We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place to spend time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Springs Art Museum

Palm Springs Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 120 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in downtown Palm Springs (with a branch location in Palm Desert, CA), the Palm Springs Art Museum offers compelling art exhibitions from national and international artists. The museum's extensive permanent collection includes significant works by modern and contemporary artists, western, contemporary and glass artists, and features several temporary exhibitions throughout the year. The museum is open free every Thursday night and the second Sunday of every month. It also offers a range of theatrical and musical performances in its Annenberg Theater. Throughout all these programs, the museum is dedicated to creating memorable and inspiring interactions through educational and cultural opportunities.
Mount Shasta, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a great place to spend time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This small museum really packs it in...I have visited many different museums in my travels and the Palm Springs Art museum is absolutely my favorite. Both the traveling exhibits and also their permanent exhibits are extraordinary...don't miss it when you travel to Palm Springs...absolutely a wonderful place to spend an afternoon

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 245Quigley__
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    816
    296
    46
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Gem in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was not expecting a museum of such fine quality. Some great temporary exhibits while we were in town and the permanent collection is quite impressive. The staff and docents were helpful and the price of admission was fair.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterToronto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice space, some nice works”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a pleasant museum to visit for 1-2 hours. It's not that large, but it has some really nice works. Look for the older couple at the top of the stairs (if you've been there, you'll know what I'm talking about!). The location is good, being right in Palm Springs' central entertainment district.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank flipper314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

WOW!!! What a collection! This will take you back in time..such a rich and beautiful collection, so wonderful it gave me goosebumps. A must see!!! This museum is solely run on donations so please support it so they don't have to sell off the planes to keep it open!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrandVoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I couldn't image such a find in Palm springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We didn't plan to visit the museum and did so on a whim.

The place is huge find. It is a great piece of architecture filled with very special art. Lots of Henry Moore and other sculptures. A mix of modern and classic american art. Many of the pieces are donations/loans from private collections. Thanks to wonderful people in the world we get to enjoy it as well.

The museum staff is very friendly and helped my children by inviting them in to look at specific art. Showing them interesting facts and details.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nthirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Art Museum also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing