We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the Best Palm Desert Restaurant”

Cork Tree California Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Cork Tree California Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cook Street
Description: Updated Al La Carte menu located on the Cork Tree website.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Possibly the Best Palm Desert Restaurant”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

My husband and I ate dinner at this restaurant while staying in Palm Desert. It had a charming interior and a particularly beautiful patio dining area, with babbling fountain and lovely evening music by local musicians. The food was incredible. Very fresh ingredients, typical California cuisine-wonderful salads. I had scallops which were delicious. My parents live in Palm Desert 6 months a year, and they believe this to be the best food in Palm Desert. It was not an inexpensive dinner, nor was it exhorbitant. Highly recommend this experience. Don't be discouraged by it's location next to a strip mall. The high walls around the patio and water sounds completely transport you away from your actual location.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gametotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    195
    77
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Cork Tree is one of Palm Desert's finest!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

What a fantastic place!! I have gone right by it so many times. Never again!! The Scottish salmon is the best that I can remember!! They pour unusually good wines by the glass. But last and not least - the service is amazing!! Our server Joe gives the best service I have had in years. In addition he has a great personality and you feel he really cares about you!! Do not miss this restaurant and Joe!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lasalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, Virginia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great date night”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Perfect place for a date night on the patio! Wish I had saved room for dessert because the dessert cocktail menu looked awesome!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria oregon
Level Contributor
1,689 reviews
1,075 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 719 helpful votes
“If you are into beautiful decor, high prices and average food, nice service.”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Well I am sure these folks are good to their mother and really good at decorating.
Food, however is average at best. Now it just might be when we dined. Here in the desert you try it once . Not good no return. Good for these folks that the snow birds come.
We, however, do not plan to return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Journeyman644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
228 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Terrific once again this year”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Our now annual vacation in Palm Desert to stay with friends and family once again took us to this excellent restaurant. The Cork Tree in Palm Desert enjoys a well deserved reputation for excellent food, great service and a pleasant ambiance. Cocktails & wine preceded delicious starters: our table enjoyed the soup sampler, the crab shrimp cakes, salads etc. Our main course of pork shank literally fell off of the bone and was delicious. Others enjoyed the salmon, chicken, scallops and a delightful menu that doesn't overwhelm. Our server was knowledgeable, pleasant and most helpful. The runners and bussers were attentive and efficient. Bring a big menu as a full three course meal is plentiful.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Tree California Cuisine also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Cork Tree California Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing