We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the place!”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

This place is nice and I don't say that very often. Would definitely stay here again if the opportunity arises! Great area to do 4x4 off roading. Front desk staff could have been a little more service oriented.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sadHGVCowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Embarc Palm Desert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 241 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2012

Since becoming Intrawest members in 2000 this is our 7th visit to this location .Needless to say of all the Intrawest locations this is by far our favourite. We love the quality accommodation, the spacious, clean and beautiful grounds. the quality and comfortable pool furniture and the fantastic views. Although close to 100 % occupancy. with 4 pools and spacious grounds we never felt it was crowded. We always rent bicycles (from a local bike shop) when we're here as Palm Desert is very bike friendly with miles of accessible uncrowded bike trails. Special thanks to manager James for his friendly and helpful service. This will probably be our last visit unfortunately as we have to sell our 180 resort points. If anyone is interested in purchasing please contact me.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

First of all, it is gorgeous. It's a desert setting with desert plants, flowers, trees, rocks and bunny rabbits running around. The golf course surrounds the complex and the mountains provide a beautiful backdrop to the vistas. It's quiet and elegant. The pools, though not large, are plentiful with jacuzzis at every pool site. There's a small theater where they show movies for free a couple times a day. The shopping and restaurants abound within a short drive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

After spending 5 nights at the Intrawest, I wish we had scheduled more. Hiking trails surround the grounds. It's adjacent to the Desert Willows golf course. Though not a golfer, it's worth visiting the lobby there merely to drool over the Chihuly piece hanging from the ceiling. The pools and hot tubs are fine and close to each unit. Grills are also nearby for those who like to cook out. We saved a lot by preparing breakfast, snacks, and a few other meals in our kitchen.

We booked a 2 bedroom but ended up with a one bedroom and an adjoining studio. So, we had extra kitchen areas and an extra patio with fireplace. It was spacious, beautifully decorated, and completely furnished. The only suggestions I would make are: 1) raise the microwave/convection oven to the top of the counter or mounted on the wall. In order to open and use it, one has to bend down or kneel on the floor...kind of inconvenient. 2) Have a washer and dryer in the unit rather than at the end of the building. I like tossing dirty clothes in and running a load when it's full. 3) Zumba and Yoga are offered although both are an additional cost. Other places I've stayed included them at no extra charge.

The staff was above and beyond helpful. I mistakenly left my computer's charging cord at home. Tawnie, at the main desk, graciously brought hers from her house to let me use during my entire stay. The Wednesday wine, cheese, fruit, and cracker social was a fun way to meet others staying at Club Intrawest. The staff mingled, took photos, and graciously served us.

There are signs all over asking all to abstain from feeding the ducks. We saw no ducks, but many, many bunnies, road runners, and ravens!

Ralph's is a grocery store within walking distance and carries most everything you'll need. Be sure to request a discount card. The savings really add up with it.

The serenity of this place and the friendliness of the staff and other guests makes me wish for a return visit.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chnich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a great time-share exchange! The facilities were great, the units spacious and beautifully decorated and furnished. The landscaping is outstanding, full of wildlife. We had a daily visitor, a road runner. All the staff was most helpful and friendly. The only critical remark we could make
is the microwave being installed underneath the kitchen countertop. A tough task for us seniors to get down on our knees and program it. Despite the heatwave of 109 degrees, we did never sweat. The pools are cool, well maintained. Love to go back anytime again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebsamen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

My wife and I just had another great 5night stay here in late Sept. We had a grand time as usual. That was expected, as Club Intrawest does maintain its HIGH STANDARD - our unit was maticulously maintainted; the upkeep of the premises was supurb! All the staff was friendly and helpful. They gave us good recommendations on local events and great directions!

Ours is a 1-bedroom unit upstairs (16-2), which has a large open terrace with a fireplace, facing the family pool below. The living quarter comes with a huge, nicely furnished living room, very bright with large windows; a well-equipped kitchennette with all the essentials, plus a separate good size ice maker unit! The bedroom has a large shower stall, plus another spacious, attached private shower stall next to the terrace as well! There's TV in the living room and bedroom, of course. The one in the living room is too small, however. The sinks and appliances are a bit dated, but clean and well maintainted. On the ground floor, each building has a laundary room, free. even stocked with free detergents!
- I'd give it the 5th Star, after the appliances are updated.

The Club House is huge, luxurious, and welcoming! It houses the adult pool and a Fitness Room, a small, classy movie room and an arcade! Right next to the Club House is another building for the SPA! The golf course is of championship caliber. Besides golf, there is also a tennis facility.

- A supermarket is conveniently located only 0.25 mi away. My wife took advantage of it and put our kitchen to good use a couple evenings!

SOME FUN STUFF TO DO AROUND TOWN:
- In addition to many fun stuff to do on the premises, there are tons of others to do outside!

- Almost everywhere in town is only 15-30min drive away. We visited the charming Old Town in La Quinta; had fun in the Farmer's Market and Art Fair (Thu/Sat evenings only) in Palm Desert downtown, where we were awed by the 26ft towering sculpture of "Forever Marilyn"; enjoyed shopping and movies in Westfeld Mall...happy hours everywhere including Mamma Gina on El Paseo...!

- To top it off, we spent a glorious day hiking in the magnificent Joshua Tree National Park (60+min drive to the "Yacca Valley" Entrance)

BTW:
- We are Intrawest Club members, and have visited its properties in various locations including Canada and Mexico, this one in Palm Desert meets Intrawest's high standards, and does have its own unique, desert charm. We like coming here to enjoy the summer and autumn!
- Non members can also make reservations, of course. Do try to make yours EARLY, very early!

Peterskis, Oct 2012
-//-

Room Tip: Get a room on the 2nd floor with a terrace facing the golf course! Stay away from FAMILY pools to av...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peterskis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here in August 2012. It was very hot, but the pools are kept nice and cold. The rooms are spacious and include everything you need while on vacation. I was impressed by the friendly staff. The resort is very close to groceries, and I even managed to walk there in the 40 degree heat. The resort also looks onto an amazing public golf course. I highly recommend staying here if you have the chance.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom with terrace is lovely and has an outdoor shower. Stay in complex 16 or 18 if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Einsteincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $134 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing