We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desert Sun Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desert Sun Resort
Ranked #34 of 70 Hotels in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
edmonton
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Another Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited this resort last November and couldn't wait to go back - so here we were again in April, this time for a 10 day stay. We booked a room with a mini kitchen (microwave and fridge) in the courtyard and that made a wonderful difference in the amount of privacy and comfort. Unlike the Chapparal rooms, the Courtyard rooms have a built in air-conditioner, rather than the wall mounted unit. This cuts down on the in room noise considerably.
The grounds are maintained to a high standard. We enjoyed the quiet of the pool in the condo area (particularly on weekends when things get quite noisy around the volleyball pool and hot tub) and also the pool by the spa. Had a couple of wonderful massages as well with Renska. Don't miss the opportunity if you visit. Michael and staff do a great job in looking after the guests and we look forward to our next visit - already booked!

Room Tip: If booking a room in the Courtyard, ask for one away from the entrance gates - people tend to shut t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RotaryRoamers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    57
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
5
206
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Villa clean, excellent accommodation. The grounds are beautiful and immaculate. Totally relaxing and people immediately friendly on the grounds, spa, restaurant. Many different areas to enjoy, including hot tubs, multiple pools, fireplaces, tennis court. Staff immediately responsive to requests. Relaxed but not sleepy C/O resort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dokta911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a great facility, clean and neat with very helpful staff. The grounds are beautiful, featuring three pools and two jucuzzi spas. There are three types of accomocations: older, somewhat larger rooms; newer, smaller rooms; condos. The rooms are furnished with somewhat dated furniture. The bathrooms in all rooms are very small. Suites with kitchens are available in the older section and some of these rooms connect to accomadate larger parties. Bar and restaurant service is very good and the food is quite good. The pools are very nice, but unless you play volley ball, do not plan on being around the main pool after volley ball starts in the afternoon (no care is taken to avoid hitting guests with the ball and splashing them as well. The pool surrounded by condos is very nice, quiet and peaceful. Guests tend to be on the older side; Everyone we met was very friendly and it was very easy to meet new friends. Karaoke goes on in the night club on Saturdays. . Depending on the crowd, this can be a very funny and enjoyable event. We had a really great time and we are in no way karaoke fans. Downtown Palm Springs bars and restaurants are a quick, $10 cab ride away. We travel throughout the US for business, staying in three-four hotels a month. This hotel is superior and is highly recommended for a relaxing, get-away weekend

Room Tip: Rooms 5 and 8 in the courtyard section have kitchens and connect to other rooms. Two rooms in the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jackSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhnaks
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This was our first overnight stay at DSR. Our previous visits were all day-passes. We were assigned a Chaparral room on ground floor directly beside the main pool. We were initially hesitant about staying overnight from reading mixed posts on condition of rooms and linens. Upon entering our room, we were pleasantly surprised to see new and quality towels and linens used. This confirmed Management's response posts here that they recently completely revamped all the linens. Although we agree the furniture and TV are dated, our room was squeaky clean as was the rest of the resort and grounds. Our one complaint was that the air-condition was quite noisy, especially when the compressor kicked in. The 24-hour coffee and tea dispenser at the reception area was a nice touch. We also found the staff friendly and helpful. Although our stay was short, we had a most relaxing stay. We look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhnaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County CA.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We've been to most of the c/o resorts in the area and DS has the nicest grounds and facilities we've seen. The public areas are beautiful and immaculate.
The small room we stayed in was nice but could use a remodel. Tiny fridge plunked on the floor, no microwave, old school furniture etc. That said, it did the job but for the price I'd expect more.
The price seems to have selected the crowd... kind of country clubish but naked.
Terra Cotta is more intimate and fun and the hosts are the best.
I suggest DS do wine and cheese afternoon mixer as other resorts do to help pick up the vibe. Also a pastry tray with the morning coffee would be a welcome touch and not much of a financial burden when your charging $200 plus a night.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SoCalCaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melita Manitoba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first experience at a complete au naturel resort and it was awesome! The resort is perfect for a quiet holiday around a pool. We already have our condo booked of next year and will look forward to another week in a place that we are comfortable and beautifully cared for along with a great staff. Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I spent a week here for our 15th wedding anniversary. What an amazing place! We haven't been that relaxed in years. The amazing staff (Thanks Teresa!) are on hand to help and made our stay perfect. The Desert Sun Resort is the perfect place to just sit back and soak up some sun in a safe and friendly clothes free environment. We met some great people while we were there and were sad to have to leave when our week was done. We will be back again next year for sure. Thanks again to all the staff at the resort for everything!!! Dana and Kristen

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KPSDls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Springs
9.4 mi away
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
Sea Mountain Inn Resort
#7 of 22 in Desert Hot Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Springs Rendezvous
Palm Springs Rendezvous
#8 of 70 in Palm Springs
5.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Skylark Hotel
Skylark Hotel
#36 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Los Arboles Hotel
Los Arboles Hotel
#26 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arrive
Arrive
#28 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palm Springs Hotel
The Palm Springs Hotel
#10 of 70 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Sun Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Sun Resort

Property: Desert Sun Resort
Address: 1533 N Chaparral Rd, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4601 (Formerly Desert Shadows Resort)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Romantic Hotel in Palm Springs
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Sun Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Palm Springs in Au Naturel Luxury. 3 Swimming pools, 2 jacuzzis, tennis court, restaurant on site, spa, fire pit, night club. Try clothing optional freedom in a beautiful natural setting with waterfalls, flowers, streams and lots of trees. Minutes from airport and downtown Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Desert Sun Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Sun Hotel Palm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing