We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise / An Oasis in Palm Springs”
Review of Ingleside Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ingleside Inn
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Paradise / An Oasis in Palm Springs”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent 2 days last week at the Ingleside Inn with my wife.
It was the highlight of my tour and it was refreshing to be in a place that's all Class.
The Inn is a throw back of what Style was and most hotels and inn's have lost this today.We had dinner at Mel's restaurant and it was probably the best meal I had in many years. The staff is great including Karen and Rick in the restaurant.
Charm and Delight at the cottage with an touch of Old Hollywood surrounds you.
I plan to go back and relive this past wonderful experience by the pool with a glass of Champagne. Mel don't change a thing.

Jerry/Terry Kovel / Old Lyme CT

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jkovel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    50
    10
    12
    11
See reviews for
15
155
22
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 week trip to the USA staying at 4 different hotels. Ingleside Inn beat the other 3 in every way. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. Nothing was a trouble for each and every one of the staff. Karen deserves a special mention for lighting up every moment. She was such a joy. We would certainly recommend Ingleside to anyone who wants a holiday to remember - for all the best reasons. The pool, gardens and the buildings - including Melvyn's Restauarant where we celebrated my birthday, all make you feel priveleged to be there. We will certainly be back

Room Tip: We stayed in Margaret's Room- it was perfect with a semi private patio and lawn. Great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellerc14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

I just can't find the words to describe this place. It has been one of the best places I have stayed. My husband and I spent three nights here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We arrived to complimentary champagne and cheese/fruit platter - what a lovely touch and great way to start the trip. The places oozes charm and elegance - you can truly feel the history of the stars throughout. The pool and garden are so comfortable. Every member of staff we came into contact with was superb and made us feel so welcome. We dined in Melvyn's one evening - what a great experience! I could go on and on and on. Anyone giving this hotel less than 5 is bonkers in my opinion! It is cool, intimate, sophisticated etc. I am definitely an II person!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aggiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here 24th-25th June 2012 - what a lovely, secluded place, right in Palm Springs. The hotel is like a single story French Provencal cottage that you would expect to be overlooking the Mediterranean - it's 50 or more years old giving it character with individually furnished rooms and has a lovely ambiance. There's a communal veranda outside the room with a swing-chair, beautifully kept flower beds, humming birds, mocking birds singing - just perfect.

Top that off with secluded gardens and courtyard, unique rooms in cottages dotted around the grounds and a pool. Then there is the attentive but informal service - what a great place to stay. We paid $133 per night.

It's on the corner of two streets, in the town itself, just back from the main street - you could easily drive past it without realising its there. With a clear blue sky, 100F dry heat with a gigantic mountain backdrop close by and wooded, well-kept gardens, we were impressed straight away.

We were welcomed by Karen, who was so friendly and efficient and she gave us a huge room (mini-suite but not the biggest by any means) with a huge, old fireplace, easy chairs, unique old furniture, TV, fridge and all the amenities. Just to give you the feel of the place, the fridge was well stocked with soft drinks and you could help yourself for no extra charge - never had that before!

We got there Sunday evening and found the bar and the quite formal dining room throbbing with local, well dressed business people and retired people - nicely dressed and rather glamorous - it must be the place to go for those in the know from the local middle-class community. This is the place where Sinatra used to dine and Steve McQueen was refused entry because he was in motorcycle leathers - its sort of formal in a very casual way, so you feel relaxed here from the word go.

The food was nice, a trifle expensive - slightly quirky dishes with English-style boiled vegetables on the plate. The waiters were all older guys, formally dressed - probably been there since Sinatra's days. The bar prices were quite high and the table wine was also pricey - starting at about $32 a bottle, so we ordered by the glass, starting at about $8 per glass - as far as I can remember. . . There's also music there at weekends, but we missed that. Sadly, the Sinatra Tribute singer who used to perform there died recently. What a shame.

The bed was comfortable, the room was peaceful and quiet and we had a good nights sleep. The town is very close by with lots of restaurants and facilities - there's a giant statue if Maralyn Munroe - and then it was back to the hotel for a relaxing swim - there's plenty of shade from the trees around the pool.

It is HOT in Palm Springs, but you never sweat because of the dryness and you somehow don't get affected by the heat as you might have anticipated. The town of Palm Springs is quite small, with lots to do and we would definitely go back and stay in the Ingleside again - its so friendly and welcoming and discreet. We had a lovely, lovely time there.

.

Room Tip: Don't go if you are dressed in motorcycle gear like Steve McQueen. Seriously, its smart casual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrishooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel CALIF
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

If you like Relaxing by a Quite Pool with Drinks during the Day and Live Music and Dancing at Night,
It does not get any better than The Ingleside Inn located right in the Heart of PS. Think old Hollywood's Rat Pack Haunt with Today's Dance Sounds by Ron Green on the Piano.
My Friend's tell me, "You spend enough time in PS, why don't you just Buy a 2nd Home?"
Believe me, I've thought about it and even looked, a lot, actually.

However, I keep returning to The Ingleside Inn, it feels like a 2nd home. It fact it’s better than a 2nd home in a lot of regards. I don't have to worry about it when I am not in town and when I am, it's just how I left it. Always well maintained and ready for another Exciting stay.

This Grand old Estate is Staffed by Incredible Professionals at every position, always willing to take care of your every need and or request.

From the moment you call the Front Desk for room reservations, Armita (Manager), Hal or Karen are ever consistent in helping me, get the room that fits my needs.
Upon arrival Miguel and J.R. (Miguel Jr.) are Expertly ready to Valet your car, if you so wish.
Poolside, Jose and Danny are gladly at your beckon call for Food and Drinks.
Inside Melvyn's, you are cheerfully Greeted by Brian, the Maitre d' and as often as not, Mel Haber himself.
The Bar is expertly Tended, by the always friendly by Mark and David, with Cocktails served throughout the Lounge by the ever so Stunning Linda... Ouch!

These are all long time Members of The Ingleside Family, that make you feel like you’re Family staying at a Rich Uncle’s Private Estate.

It is a 2nd Resort away from Home, and I'm going back this weekend.
Go Figure... Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerousFred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This hotel feels like staying in the guest bungalow of a private home. We were in Villa 5, which was a short walk to the beautiful pool which is surrounded by grass, shady trees, and lots of cushy chaise lounges. Self-serve ice tea and water are available poolside, and an unobtrusive cabana attendant will bring you food and cocktails if you want them. Our "villa" was a very large room with a spacious lounging/seating area, a comfortable bed and adequate storage. Small refrigerator is restocked daily with free soda/water/juice. The bathroom, though updated, was smaller than expected and lacked adequate shelf space for two peoples' toiletries. The whole feel of this hotel is one of privacy, comfort, relaxation and gracious service by seasoned employees. The no-kids policy keeps the place very quiet. On our last night we enjoyed drinks and dinner in the restaurant, which is elegant and intimate. Other nights we walked around the corner to the dozens of fantastic restaurants and boisterous activity on Palm Springs Canyon Drive. Loved this place and loved Palm Springs. Will definitely come again!

Room Tip: Request a "villa" if you want to be able to park your car near your room and want more pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Ingleside is not a pristine, hip, or trendy property. It is a property that is quaint, quiet, and has the charm of "Old Palm Springs." We stayed here in May. The accommodations are great with antique type furnishings. We stayed in the "Attic" room which had a patio. Housekeeping is spot on. How many "hotels" give you a mini fridge at no charge? Let alone stocked with items. (They are replenished each day if you use them). The bar was next door and we were not inconvenienced by any noise. The pool is large and quiet, with nice furniture. The pool bar was great with the water and iced tea. Week-ends are busier but it didn't affect our pool or restaurant plans. Parking is plentiful. Melvyn's is a good restaurant and is better than many others in the area that charge more and give you less, for the the same type of food. Bar and live entertainment are great. Yes it may be an older crowd, but there were many younger folks there as well who seemed to enjoy themselves. No minimum or drink quota. Sunday jam fest is fun and we heard some good music and singers. If you want hip and upscale go to the Hyatt. If you want charm and relaxation pick Ingleside. By the way, Melvyn, is a very gracious host and his staff goes that extra step to serve you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pop51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
1.1 mi away
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection
0.6 mi away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 73 in Palm Springs
1,249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Del Marcos Hotel
Del Marcos Hotel
#6 of 73 in Palm Springs
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
1.3 mi away
Sparrows Lodge
Sparrows Lodge
#11 of 73 in Palm Springs
286 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Inn

Property: Ingleside Inn
Address: 200 W Ramon Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92264-7385
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ingleside Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InglesideInn is an official Palm Springs Historical site, built in 1925. A visit to the Inn is like staying at a friend's country estate.The Inn has been home to many famous celebrities including Frank Sinatra, Liza Minelli, John Travolta and Marlon Brando. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ingleside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing