We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for families”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, BC, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for families”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We stayed five nights with our 3 kids and it was a great respite after several days in Disneyland. I had one of those experiences where I walked in and was immediately happy with our choice. Was really impressed with how spacious our two bedroom unit was (was actually two adjoined rooms so had the bonus of two fridges) and how well-equiped the kitchen was. With Ralph's right across the street couldn't be easier. We had an end unit with laundry right beside us, all supplies ready to go for guests. Family pool area was great, kids made fast friends with lots of other kids playing volleyball and marco-polo for hours. We had also looked at suites at the Marriott across the street, this was about $200/night less expensive, we absolutely made the right choice. Only wish they had a bar/snack service at the pool.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AandB1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    64
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
81
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
505 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

We rented a one bedroom unit in early April. We were in a second floor unit with a large terrace overlooking the golf course. The terrace has a lovely table on it for dining or enjoying a glass of wine. The living area is spacious, for breakfast there's a "counter" with 4 stools. The kitchen includes the basic equipment including a four burner gas stove top, fridge, dishwasher, ice maker. There's also a microwave. The bedroom was a bit "small" but the bed was comfortable. The living area included a large sectional sofa. The one strange thing - the access to the next door unit was via an oudsite corridor that runs along the bedroom - noisy. Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travelfun001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

This place is absolutely the best. The décor and architecture are so impressive. If you have an appreciation for the details…this is the place. I also was so impressed with the common spaces – great amenities and because there are so few units, they are never crowded. We were there in peak season and the hotel was 100% occupied, but we often felt like we had the place to ourselves. And with separate adult only areas, I didn’t have to worry about my kids having too much fun in the pool, arcade or private movie theatre. I could go on and on…truly one of the best places I’ve ever stayed. AND THE STAFF IS EVEN BETTER!!!!!

Room Tip: If traveling with kids, ask to have your unit near the "family pool".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Just got back from ten glorious days here. We've been members since 2000 and never been disappointed at the quality of the product and the service. Really first class. The place was full but so peaceful and relaxing. Full marks also to Saul and his team that maintain the grounds so well. Never done the desert before but can thoroughly recommend it. Not too bad a journey for us Brits. Bit of a long flight to LA but its only an easy two hour drive and you're there. Don't be put off by the fact that most of the drive is urban. Once you drop down in to the Coachella Valley its like another world . Plenty to see and do as well as sitting round the glorious Club pools!

Room Tip: If you going without kids ask for a unit around the adult only pool (18+)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldbutkeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pound Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband, 15 year old daughter and I just returned from a week at the Intrawest Palm Desert, our first time in the area. The staff at the resort were friendly and accommodating. The setting at the edge of a open area with unobstructed views of the surrounding mountains was spectacular. I particularly enjoyed the desert landscaping and the architecture of Intrawest. The 1 bedroom suites were nicely appointed with warm, playful colors and a comfortable living area; taking an outdoor shower while gazing up at the snow on Mt San Jacinto was a uniquely pleasurable experience. The adult pool area was a serene place to be after a day of hiking in the canyons and at Joshua Tree National Park. The only complaint we had was with the relatively soft mattress and the light that filtered in through the shutters in the morning. We look forward to returning to Intrawest in years to come.

Room Tip: In the future we will probably request a first floor unit to make better use of the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luna24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our first trip to Palm Desert and we didn’t want to leave. From the absolutely amazing staff – to the large one bedroom rooms – with the large patio it was paradise – to the other fabulous guests it was one of the best hotel stays ever!

Can’t wait to go back :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kari l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

This was our first visit to Club Intrawest and we were impressed. We had a one bedroom condo which was spacious with a great kitchen. Although there was not a large refrigerator, there was a bar sized refrigerator, a separate freezer, and a separate ice maker. All of these appliances were of a good size. The kitchen also had a stove and convection microwave with more than adequate counter space. There was a rain shower in the bedroom, as well as another tub and shower in the bathroom. Every thing was very clean with house keeping service once during our stay. The adult only pool was a great feature with very comfortable chaise lounges that included cushions. The fitness center was very good with new equipment and not very crowded. The furniture and bed were very comfortable and the grounds were immaculate. There is a nice patio with table outside and a great surprise was the gas fireplace.

We did have a few very minor maintenance problems, basically we needed some instruction on how to work things. Pat from maintenance helped us on two occasions. He was to our condo within a half hour and took the time to instruct us on the intricacies of the appliances. He was very helpful and pleasant. He gets our nomination for employee of the month. Thanks Pat.

We have been visiting Palm Desert for about 13 years and we certainly intend to return to Club Intrawest. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and plan to return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the property are near the adults only pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
3.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Property: Embarc Palm Desert
Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing