We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CI palm desert - a Studio Suite”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Have noticed very few reviews on the CI palm desert studios.

First, the club itself was great, clean, well appointed with a modest fitness room, a number of pools, good golf course, and all a reasonable drive from Palm Springs.

The studio themselves are reasonable square footage, but oddly designed. Much of the floor plan is devoted to a long hallway and very large bathroom/closet setup. This leads to a long, narrow feeling. The kitchenette was really quite badly laid out with almost no work areas. They could have easily placed storage shelves or cupboards above the sink area.

The bed was comfortable. The lighting adequate and Internet access ok, if a bit pokey at times. The adjacent suite was separated by a rather not sound proof door allowing racket and chatter to easily transmit through between suites.

Still, we managed for five nights in the adult area and would return. These are passable studios but not great.

Room Tip: If you want quiet stay away from the adult area
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank xj6response
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Embarc Palm Desert
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 241 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Celebrating various Left Coast family events led us to the best bargain in the area. Thanks to our RCI membership, we were able to get a two bedroom condo, complete kitchen, outside pools aplenty and even free laundry! No daily maid service but no charges for parking, a total of 11 people able to visit without extra $$ and a fab staff who responds instantly. Only ding is children using adult pool but that was parents fault. Place appears brand new and beds (even sofa) were great. Having seen the first intrawest in Mexico, Palm Desert is equally great!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamesMaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My family and I were blown away how nice this property was. We stayed in a one bedroom upstairs unit overlooking the family pool. Room was amazing. Huge terrace, outdoor shower, comfy couch bed for little ones, well appointed kitchen, comfy beds. The club has a small movie theatre that you can either pick a movie from the library at the club or bring in your own movie to watch. We did this twice in our three day stay and the kids loved it!! They have an arcade with all the games on free play for the kiddies also!! Air Hockey, Fooseball, Golden Tee, Ms. Pac Man , Galaga etc.... The property was extremely quiet even though they were supposedly full occupancy. I loved the fact that I could either golf at the Desert Willow (2 amazing courses) or drive to Ralphs with out leaving the property!!! You get an a mazing discount on golf at Desert Willow while staying at Club Intrawest also. The room keys were actually coded wristbands that made it so convenient for getting in and out of the rooms. Just wave your wrist in front of the lock and .....presto.....open door! VERY COOL!!! The oversized terrace was awesome.......2 lounge chairs, four chairs and a dining table, an outdoor fire place....truly awesome. We can't wait to stay at this property again!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tnsna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Palm Desert in the second week of May. We stayed in a two bedroom lock off with a friend of ours. Our building was 17 Willow Ridge, and we were on the first floor.

The property is beautiful! The landscaping is superb. It is quiet and private. Very luxe. Like others, we shopped at Ralph's and ate like royalty. We grilled steaks on the outdoor bbq. We socialized with other guests. We slept well, ate well and relaxed. Spent time at both adult pool and main pool areas.

We will go back. It's only a matter of times. I'm still dreaming of the hot days and starry nights.

Room Tip: If you can get the second floor facing the golf course it's worth it. Ask for space close to the...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hellbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Check in clerk was very pleasant and helpful. She answered all our questions, as we had never stayed at the property before. She also gave us helpful golf information for our next stay! The choice of having an adult vs children's pool area was nice. We were in a one bedroom unit that also included a pull out sofa bed. We were on the second floor. The view was beautiful, overlooking a golf course. Having access to a full washer and dryer was very convenient.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank giban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

Just returned from a week at Club Intrawest Palm Desert - April 28 - May 4.

Resort was great. Very clean, very friendly and helpful staff. We had a lower level, two bedroom unit which was very nice. We loved the look and feel which fit the desert landscape perfectly. The room were large and well appointed. There is only a breakfast bar inside, but a nice table and chairs on the outside patio along with a gas fireplace which would be nice for the cooler nights. We requested a room near the adult pool which was nice and peaceful. The open showers were different and very large. Overall the units were well appointed and very easy to live in.

Location was great - there is a nice Ralph's grocery store just across the street with everything you need. We used the outdoor grill one night to cook steaks and eat in. This location makes it very easy to get around town no matter if you were headed to Indian Wells or Palm Springs.

As for eating out - if you like margaritas you need to go to Armando's on El Paseo - home of the "one and done" margarita. Good food as well. We also enjoyed The Nest for a few nights out. Great people watching!

Room Tip: Depending on your situation - request a room by the adult or family pool. Lower units have a very n...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We returned for a visit and found the grounds to be even more beautiful than before. Great front desk staff and views of the mountains. The views are sometimes spoiled by smog. The units are decorated in bright colors and tiles. So refreshing as so many timeshare properties are so neutral and dull.

Room Tip: The terrace units with out door showers have great views.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bandogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $141 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing