We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holy crap it was HOT!”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Holy crap it was HOT!”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

We went to the desert in AUGUST and knew it was going to be hot but it was beyond our wildest expectations. There were 11 of us in two 2-bedrooms and we had a FANTASTIC time. The resort was good and it was our second time there. One thing that is important is that there is only one 2-bdrm suite per building so our party was a considerable distance away from each other. Normally, it wouldn't matter but with temperatures topping 110 .. it sort of did! LOL! Anyway, it was fantastic with the only exception being the coffee makers.... three mornings and three unsuccessful attempts. LOL. small complaint but good filterless coffee makers are available at Costo for under $40 and this would be a good upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tooareist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

if you like seclusion, Club Intrawest Palm Desert is your choice. I stayed in an upstairs 1 bedroom and it was perfect for me, my boyfriend, and a friend who stayed in the living room. We stayed in room 25-2 and had a terrace that over looked the adult pool and golf course. The view was beautiful, but not breathtaking.

The room was above average, but nothing to brag about. You get a huge terrace with a fireplace, a living room, a full kitchen with small fridge and freezer, a good size bathroom, and a small bedroom. There was no tub in the bathroom, but there was an additonal shower outdoors that connects to the bedroom. We took advantage of this a few times, and it was amazing, until the bugs started to freak us out. I guess they were attracted to the water. When my friend checked in, there was no DVD player and the cable did not work, but was fixed right away when he called to report the issue. My friend slept on the sofa bed, which he said was fine, but he likes hard/firm surfaces. For more comfort, I would suggest an air matress. It was a bit small for him and he's 5'11". There is no oven in the kitchen, instead, you get a microwave that does convection cooking. We used it a few times for forzen pizza. It cooked the pizza like an oven, but seemed dry.

We went August 15-19, and it was hot as well as humid. There was a monsoon passing by during our stay and it even rained one night. However, it did pass after a couple of days and then there was beautful sunshine. Althought it was still hot, it wasn't uncomfortable heat. My friend described it as "vacation" heat. We walked around the resort 1 day and it was a pain in the heat. It's better to drive around. The air conditoner in the room is a bit confusing. It was preset to a program that made it 74 degrees at certain times throughout the day. If you don't change the program, or the tempertature manually, it will be above 74 in your room all the time. During mid day, even if you set the temperture lower, the temp will stay around 73-74 in our room. It was pefect at night. Guess it was too hot during the day to cool off the room like we wanted..

We used the gym once, and it was nice. The movie theater was BIG, but we didn't get a chance to watch anything on it. However, they were offering 2 shows on Saturday night. The game room was nice and all games were free. We saw tons of wildlife during our stay, including an owl perched on top of the parking lot. There were also roadrunners and bunnies.

If you want to party, this place may not be for you. During our stay, the resort was very quiet and when my friend and I went for a swim in the adult pool, it felt like we were the only ones talking. But if you DO want to party, right accross the street is the Desert Springs Marriott and that place looks like a New York/LA resort with an awesome pool with bar, numerous stores, a beatiful lobby with bar as well as birds. I think I may try that place next time to compare.

Overall, if you want a quiet, relaxing, private getaway with your significant other, this place will meet your needs. If you're looking to party and absorb the engery of the people around you who want to do the same, you will hate this place.

PS - every thursday night, there is a street fair in downtown palm springs. You should definitely check this out!

Room Tip: Request to be by the adult pool. The bigger adult pool is all the way in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EverInCabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is a true gem. When you enter the lobby to check-in, the reception people look like they're really happy to see you. Every exchange with hotel staff is pleasant and polite. Other hotels need to take note of the training that this company does because it is working. We went to dinner at the Marriott across the street and couldn't wait to get out of there and run back to our beautiful and peaceful desert oasis. You're not just a room number here -- you're a treasured guest! I hope it will always stay like this!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lalawoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Once again, we had a wonderful stay at Club Intrawest. Even in the incredible heat, this resort does not disappoint. All of their pools are equipped with "pool chillers" to keep them cool and refreshing in the summer desert heat. (I assumed "pool chillers" would be standard now at all desert resorts, but we found out the hard way that this is not the case, when we stayed recently at the Marriott Desert Springs Villas, see separate review)

The resort is immaculately maintained, the units are perfectly equipped and spacious and the staff is at or even beyond the quality you would expect at the four season or Ritz Carlton. They will really bend over backwards to accommodate your every need.

The resort has a real movie theatre (complete with a top of the line sound system) a FREE arcade for the kids (and adults too!) with real arcade games (not just a simple Wii console like many other resorts) and is located on Desert Wollow Golf Resort (which I a must play, no mater where you stay in the desert area).

We always look forward to coming back to this exceptional desert oasis!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank storels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed at INTRAWEST during the second week of July and had an upstairs, 1 bedroom, end unit. Temperatures as high as 117 degrees F were reached during one day that we were in Palm Desert. Specific + and - include: 2 showers ( w/ no shelf or wall hooks) but no tub/ high tech key encoded key entry/ complimentary coffee in lobby each A.M./ 2 flat screen T V's/ inadequate "bar size" refrigerator/ extensive DVD library of films for either in house movie theater or to borrow for playing on DVD player in room/complimentary popcorn for 2 evening films @6PM and 8PM/ user friendly high speed WIFI in room/ complimentary washer/dryer in each building/ 4 swimming pools (2 adult/2family).

RALPH's supermarket is nearby and has membership cards available for sale prices.

Good access to I-10 if traveling out of area or driving in to resort.

Very competent/helpful staff at front desk.

Room Tip: Long set of stairs to 1 bedroom end units on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west hills, ca
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We were lucky enough to visit the property this week with friends who are owners. Wow! The place is so well maintained and has everything one would need. Our 1 bedroom suite was beautiful and overlooked the golf course. It was very hot during our stay but the misters and air conditioned rooms and lobby made it pleasant enough. We actually got up early enough to take advantage of the tennis courts. The staff is very friendly and professional!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kdaywesthills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

I'm writing this review while staying at this beautiful property. We are HGVC owners and we decided to try out an Intrawest property at the last minute. Boy are we glad we came to Palm Desert. It's July so the temp should be around 110 or so but it never got above 100 degrees during our stay. I guess we got lucky. They don't sell any food here so you need to leave the property for food or go to Ralph's Supermarket next door and stock up on food. We cooked almost every meal and saved a ton. If you are not the cooking type, plenty of restaurants to choose from just a few miles away from the property. We stayed in a one bedroom upstairs with our 11 year old daughter. Definitely spacious enough for the three of us. It feels really secluded here and is very quiet. Lots of wildlife, cottontail rabbits, jack rabbits, roadrunners, bats and other desert animals. The staff here are the friendliest I've come across. If you are a golfer, the property is on the Desert Willow Golf Course. Beautiful view of the golf course from our unit. They have 4 pools here but we spent most of the time in the main pool. They could use a slide or some other water feature for kids and kids at heart. For some reason there were many Canadians visiting the desert. Maybe because Intrawest is a Canadian company. Very friendly people from the great white north. We're leaving in a couple of days but will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Don K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Property: Embarc Palm Desert
Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing