We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW WOW WOW”

Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Ranked #1 of 119 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb 8,000 feet from the desert to the San Jacinto Mountains, in less than 15 minutes, by tram.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

If you don't do this when visiting Palm Springs, then you haven't seen Palm Springs. 30 degress by the pool, 4 degrees on the Mountain top with snow . A fun ride on the tram which spins 360 degrees as you zoom up to 9,000ft. Do it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BazzK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,572 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,689
    1,527
    277
    47
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Pretty amazing trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Went on a early on a weekday in November and no crowds, no problems. A true engineering marvel in addition to being a pretty breath taking ride. Great views as the car rotates twice on the way up and down. Audio narrative could have been a bit louder as it was difficult to hear. Views from the top are spectacular and you get a true appreciation for the high desert valley and its cities.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
160 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Revolving tramway....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

We have been on the aerial tramway in New Mexico, but this one was a big surprise when the floor of the tram actually started to revolve very slowly. Do not go if you have any type of vertigo because of revolving floor. Everyone gets a great view up to the top of the mountain and Palm Springs.You can take some amazing pictures from the tram and observation deck. There is a nice commentary while you are traveling up and down the mountain on the tramway. Make sure to bring a jacket because it does get quite cold once you step off the tram. Also make sure you have at least a few hours to do some hiking in the pretty wooded areas. Make sure to take advantage of the observation deck to see the great views of Palm Springs from 8500 feet. The cost was a little on the pricey side, so spend as much time as you can on top of the mountain to get your money's worth. We had a fun time hiking the mountain and spent more time there then we had expected. A unique and fun time for the entire family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Go with the Flow”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We found this experience rather pricey for the for the duration of the ride 10min approx up and back, unfortunately we had noisy passengers on board which meant we could not hear all the commentary.
The price is the only draw back it cost us over $100 for the five of us for 20 minute ride makes skiing in Australia look cheap.
We did some hiking but where not that inspired, more to see at Joshua Park must see no need to write about it just go and do it.
Over and out.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Majak168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Worth the time, but needs some fixes.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

We booked our tickets ahead of time and had no problems finding parking in the lot nearest the valley station. I'm glad we went early-ish (10am tram ride).

The boarding and ride up made me a bit bad-tempered. First of all, after going through the ticket turnstile, you're required to stop and pose for one of those enforced green-screen photos. I HATE THOSE and I wish they would let you gracefully opt out. But no, you're all funneled through.

They pack way too many people on the tram going up. We had zero view and were smashed in because of how many people they force onto the "up" tram.

Would you like the opportunity to grope strangers when the tram sways as you pass the poles? This is the attraction for you! For only $24 per person, you can grope or be groped.

Once at the top everything was great. There is a lot to see and do and the views are not to be missed, worth the whole miserable ride up.

Instead of scheduling rides down for every hour (like the up rides), the down trams depart every 15 minutes and the ride was MUCH BETTER. There were only 10 other people and we had a great view of everything, plenty of handle space for all, and the views were wonderful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GSKorelys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Aerial Tramway also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Aerial Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing