We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Dabs are terrific!”
Review of Backstreet Bistro

Backstreet Bistro
Ranked #55 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Monterey
Description: "Where Friends Meet Friends" is what the locals say about Backstreet Bistro…and that is exactly what you"ll find at this Tuscan inspired hidden gem just blocks from the busy El Paseo scene. Dishes are a blend of rustic Italian cuisine and family recipes that feature a wide array of fresh fish, pastas, soups and salads. Lunch and Dinner specials are available daily, along with a full bar and specialty cocktail menu. Enjoy dining in the relaxing ambiance indoors or on the pet-friendly outdoor patio as you gaze upon the beautiful views of the San Jacinto Mountains. This local favorite is also one of the area's best live jazz venues with popular valley musicians performing every Tuesday from 7pm to 10pm and Saturdays from 12:30pm to 3pm. Prices are under $30 at $12-$15 per person.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Sand Dabs are terrific!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

The sand dabs at the Backstreet Bistro are worth revisiting and why I gave an excellent rating . I have been there twice and ordered them both times, My husband and I arrive for a late lunch and sit in the patio. The service is friendly and attentive. We have a happy hour glass of wine and it is pleasant outside. The menu selection looks very attractive but I enjoy the lightly sauteed sand dabs with capers. It comes with fries but they will substitute a nice light salad of fresh greens and chopped tomatoes My husband has tried the pastrami style sandwich and also the turkey BLT. Both are generous and delicious portions. I will have to force myself to try one of their menu selections as everything looks delicious.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    26
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
Reviewed March 29, 2014

There were three of us and all three of our meals were wonderful. Nice location for outdoor dining while in the Palm Desert area.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyndee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
171 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Pleasant Place for Lunch”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We went here for lunch only (cannot speak for the dinners) and it was a very nice experience. My relative, who lives in the area, has only had good experiences, and LOVES the BLT's. Everyone who ordered the BLT agreed with her. We all had good sandwiches, and our waitress was very pleasant and attentive. It was very nice sitting at one of the tables on the patio. I would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food excellent service”
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner tonight and sat on the patio. The food was excellent and service was prompt and professional. We sat on the patio which was very pleasant. My husband had the lasagna which was traditional style and was very flavourful. I had the Grandma Pat's veal dish. It was very tasty and the veal was so tender. The waiter was attentive. We had a lovely bottle of wine, Caesar salad and home made bread. The prices are very reasonable. I would highly recommend this restaurant. A lovely place for dinner

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winnipeg canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“OUTDOOR WITH MUSIC”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We enjoyed a great lunch on the patio with Jazz and friends. It needs to be said that on the very hot afternoon that we attended there, there was inadequate relief from the very hot sun and that impacted on our enjoyment. Great music and very crowded on the patio, but a fun place to see and be seen.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank meswinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Backstreet Bistro also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Backstreet Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing