We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ingleside Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$215
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$223
$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$184
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Villa Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Monroe Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (300)
Filter reviews
300 results
Traveler rating
204
57
15
13
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
204
57
15
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmelvyn's restaurantpiano bartable sideold lymemini suitecomplimentary beverageswelcome basketprivate courtyardgrassy areacharming hotelbeautiful groundsspanish stylenew ownersclassic palm springsice watersmall fridgeold school
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
263 - 268 of 300 reviews
Reviewed May 10, 2008

We have stayed at the Ingleside many times over the past 15 years. It is always exceptional, we would never consider staying anywhere else in Palm Springs. From the unique and comfortable rooms to the beautiful grounds to the great restaurant and bar it is truly a wonderful and relaxing place to stay. Brian Ellis, the Maitre'd at Melvyns will make anyone feel like an "A" list star, the rest of the staff is also great, with many of them having been there for many years.

The rooms are all different, some have private or semi-private patios. The food at Melvyns restaurant is excellent, the service and atmosphere are what everyone else should strive for. The piano bar usually is lively in the evenings, generally a very classy and fun crowd.

If you like large, loud newer hotels with lots of commotion, this is not for you. If you like small, intimate hotels with great service and amenaties, don't miss the Ingleside.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadtripperColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2008

I had reservations to stay at the T.V. reknown Parker Inn.
All I have to say is what a joke. the service was so bad we left after the first night. I call my AAA club and they refered me to the Ingleside Inn. GREAT MOVE. the service was great. they treated us like a celeberty. we were so pampered we did not want to leave. It was closer to downtown P.S. and very private (made us feel like donald trump). If you want to experiance a real hotel go there.
and the best part it was less money than the Parker.
oh yea, you have to try the restaurant. two thumbs up.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank doggy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My sisters and I stayed here for three days in March 08.

We were not sure what to expect and if such a small hotel (30 + rooms) would offer the facilities we are used to in a bigger place, but, in our opinion the place was perfect.

I had arranged the trip direct with the hotel and from first contact they could not have been more helpful. This wonderful service contiuned throughout our stay.

The pool was sparkling and surrounding area was lovely, very relaxing, with plenty of comfortable sun-loungers.

Sometimes we sat by the pool to eat our meals, sometimes in the shade of the lovely old veranda and sometimes in the restaurant.

There was a complimentary basket of fruit and soft drinks in the fridge to welcome us.

The hotel is forutnate to have a super restaurant (Melvyns) which was popular with non- residents as well . When we were there you could get soup, salad and entree for $22. Additionally there is a piano bar next to the restaurant.

We loved the genuine 'old world' charm of the hotel and the staff who made us feel so at home.

The hotel is literally one block from the shops so we could walk in. On one evening there was a street market with stalls, music and food. They they closed off the street for this from 6pm - 9pm which was fun,
I think this is a weekly event but I am not sure, so best to check

It is tempting to keep quiet about this place so it does not get overcrowded resulting in us not getting a booking but the hotel deserves to be acknowledged.

Thank you Ingleside, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank visitor2you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed for four nights in March during the tennis tournament. I agree with the positive reviews. The place is a gem. It is clearly on the other end of the spectrum from the new mega resorts so if you like new and loud, this is not for you. Almost all the rooms are different. We had a two room mini-suite with a mountain view. Our friends stayed next door wih only a bedroom, but at lower cost. In addition to the wonderful heated pool open 24 hours, we got a welcome cheese and fruit plate and the refrigerator was stocked with water, soda and juices. It's small touches like these and turn down service together with the old money ambiance that make the Inn special. Our smoke detector seemed to be working and you can walk on the property without a key which was one critique. But if you are not paranoid that won't bother you. The plaudits for Melvin's Restaurant are well deserved. Old fashioned service with tuxedos and good food and wine.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank jerrymsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

Wow, this place is a gem. Old style glamor, with a history that money can't buy. Breakfast on the ancient vine covered porch, perfectly quiet, luxurious, and lovely. The palm tree surrounded pool is awesome- bring your Jackie O sunglasses.
If you're looking for new and modern, stay away... you won't appreciate this place.
I got the best rate by contacting the hotel directly. In the September off season, this was quite a deal.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CamperVanPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews