We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throwback”
Review of Ingleside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ingleside Inn
Ranked #44 of 74 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We had never been to Palm Springs, so were excited to stay at the Ingleside Inn. We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived, as we had read some not so great reviews. We found our Villa #7 very clean and totally updated. We ate lunch in the restaurant and enjoyed looking at the photos of Frank Sinatra, John Travolta, and other celebrities of the Sinatra era. The restaurant was a throwback with all male waiters who seemed to have been working there a long time with Vichyssoise as a beginning choice and sandwiches as well as main dinner entrees. When we finished lunch, we knew we would not have to have dinner. The best part of the Inn was the manicured grounds and pool. We were also within walking distance of the center of town, so we went out and strolled each evening we were there. Everyone in the hotel was helpful and pleasant and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The villas are attached and the walls are paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peptobiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

I am so happy to hear your first trip to Palm Springs was so memorable! I do hope you will be back to see us and dine in Melvyn's again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 264 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

This Historic Inn has a lot going for it but, it’s in need of updating.
The location is excellent, right in the heart of town. The staff is very professional and curious. The ground are impeccably manicured.
Some areas that need to be updated are the room decor, the bed sheets need to be high quality, the mattress needs updating, and small comforts on a cold night, it would be nice to offer throws in the room and it would be great if a gluten free menu were available.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. As happy as I am to hear about the positive aspects of your time with us I also appreciate your feedback on what can be improved. I do hope you will return to Ingleside Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Typically I stay in 5 star resort type hotels. What a refreshing change this place was! The staff was incredible. They were exceptionally friendly and helped us find a parking spot without hesitation. A tray of fruit and cheese was waiting for us on arrival. The minibar in the room had free drinks ( non-alcoholic).....but free! Very cute, boutique type villa!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you so much for giving us a try! It's always wonderful to have new guests experience the Inn. I am happy you enjoyed your stay! Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We decided to spend our 35th anniversary at the same hotel where we had our honeymoon (actually we visit almost every year). We were welcomed with a basket of goodies and champagne. Our room was great with separate areas for sleeping and relaxing.
The staff here is excellent, always courteous and helpful. Breakfast on the terrace was fantastic.
Dinner at Melvyns was excellent and elegant. The bartender was great and the music was enjoyable. We will be back on our next trip to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDK12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

Happiest of anniversaries to you both! I am so thrilled to hear you chose to spend your anniversary back with us! I do hope you will be back to celebrate many more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Arrived this evening, lovely welcome from the chap in reception, lovely room with views of the mountain. Room lovely and clean and tidy with a duper little welcome pack. Restaurant downstairs from the room we have with live entertainment, it's Elvis tonight apparently. Gorgeous street market going on in Palm Springs on Thursdays, super surprise.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank Nazareth9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

So happy to hear you enjoyed the close proximity to all Palm Springs has to offer! There is always something fun happening at Melvyn's, hope you will be back soon to check it out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Lovely old resort with lots of history. nice pool with not a lot of kids. Melvin's is a great place to eat and you are only a short walk to downtown Palms Springs. Room always has fresh fruit and beverages (you don't pay extra for ) and is clean. We love to come for the weekend just to relax.

Room Tip: Summer rates are great, but it does get hot. Our room was comfortable any season we went.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rlakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Glad to hear you enjoyed Melvyn's and the relaxing poolside experience! Hope you will be back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Was really excited to stay here because of all the history. The grounds were lovely and so was the lobby. After that it was all downhill! We booked on hotels.com and because of that, they would not give us an upgrade. We were shown 4 rooms, each was sadder than the next and smelled very musty. We picked the one that was the brightest and didn't smell. Unfortunately it was next to Melvyn's restaurant and lounge. We were kept awake by loud talking, singing and an obnoxious drunk man. I called to complain and the man at the front desk came out and tried to remedy the situation but the drunk screamed and cursed at him, so he just went back inside.
They did offer to move us the next day but since we had already seen the other rooms, we declined. The next night was worse because the singer and his music in the lounge was louder with more bass and it felt like he was right in our room! We popped a sleeping pill and the noise didn't bother us. Thank goodness we brought them with us!
I think there were some rooms that were nicer, suites off of the courtyard, but I don't know about the smell!

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 133!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LindaPLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MelHaber2014, Owner at Ingleside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide feedback about your January stay at The Ingleside Inn. I am so sorry to hear that your stay was less than fantastic. I would truly enjoy an opportunity to chat further about your experience. If you are interested in sharing more please feel free to reach out to me via email, mhaber8393@aol.com.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.1 mi away
V Palm Springs
V Palm Springs
#41 of 74 in Palm Springs
217 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Willows
The Willows
#20 of 74 in Palm Springs
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Colt's Lodge
Colt's Lodge
#11 of 74 in Palm Springs
195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#8 of 74 in Palm Springs
1,288 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#12 of 74 in Palm Springs
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Inn

Address: 200 W Ramon Rd, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-7385
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range: $222 - $647 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***This property is currently under renovation until October 2017*** The InglesideInn is an official Palm Springs Historical site, built in 1925. A visit to the Inn is like staying at a friend's country estate.The Inn has been home to many famous celebrities including Frank Sinatra, Liza Minelli, John Travolta and Marlon Brando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ingleside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing