We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring in the Desert”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We stayed in a one bedroom, fairly large condo that thankfully had good air conditioning. Not all of the guests were as lucky. Few guests the week we were there. It was 112-119 the entire week. The water in the pool was very warm and by evening attracted lots of bugs and hummingbirds.

There are tennis courts and golf on the property but it was so hot! There were no activities going on at the resort. Very boring. We left during the middle of the week to visit San Diego and get a break from the heat.

This might be a good place to visit if the weather is good for swimming. Pricey for a bed and a refrigerator. You need to leave the property to find any activities.

2  Thank Bingo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

239 - 245 of 250 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2005

Our family spent the week of the July 4th at Club Intrawest, and had a very pleasant experience. The rooms and grounds were very clean and the staff was very helpful. The rooms included an outdoor shower and fireplace, a large living area with queen sized sofa bed, 2 TV's, and top notch appliances.
We enjoyed the on-site movie theatre, work-out facility, free game room and pools during our stay. I would highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank vernperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2004

We have stayed here numerous times and have taken along as many as 5 other guests. The experience has always been top notch and the staff is amongst the most friendly we have encountered in world wide travels. The decor both inside and out is unique and very "deserty." We really enjoy this resort and are returning this summer with 3 other couples to introduce them to this gem.

10  Thank dakwray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2004

Stayed in an upstairs 1 bed appartment mid August 2004.

This was a good size with kitchen, lounge, big bathroom, big terrace, outdoor shower etc. Huge compared to a regular hotel room at one of the nearby resorts. Quality of decor fully to 4* hotel standards.

Plenty of choice for pools plus a games room and movie room.

Going back someday.

13  Thank simonf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2004

Club Intrawest is a wonderful resort. We had a 1 bedroom that was a great size. Kitchen is loaded with everything you would need to cook, patio with fireplace is wonderful. Lots of pools and hot tubs, grills by the pools, free movies, extra-friendly and helpful staff, comfortable bed. I felt like I could have moved into that suite and lived there.

12  Thank JackieMarie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2004

We love Club Intrawest Palm Desert. The mountain valley setting is beautiful and serene. The staff is friendly and helpful. Grounds are pleasant and relaxing, a desertscape garden. There are loads of amenities (hot tubs, outdoor showers, grills, games, free movies, etc).
The rooms are spacious and well equipped (full kitchen, blender, microwave, bar). I agree with the previous reviewer that the studios are too small so stick with the 1-2 bedroom setup. Concrete floors are pretty and children do seem to enjoy the place. The interior decor is funky modern mediterranean, actually quite hip and comfy. If you want a more classic and expensive hotel resort experience with carpet, bell service, birds in the lobby, and the works I would try the very impressive Marriott across the street. For my money I would pick Club Intrawest hands down -- we did, in fact, become vacation club members here when it first opened and are still happy with our choice after almost 5 years.

14  Thank Chicken_Talk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
211
Reviewed February 17, 2004

Many units are small studios and they are not suitable for young kids.
Floors are concrete, no carpet. I prefer other resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.9 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $175 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing