We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a Zoo”

Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Ranked #1 of 119 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb 8,000 feet from the desert to the San Jacinto Mountains, in less than 15 minutes, by tram.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Vancouver
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a Zoo”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We drove up to the Tram, parked, walked up to the Tram Station. Total disarray- looks like the crowds have outgrown capacity. Complete disorganization and chaos- we left without ascending. The empty parking spaces told us this wasn't even their biggest crowds. Yikes. But the drive up to the station is nice- great view coming down.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MrBaldnutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,683 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,781
    1,543
    279
    47
    33
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
274 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Great views”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Nor usually one for rides like this I quickly changed my mind. If you have a spare 90 minutes do this! Fun, easy, great views and a spectacular ride up the mountain.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shantap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful View”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A amazing 360 deg. turning tram ride. Hike, play in the snow, eat dinner or see a sunrise (at Easter) or sunset (everyday).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gcoxy32524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great ride , poor dining experience”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Ride up and down was a great experience, restaurant experience was a huge disappointment. We had reservation , but were unable to seat us till they had menus returned. When seated, we had long wait for server and drinks "because everyone wants to eat at once". Entrees were not served as described in menu, and food prepared less than desirable-overcooked steak and salmon. What could have been a great experience that I would take more guests to will not be repeated due to poor dining experience.

Helpful?
2 Thank DebraAndR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Worth the trip but tram crowded”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very cool ride up the mountain spoiled by there being ten too many tickets sold - we were crammed in like sardines, practically stepping on each other, if you are remotely claustrophobic don't go on this trip. The ride down was much more pleasant. At the top take the opportunity to walk down the trails, you will be rewarded with stunning vistas (and a snowball fight in California. . :-)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KMB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Aerial Tramway also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Aerial Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing