We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch the Salt”

Riccio's Steak & Seafood
Ranked #114 of 319 Restaurants in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
98 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Watch the Salt”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Three of us enjoyed the Prix Fixe menu. My selection was the calamari appetizer, eggplant parmesan, and Tiramisu. It was excellent but someone does need to watch the addition of salt as both the entree and appetizer were way to salty

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank xjpc2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    48
    17
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, and Great Food!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the $28 three course menu. We had...

Appies: Tuna-Tini and Calamari (HUGE SERVING!)
Mains: Chicken Marsala and Salmon
Dessert: Bread pudding and Tiramisu

EXCELLENT! The chicken was super tender and had a great sauce, and the salmon was super crispy on one side, and so awesome! The potatoes were bland... Should get some garlic mashed potatoes!! The veg were well cooked and buttered. I highly recommend all of the food we had. Sooo good!

We sat outside near a heater, and it was romantic and perfect, our server and bus boy were super attentive and kind as well.

Thanks for a great experience!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizzieG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
1 review
“great food ,terrible service went there on Sunday Nov.24 my wife Birthday and our 51st anniversary .never go back.”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

terrible sevice ,went there for my wife Birhday and our 51st anniversary on Sunday night for dinner. food was very good . took 30 minutes to bring Bread pudding and a pumkin cheese cake.
overpriced as well. would not go back. talked to bar tender who was the Manager . he said they would do better the next time.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lpc4117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,672 reviews
1,069 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 708 helpful votes
“Nice corner location outdoor seating--always available.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Never a chance of not getting a table here. Slways folks out on the street to sit you quickly or simply watch all the traffic go by, as it does go by.
A team of four or five waitstaff stand near the door. Staring into empty space of no people .
Really rather sad. Except for the fact the place is over-priced
for what one gets. The folks don't seem to get it.
However this is a very prominent location. I think that we shall not return again, either

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful food & service!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We had a late evening dinner here on Sunday, 9/1 after a lovely trip on the Palms Springs Arial Tram.

We didn't know anything about the restaurant, but decided to stop in...Right away, we were given a friendly greeting by both the bartender and the hostess. We asked to be seated on the street-side patio, which was very pleasant - the restaurant is a bit removed from the center of the PS downtown area, which makes sitting on the patio a much more peaceful experience.

Getting there and parking was easy too.

We ordered from the Summer prix fixe menu, which is $28 and offers a very nice selection of starters, entrees, and dessert. Drinks aren't included.

We had the Ahi-Tini and Caesar Salad to start and both were very good. It turns out that the "Tini" part of the "Ahi Tini" is that the sushi-grade ahi and it's accompanying salad are served in a martini glass. I'm super-picky about Caesar salad and this one was very good.

For entrees we had the Petite Filet Mignon, ordered 'blue' which is essentially tartare - it was exactly as it should be - and also a very generous and perfectly cooked portion of the Fresh Wild Salmon - delicious!!

The accompanying red potatoes with rosemary, along with the veggies, were also perfectly cooked. Clearly fresh rosemary was used with the potatoes, as one could actually taste it, but it wasn't over seasoned (a little rosemary goes a long way! ;-)

We didn't order any cocktails or wine, but the iced tea was brewed, not a mix, and tasted just right.

We both had the Tiramisu and coffee for dessert, and again they were perfect. The wait staff was both very friendly without hovering or being overbearing in any way.

Our experience left us wanting to return and we will, so I'm quite surprised at the some of the other reviews. The warm welcome and service reminded me of the family restaurants I went to as a child, but with an updated menu.

We left feeling very happy and satisfied! La buona tavola!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CC0715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riccio's Steak & Seafood also viewed

Cathedral City, CA
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Riccio's Steak & Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing