We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not your average mall food...”

Cork Tree California Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Cork Tree California Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 272 Restaurants in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Cook Street
Description: Updated Al La Carte menu located on the Cork Tree website.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
124 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Not your average mall food...”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

My wife and I had dinner on our 2nd night in the Palm Springs area, and picked this one based on Tripadvisor ratings. It was superb. We showed up early for our reservation but there was no problem we were immediately seated. Service was superb and food was excellent. We found the prices not too bad ( < $100 including a couple of drinks). It was not much to look at on the outside but was very warm and attractive once we were inside. Found this the best of the half dozen restaurants we tried in area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OriginalMurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    523
    195
    77
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Ana, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Don't let the location fool you!”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Set across the parking lot from Ralph's grocery store, the Cork Tree is pretty unassuming on the outside. Once inside it gets better, much better. Often sold out for dinner (lunch is no longer served), the dinning room is fairly small but attractive although viewing the TVs in the bar doesn't make it very romantic. The bar is usually packed and there is a very large outdoor patio for dinner as well (with heaters). The service is excellent. Our dinner started with a very unimpressive Caesar's salad, just Romaine leafs (not cut up) and some cheese. If the rest of the meal was like this, the place would get one star. But the entrees were both wow's! The scallops dish was artfully served in three separate dishes over a bed of edamame with shrimp, bacon and orange beurre blanc. Fabulous! The duck breast was excellent but the accompanying mushroom risotto was the best we had ever tasted. Wines were moderately priced. Our new favorite place in the desert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Labonnevie_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I was in Palm Desert for a Convention. We stayed at the Mariottans this restaurant was within walking distance. I had the short ribs and the Shady Lady tomato. Fantastic. Service was great (Beth)! Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bwalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Q, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fine Food Anniversary Finale”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We chose to celebrate our anniversary at Cork Tree Restaurant. We were hoping to find a special place with that was different than normal. Cork Tree met this desire. My wife had the scallops and I had the lamb shank. Both dishes were cooked to perfection. Each had an unusually nice presentation and were served with sides and sauces that made these dishes exquisite. The deserts had the same qualities. We had the combo desert which had peach sorbet, creme brulee and chocolate hazelnut bar. Each one of these had a taste and texture that excelled.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
1,043 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 406 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived around 7:00 without reservations. We just wanted appetizers and drinks so thought we could easily fit in around the bar area. Wrong, the place was packed! We stood around for a few minutes, waiting for someone to leave. After about five minutes a server asked us if we'd be willing to sit outside. Yes!

She set up a table outside and it was wonderful! Palm trees swaying in the breeze, propane heaters putting out just the right amount of heat....beautiful!

We had the crab and shrimp cakes and the kabobs. Both were very tasty, if a bit on the small side.

Love the atmosphere and service here. We've had dinner here before and the portions are very generous.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MNM1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cork Tree California Cuisine also viewed

Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 
Palm Desert, California Desert
Palm Desert, California Desert
 

Been to Cork Tree California Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing