We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly staff”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2013

So far wonderful experience! Minor issues: ice maker doesn't work -- the staff delivered a bag of ice to the apartment within minutes... Gotta have ice here in the Desert:0). The safe is without instructions however again w/I minutes the staff was here and all is safe! The information provided by the staff has been helpful. There is a fantastic super market w/I 1/4 mile from the resort. They have everything and the store has all kinds of yummiest deserts, imported beer section etc... The kitchen utensils and dishes awesome and very clean apartment accommodations. Beds are comfortable and the pool areas very nice. The workout area great! Too hot to walk so the gym is a nice option!

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 259 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and kid went to stay at the resort, first we had pretty good impression of the resort, but as we are heading for the pool, we have noticed two dead rats around the pool area. My wife went into hot zacuzzi and that night she had skin irritation and after two days staying there her condition got worse so we went to dermatologist to examine her skin condition and doctor said it is hot tub germ that caused this, so we contacted administration office and sent picture of her skin condition and letter from doctor, manager "James" denided and does not even tried to apologize and prefer us to claim with attorney. All I wanted is to pay for the doctor's visit cost (which was like $100). I am very dispointed at their denial and sent us pest control sevice report showing that they did not find any bed bugs...they do not care about cleaniness of the pool and Because of this incident my wife still suffers and takes medicines and our vacation is ruined... Please reconsider if you plan to stay in this resort or plan to join the club, I have proof of letter from doctor and email from denial letter from resort. if you want to find out about this place, PLEASE RECONSIDER..

Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charlesskim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, we had a 2 bedroom apt. downstairs overlooking the golf-course , it was so nice, fantastic kitchen, the 2nd.bedroom had an extra entrance..separate fridge.
heated pool was great, although it was hot anyway, but we didn't mind having it warm.stuff at the reception was very helpful and friendly...i hope we can visit again..we needed some extra linen, there was no problem, within 10 min. it was brought to our door...
thanks to all stuff....

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 850Traude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This our first stay at Club Intrawest and will not be our last. The staff is terrific in every way and the manager is very hands on. You will often see him walking through the grounds making sure everything is properly taken care of. Club Intrawest is RIGHT SIZED as opposed to the timeshare Mega resorts we have stayed in over the last 15 years. Neither the resort or it's pools were ever crowded, 6/16 to 6/23, and many times we had the family pool in our complex to ourselves. Manager said the resort was at 95% capacity that week. During our stay the Family Pool at Resort Center was primarily occupied by respectful teens and young adults. The family pool environment in our building complex, buildings 12, 14, 16 and 18, was primarily adults and adults with young children. Buildings 17, 19, &21 are in an adult complex with a small adult pool while buildings 23, 25, 27 and 29 surround an adult lap pool. All the buildings are the same with four one bedroom units upstairs and three two bedroom units downstairs. The two end two bedroom units are King-King while the one inner two bedroom is a King-Twin bed. We stayed in unit 18-1 located the farthest from the family pool and it was at most a two minute casual walk to the pool. Pool gates are keyed requiring a room key for entry.

Next to the family pool at resort center is a fairly large shaded kiddie pool that is about one foot or so deep.

Use Bing or Google for an aerial view of this complex but be aware that the photo's were taken some time ago and golf course and facility landscaping has grown a lot since these photo's were taken.

Rooms were excellent with the ceiling mounted shower head inside a very large open tiled shower being the only different concept to get used too. Convection oven/microwave is easy to operate if you bother to read the instruction manual. It is mounted low so we moved a chair next to it until we mastered it's control panel.

Landscaping layout and maintenance is excellent throughout the property. It also provides one with the feeling of privacy even though the units are closely spaced around the three pool complexes. We took numerous morning and evening walks through the entire complex enjoying the many elevated views over the golf course. Takes less than 20 minutes including a stop for coffee and the local paper at the Resort Center during the morning walk..

All of the parking is reasonably close to the buildings, most is shaded and we had no problems with finding a place to park.

Grandkids enjoyed the free video games in the arcade and at night the 30 seat or so movie theater plays children's selections at 6PM and Adult selections at 8PM on a 10 foot screen. During our stay the NBA and NHL playoffs were shown on the really big screen.

The Desert Willow Golf Shop restaurant is about a 15 minute walk or a quick cart ride from your room if you call the main office and request a ride. Food is excellent and the elevated views over the two finishing holes on these two golf courses is fantastic. Based on our one week experience I find it difficult how anyone would find fault with this facility. This is a timeshare resort not a hotel room. There is some construction at the nearby new Westin Desert Willows timeshare but I fail to see how this could have any impact occupants of this facility.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Having 2 vacation homes in the same area chose to stay at my timeshare at Club Intrawest Palm Desert to see what it was like. I'm glad I did as this was the first time I felt on vacation in my surrounding area. Excellent accommodations set in Southwest decor; we had a 2 Bedroom lock off that would accommodate up to 6 people consisting of 2 bedrooms, king size beds and a sofa bed, full kitchen, 2 full bathrooms. Each unit has their own patio and fireplace. One bedroom units are upstairs and have a nice private outside shower. There is a large patio/balcony with table and chairs and a fireplace. The resort has 3 pools, 2 small for adults and larger for family, spas, BBQ's for your own use and are cleaned daily; tennis and basket ball courts, gym, arcade room with plenty of games to choose including a pool table and fooze ball. They have a movie theatre where you can reserve movies of your choice (wide variety of dvd movie to choose) at no charge or you can check out and bring into your large room. It's a great place to stay. We plan on renting our vacation home for seasonal use and then stay here. It's close to everything, markets, golf courses, etc. You wont be disappointed. Watch out for speeding road runners and jack rabbits that are everywhere. I'm giving it only 4 stars as our sofa bed mattress needed to be replaced but my kids never told me until the last night and a few water rings on one of the bathroom sinks. (no big deal).

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSW004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Excellent facilities & accommodations with beautifully landscaped grounds, this Club is a peaceful retreat overlooking the Desert Willow golf course, with mountains in the background.

James and his staff are great! It should be noted that the staff turn-over here is very low, so maintaining the familiarity & service of a private member club, is successfully accomplished.

For those seeking elegant activity, the JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort is a short walk [about 1k.] with a variety of restaurants & bars.

If your seeking a youthful “spring break” sort of buzz, this is not the destination for you.

Cheers, Graham.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed at club intrawest last month. We had the exact same experience as the other comments, no early check in and the 2bedroom condo was really a one bedroom plus a studio. They are obviously only wanting families, this makes you overpay for more than you need, therefore, the value just isn't there. The rooms are nice and well equipped.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
2.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Luxury Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $189 - $532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing