We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“crazy!!”

Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.95*
and up
Palm Springs Aerial Tramway
More Info
$169.00*
and up
Palm Springs and Outlet Shopping Day Trip from Los Angeles
Ranked #1 of 118 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Climb 8,000 feet from the desert to the San Jacinto Mountains, in less than 15 minutes, by tram.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hanalei, Hawaii
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“crazy!!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

must do while staying here in palm springs. I've been here w eekand this is by far the most interesting thing to do in town. We got on the the tramway just before dark and the view was amazing. Gotta warn you the height is not for the weak. It goes up to about 8k feet in the air and can be very scary

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jackwata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,984 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,015
    1,602
    286
    47
    34
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Definately Go!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

If you are there and are thinking of going, go! It is really worth it. My husband was skeptical but he loved it too. We were there in early October and it was HOT in Palm Springs. Up on the mountain it was great. We went up around 4:30ish and were up on the mountain for sunset and then we came down after dark which is nice to see both. Next time we would go much earlier as the trails to walk are beautiful. We did walk for 45 min or so. We had drinks and checked out the upper deck views also. A must do!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank joannala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“What a difference 8500 feet can make!”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were very excited to be doing this aerial tram and it didn't disappoint! From (almost) the desert floor (you actually drive up some of the mountain before you park your car and go in the tram), to the mountain station is like night and day! There is a whole pine forest up there, a real surprise! It was like a whole different world compared to the desert. Think of Yosemite!

You stand up in the car, and it makes 2 revolutions during the 10 minute trip, so there is no bad place to stand.

Up at the top, there are numerous trails, we did the scenic one and nature one, both were absolutely lovely and the views were breathtaking.

Copying what I did in Chicago at the willis tower, we went up when it was light and came down at dusk/dark, which were 2 completely different experiences, kind of like a 2 for 1.

Make sure you watch the video at the mountain station, giving you a history of the tram and national park at the top.

A note : we didn't eat up there, and we were glad we didn't, as the food in the cafe (with ride and dine) looked pretty awful, but we did have a lovely warming cup of tea to warm ourselves up (bring jeans, sweater and a coat, it was a bit cold up there)

Highly reccommend!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank mkellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“It's a must-do in Palm Springs”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

So I did it. I am not a fan of heights and it was a little scary for me, but it's definitely a must-do in Palm Springs. It's 40 degrees cooler at the top than in the valley - a welcome break from the desert heat - so plan accordingly. There are also 57 miles of hiking trails, so bring your walking shoes and a sweater. After 4:00 is twilight rates, it as $21 and well worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lucy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALLENWOOD
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Exhilarating way to spend a day”
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

The tram ride is beautiful. Hiking trails at the top are wonderful. Note the " beginner" trail is rocky, appropriate footwear is required. Much of the area is not handicapped accessible. This trip is for people reasonably physically fit, a lot of walking and up and down hills. Viewing areas are spectacular. 93 degrees at the base, 65 on the trails. Great relief from the heat.

Helpful?
Thank DTNJLAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Aerial Tramway also viewed

Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs
 

Been to Palm Springs Aerial Tramway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing