We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth a visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Springs Art Museum

Palm Springs Art Museum
Ranked #5 of 119 things to do in Palm Springs
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in downtown Palm Springs (with a branch location in Palm Desert, CA), the Palm Springs Art Museum offers compelling art exhibitions from national and international artists. The museum's extensive permanent collection includes significant works by modern and contemporary artists, western, contemporary and glass artists, and features several temporary exhibitions throughout the year. The museum is open free every Thursday night and the second Sunday of every month. It also offers a range of theatrical and musical performances in its Annenberg Theater. Throughout all these programs, the museum is dedicated to creating memorable and inspiring interactions through educational and cultural opportunities.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

WOW!!! What a collection! This will take you back in time..such a rich and beautiful collection, so wonderful it gave me goosebumps. A must see!!! This museum is solely run on donations so please support it so they don't have to sell off the planes to keep it open!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank GrandVoyageuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    812
    296
    45
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“I couldn't image such a find in Palm springs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We didn't plan to visit the museum and did so on a whim.

The place is huge find. It is a great piece of architecture filled with very special art. Lots of Henry Moore and other sculptures. A mix of modern and classic american art. Many of the pieces are donations/loans from private collections. Thanks to wonderful people in the world we get to enjoy it as well.

The museum staff is very friendly and helped my children by inviting them in to look at specific art. Showing them interesting facts and details.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nthirion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC CA
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

The modern, changing, exhibits were very good.
I'm not a big fan of museums, but this one made for a very pleasant afternoon.

The permanent Native American exhibit was less to our liking. A matter of personal preference.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SoCalJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eclectic and Excellent!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

After years of visiting PS we just recently discovered this wonderful museum that is located downtown just off of Palm Canyon Dr. It has an interesting mix of various art forms from sculpture and photography to glass and modern. We attended on a Thursday night, which was a free night. Even if we'd had to pay admission, it would have been worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small but wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a brilliant museum which is small enough to keep it very personal.The exhibitions were varied and fascinating.We had 2 kids with us and they were kept amused and interested.Highly recommended

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank crookieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palm Springs Art Museum also viewed

Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 
Palm Springs, California Desert
Palm Springs, California Desert
 

Been to Palm Springs Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing