We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inviting, classy and enjoyable”
Review of Casa Ocotillo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Palm Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ocotillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently coordinated a group of friends for a birthday celebration weekend. We were looking for relaxing, low key and intimate. It was our first time at Casa Ocotillo and I couldn't have been more pleased. The property was nicely landscaped, the rooms were nicely decorated and very comfortable, and the service was impeccable. Brian and Vic were gracious hosts, providing privacy but still being available and servicing the property amenities and kitchen. I highly recommend Casa Ocotillo for anyone looking for a no hassles, friendly, intimate and private atmospshere. Thanks Brian and Vic!!!! I'll be back for sure!

Javier E.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javier E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (427)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 427 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

My partner and I love coming to Palm Springs but with a small family member (pet dog) in tow, we recently felt a lack of connection towards the pet friendly places we used to stay at. This weekend changed everything, and we spent two amazing nights at Casa Ocotillo and it had every amenity a human would want, but to our amazing delight, our dog also received the star treatment above and beyond our normal expectation.

Brian and Vic go the extra mile to make sure your stay is wonderful, and their dog Ashley is a treat to interact with, and he helped entertain our own dog tremendously.

The rooms were lovely with a bed I could sleep on for days, the grounds were very well kept, the pool was perfect with the beautiful landscape surrounding it, and the whole motif and lounge area was relaxing to the max. I even had a nice beverage provided to me by Brian and Vic at the perfect moment where a little vodka matched wonderfully.

Overall, I could go on and on about this intimate resort experience and I know I will become a regular now of Casa Ocotillo and I can't recommend it highly enough to others (with or without a family member pet in tow). Enjoy your stay, I am sure you will!!!

Room Tip: I walked into all the rooms and enjoyed the unique pieces and colors in each, it just means i have t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I had a great experience for my first visit to Palm Springs. I was looking for a place to have a nice retreat before the beginning of a new school year and this was the perfect place. The grounds were nice. Had breakfast on the patio next to the pool every morning which had a great view of the mountains too. Loved the room which was very comfortable and beautifully decorated (stayed in the Log Jammer Bungalow). Especially liked the semi-private patio in front of my room where I spent most of my time either reading or doing some creative writing while sipping on my cup of coffee. Enjoyed the breakfast from the common kitchen which was well stocked with fresh fruit, coffee, bagels, muffins, etc. The service was excellent. Brian and Vic were great hosts!

I will definitely return when I plan another trip to Palm Springs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

"Casa Octillo" is California, any of our esteemed artists would say so. The Hacienda is a perfect part and then some, if ya know what I mean!?.
I give it a five star rating across the board, our hosts are two gracious gentlemen not to mention thier thorough breed standard terrier who's apropos is every bit as gracious as his owners.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tellalltailstall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Had a boys weekend, took all 5 casitas and had a wonderful memorable weekend. The casitas are absolutely gorgeous, 4-5 star, and the grounds are stunning. We were provided with a common kitchen fully supplied with refreshments, coffee, bagels and other snacks. Brian made our stay very enjoyable, I would recommend this property for any one looking for a get-away weekend.

Room Tip: The room closest to the front of the street, connected to main house is beautiful, great shower and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SageandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I will start by saying, the rooms were very nice, comfortable and the setting of the property is very nice. We also brought our dogs and it was great to have them there with us! However, my partner and I felt that the owner was a bit heavy on the personal service.

Upon check-in, he gave us a tour of every single detail of the room and property. He also went over so many rules and the Do's and Don'ts of the property, it made us feel uncomfortable; kind of like going to Grandma's house who is so afraid you're going to break something. I found it tacky that they specifically spelled out with towels were to be used for sexual clean up with laminated cards next to the bed describing the location of the "trick towels." TACKY

We owner came knocking at our door several times insisting we join in for cocktail hour for all guests by the pool. We also had to exchange conversation every time we entered or left the property since he was always right there as we walked out. The property is really small so it's hard to avoid.

When we laid out by the pool, the top of my head touched to cushion my a few millimeters and he came running over to place another towel under my head and reminded me that there were more pool towels available so that I could cover the entire chaise as he had previously told me to do so.

On our way out, as we couldn't wait to get away, he insisted on taking our picture even as we insisted we did not want to. All in all, the place is great. The hospitality is too much for my comfort.

One last thing that I thought would be a nice touch to the rooms. They still have the old tube tvs mounted from the ceiling. It would be great to have had a flat screen TV at eye level instead of near the ceiling.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SDtravelexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My partner just finished his first year of law school and wanted to get away somewhere to relax. We chose Casa Ocotillo for its small size and quaint look. We were not disappointed. It was a great inn with a good location and wonderful hosts. I'm sure we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
0.4 mi away
Desert Riviera Hotel
Desert Riviera Hotel
#1 of 75 in Palm Springs
1,978 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Rossi Hotel
The Rossi Hotel
#5 of 75 in Palm Springs
599 reviews
0.6 mi away
INNdulge
INNdulge
#5 of 41 in Palm Springs
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Santiago Resort
Santiago Resort
#1 of 41 in Palm Springs
528 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vista Grande Resort - A Gay Mens Resort
0.1 mi away
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
Triangle Inn Palm Springs
#10 of 41 in Palm Springs
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Ocotillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ocotillo

Address: 240 E Ocotillo Ave, Palm Springs, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92264-8428
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Palm Springs
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Ocotillo sets new standards for luxury accommodations for gay men. The walled compound offers you the ultimate in luxury and privacy tucked away behind iron gates in a quiet historic area of old Palm Springs. Guests experience unparalleled resort-like accommodations and services in a restored 1930’s hacienda on over one-half acre of lushly landscaped grounds.. The five spacious bungalows and suites have been individually designed for gay men in a personal hideaway sheltered away from the usual hustle and bustle, yet minutes from the excitement of downtown. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing