We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desert Sun Resort
Nearby Hotels
Ace Hotel and Swim Club(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$244
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$178
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Plus Las Brisas Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$220
$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Saguaro Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oasis Villa Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caliente Tropics Resort(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Palm Springs Hotel(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Triada Palm Springs, Autograph Collection(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Desert Isle of Palm Springs(Palm Springs)(Great Value!)
$354
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Willows(Palm Springs)
$385
$347
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (293)
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveler rating
206
63
16
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
206
63
16
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet poolactivity poolwater volleyballcourtyard roomclothing optional experiencegrounds are beautifulgrounds keepersother guestspools and hot tubshotel rooms areweek daysmain poolnew friendslove this placetennis courtsholiday weekendgreat weekend
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 293 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful and clean grounds.
3 pools and 2 hot tubs.
Amazing (fully clothed) staff
24 hour office staff
Extremely comfortable atmosphere.
So, it was our first time to Palm Springs (love it!) and our first ever experience at a clothing optional resort. Read the rules very carefully for first timers. No clothes or suits at the pools and surrounding areas. I walked into the office in just short boy shorts and no top, my husband fully nude and we were immediately given a highlited piece of paper specifying that I couldn't be wearing clothing. Understandable, since they want everyone to be on an even playing field so to speak. I was a little annoyed when later we saw two men hanging out at the pool in shorts and a couple fully clothed in the outdoor eatery. I felt the rules were a little inconsistent. THAT BEING SAID, I absolutely enjoyed my experience! My husband and I were comfortable and te other couples we met were friendly and at ease. We did see two couples having sex at the quiet pool in the middle of the day..at the same time but it is not the norm and isn't tolerated if caught. "Nothing is allowed that would need an apology"

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ClaryPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had originally booked our stay for five days, thinking that we would take advantage of the airport limo service offered on stays of four nights or more--then we found out that it had been discontinued. With a rental car now the best option, we decided to cancel the last two days of the stay and check out the other C/O resort. That will be the next review.

We stayed in the Chaparral hotel section and the room was basic and pricey, but we knew that coming in so we were OK with it. About our only room complaint was that the king bed was too hard--way too hard for me to sleep comfortably. The grounds are very nice, the pools and hot tubs clean and look new. Even though the resort was full on a holiday weekend, it did not seem over crowded and we were always able to find a sunbed somewhere. People do go out at 7 AM to reserve their choice spots.

We ate one breakfast at the resort. The food was good (when we got it), but the service was slow and my wife had to send her eggs back because they were under cooked. As we were eating, a gentleman approached our table, identified himself as the owner and apologized for the slow service. After this, we kind of expected that something would be comped--it wasn't. In fact, this was our only other complaint--with the exception of coffee in the lobby, you pay for everything. A $275 room didn't even get us a free newspaper.

The staff treated us very well and we had a nice time, but if we return to Palm Springs the DS may not be our first choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muskrat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days here in mid May 2013 . This was our first time and we loved it . We hated to leave . The staff were very gracious , the grounds were well kept and the condo we stayed in was perfect . My wife was very hesitant at first but it seemed by the last day it was hard to get her out of the pool . Very relaxing place . We come from the cold east coast north so it was truly a special place to try our first nude resort lifestyle . We will be back . A special thankyou to my wife ( M ) for entertaining this whole idea .

Room Tip: The condo offer extra privacy from the patios .
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sam i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our first visit to Desert Sun Resort was also our first time with the clothing-optional experience. The staff and many guests made us feel so comfortable that by our second day we upgraded to a room with a kitchen and stayed in the resort for the rest of our week (no sightseeing required).

We were most impressed with the grounds keeping and overall maintenance of the resort. Both rooms we stayed in were clean, and the beds and bedding were excellent. We did have a couple of minor maintenance issues with our room, but the staff handled them immediately.

The pools were warm, clean, and the hot tubs were lovely, although the one in the condo area was a bit too hot for my wife to sit in.

The café and bar were both very nice; our only disappointment was the limited hours, especially the bar. The food was excellent and the portion sizes considerable. Service was a bit slow, mainly due to the number of staff. Servers tended bar, waited tables, and took and delivered drink orders by the pools. All of the servers were friendly, welcoming, and attentive. Several greeted us by name after a couple of days, which was appreciated and made us feel more welcome.The café did not open for breakfast, but coffee was available at all times in the lobby.

We got a couple's relaxation massage in the spa, which was one of the highlights of our visit. Highly recommended.

We were lucky to arrive on the resort’s five year anniversary celebration, so the Bare Buns Nightclub was open. The experience as first timers was wonderful. We would love to see the nightclub open on more than just a few special occasions, because it offers the opportunity for first-timers and repeat guests to mix in a great social milieu.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay so much that we made reservations for a ten night stay later this year before we left the resort!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank 2FromMillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We want to thank all the staff at DS for a wonderful time...you make everyone feel at home, and you keep the place so orgainzed and clean!!! We always enjoy our stay and meeting such wonderful people.
Thank you so much!!
Frank&Gayle Madrid

Room Tip: All the rooms are great...but if you want to be poolside, the chapprell is the best!!!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Madrids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews