We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting Way To Experience Palm Springs”

Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Ranked #1 of 118 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb 8,000 feet from the desert to the San Jacinto Mountains, in less than 15 minutes, by tram.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Seattle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Interesting Way To Experience Palm Springs”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

What a unique attraction! It's a great way to get a different perspective on the desert and get an appreciation of the topography.

Two hints: go early and bundle up! It was cold at the top in February.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bootsie834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,863
    1,568
    283
    47
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Unique experience and excellent hiking at the top”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Worlds largest rotating aerial tram - truly unique. Buy your tickets online and aim for the early departures (first is at 10) to avoid the crowds. Really excellent hiking at top. Remember it will be much cooler at the top so dress accordingly.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SFtravelbuffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“scary fun :)”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

It isn't often that you are whisked 8500 feet to the top of a mountain in 10 minutes flat in a swaying cable car with a bunch of strangers. But do it - the views are stunning. Take some warm clothing with you - it is cold up there :) We didn't stay up there for very long - it was more for the experience and for me to challenge my fear of heights :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob5252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A must-do when in Palm Springs!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We rode the Tram in February 2013. The first day we went there was a cloud cover so we came back another day during our visit to Palm Springs. The parking lot was packed but the wait was only 40 minutes or so. It's a 10 minutes ride with breathtaking views no matter the season. The car slowly spins 2 revolutions during the 10 minutes to give everyone in the car a chance to see everything. There are 5 towers that the car passes over on the way to the top and the car swings a bit over each tower. Otherwise it is smooth. My husband felt nausea from the swinging but since I get carsick pretty easily I already had a scopalomine patch on from the flight to Palm Springs. Glad I did! Everyone in the car had fun making roller coaster gasps over each tower which didn't help my husband's uneasiness. There is a sit-down restaurant and a cafeteria deli at the top, as well as a gift shop. Gift shop items are considerably cheaper at the bottom of the ride than at the top! There is a 30 degree tempurature difference from the bottom to the top so dress accordingly. There was snow on the ground but no wind the day we were there in February. Trails were packed snow that were slick but we maneuvered them in tennis shoes unless you stepped off to the side where it was easily 3"-4" deep! Lots of photo opps. Didn't see any wildlife this time of year. Some people brought snow saucers to slide down the hills and one couple packed a picnic lunch to enjoy on one of the rock overlooks. I did not see any picnic tables or bathrooms once we started the hike.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Hot4Playa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If you're in Palm Springs and haven't been here yet, you're missing out!”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is a wonderful experience with an outstanding view! It's very scenic. It is cool to start where it's warm then slowly start going into the snowier part.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank leighleigh13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Aerial Tramway also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Aerial Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing