingleside family. The rooms were very nice but a bit dated. It was sort of like staying at an older relatives house but the room was very clean and more than adequate for our stay. The rooms were exceptionly quiet and we had no trouble sleeping at this hotel. The restaurant is a four star rated restaurant and we wish we could have eaten there more often (but it was a little fancy at night to go to with our baby.)The grounds of the hotel are like an oasis from the rest of the world. We loved the location near the mountain hiking trails on Ramon street. We will definitely come back and stay here again. We spoke to many people who have come back to this hotel for 20 years!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 19, 2006

After reading some of the negative reviews,I think that these people most be in a different planet!!!!
The Ingleside Inn is and will always be to my husband and I and our friends a "Little Piece of Heaven", we have been going to the Inn for the last 12 years and have seen it get better and better like a vintage wine,grounds,service,food,staff but most of all you are treated like family,any time any day.
We cannot say enough about this beautiful Historic Inn
in the heart of Palm Springs!!!!
We could go on and on, but I think you get the picture.
Thank you Ingleside Inn,please never change!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Ah, where to start! Upon checking in to our mini-suite for our 35th wedding anniversary the odor of stale wood smoke was overpowering. I spoke with the front desk about it later that night saying it was overpowering. They gave us no recourse. When we checked out they said they had other rooms with gas fireplaces...who knew? Not us! The promised private room was not so private...groundspeople entering our small courtyard blowing leaves at 8:30 am, a maid entering with her key even though a DO NOT DISTURB SIGN was hung on the door. TV remote did not turn TV on, room service having to go back to kitchen twice for preordered requests. Obvious grease on glass table not cleaned. Turndown service...who leaves the bedspread and decorative pillows at the end of the bed for us to fold and put away. The York Peppermint patty on the pillow had obviously been around for awhile! My husband sat on the end of the kind bed and the head of the bed popped up...the mattress was cheap and hard. Would we go back...NO...not when there is so many other places to stay in Palm Springs!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Chinagene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
869 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,263 reviews
1.1 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#39 of 73 in Palm Springs
210 reviews
1.8 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#27 of 73 in Palm Springs
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Inn

Property: Ingleside Inn
Address: 200 W Ramon Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7385
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***This property is currently under renovation until October 2017*** The InglesideInn is an official Palm Springs Historical site, built in 1925. A visit to the Inn is like staying at a friend's country estate.The Inn has been home to many famous celebrities including Frank Sinatra, Liza Minelli, John Travolta and Marlon Brando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Ingleside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing