We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful as always” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful as always”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed 1/2 -1/4 and had spectacular weather (mid 80s). Once again Club Intrawest in Palm Desert exceeded our high expectations. From the staff, (Alicia was specifically attentive in placing us in a wonderful villa) to the grounds, to the wonderful pools, to the villas themselves this resort is the definition of serenity and relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank storels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    58
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
77
96
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
victoria bc
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

We use most of our points here during annual pre christmas getaways,,now that the internet wifi has finally been modernized to the point of being fully functional,, I'll try for a few more improvements,, yeah a regular oven would be great but how about the furniture, the only seating in the greatroom is that abominal sectional with bottom cushions like concrete and back cushions like fir lumber,, after all these years just looking at those things makes me wince,,, and those wrought iron bar/dining highchairs crikey,, ugly, uncomfortable and I'm always stubbing my toes on them pulleeess ,,
as you can guess with that furniture we won't be watching much TV ,, but oh well the program package the resort has available is pitiful,,, one PBS channel and 30 or so abominations abflexor, sort of channels or I kid you not 'leave it to beaver' get with it raise my annual dues or cut back a bit on the great gardening, trap and relocate /steralize the rabbits,,

otherwise a fine getaway for dec when the points go a bit further

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank quietfreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
228 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This was our 6th visit to the Palm Desert Intrawest resort. We were particularly pleased to see that James is the manager here. The last time we stayed at the Intrawest Sandestin resort, James was the manager there and went out of his way to make sure we were well looked after when our 6 week granddaughter was taken to hospital (double pneumonia but fortunately made a full recovery). We love the location, layout, and atmosphere at the Palm Desert property. 4 pools(2 adult) and numerous spas. Although 90% occupied it didn't feel crowded as it is so spread out. Since our last visit all the outdoor pool furniture has been upgraded-.very comfortable and decorative. Service from all the staff very helpful, friendly and accommodating

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jakobj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

The only thing that was annoying was that the kitchen had no oven. the fridge and freezer were small. The bathrooms were heavenly. Having two twin beds rather than full size beds was weird but the room did have a pull out sofa that was very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chloe_Chrystil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We are Intrawest members and August 2009 (not 2011) was our first visit to Palm Desert. We stayed in a 2nd floor, 1 bedroomed self-catering apartment with outside patio over looking the adult pool at Palm Desert for 7 days. The apt was clean, comfortable and very well maintained; as was the entire resort. The grounds & landscaped grounds gardens were beautiful. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgeable about the local area and attractions and we did day-trips early in the day to explore the area and shop. We spent every afternoon at the adult 'refrigerated' pool. Yes, ...the pool had a cooler which keep the water nice and cool and refreshing in the 114' F heat. After the first day, we wore wide brim hats in the pool so we wouldn't sunburn our faces & heads. We used the gas BBQ area on 3 different occassions. It had lights for evening BBQ-ing and a seating area plus was well maintained and clean. As the supermarket was only 2 or 3 minutes away, we found it easier to pick up fresh fruit, vegetables and bread, etc. each day on the way back to the resort. We took our own cooler with ice from the insuite ice-machine to the pool each day using the plastic cups provided. While very hot in August, the air conditioning in our unit worked very well. The wild rabbits were huge & road-runners fast ...and a constant source of entertainment. We are looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmaccoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We had a fabulous time at this hotel. We enjoyed the pool area so much it was hard to tear ourselves away and go exploring. Staff that we had contact with were very friendly. We loved our room which was a two bedroom suite, it was so spacious the children spent a lot of time playing hide and seek. The pool area near our room was nice too and lots of families ended up sat around chatting in the pool and hot tub. We did have a really early alarm clock wake up in the kids room from the previous guests but it taught me to always check the alarms in the room because it may not be done for you. One thing that would have made it perfect for us would have been a bar at the main pool area. My son loved the arcade and my daughter loved the kiddie pool.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMUP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

I have been going here the last five Summers with my family, and have a lot of good memories here. The grounds are beautiful, I love the ducks, rabbits, hummingbirds and other wildlife you see here. The rooms, are cool, spacious and shady. Patios off your unit are nice to relax on when the sun goes down. Beds are okay, but we always bring our own sheets (their bedding is not what most 4 or 5 star hotels would have). Ground units near the family pool have been very enjoyable and relaxing.

The last time we checked in however, we had a horrible experience. Not only when we checked in very late and were given the room key, could we not unlock the door to our unit (which means a drive back to the club house for another room key, then again when the second one didn't work)... then when they finally sent out a handyman with us to open the room, it turned out to be occupied. He quietly tiptoed out and closed and locked the door behind him. Poor guy was as shocked as we were. Apparently the couple was only supposed to be in the lock-off, but went into the main unit. I like how they (Mr. front desk guy) tried to blame the guests, instead of their own staff who obviously didn't prepare the room correctly... what's with that?

Because the ground floor unit we had requested was now 'occupied', they could only give us a room that night on an upper floor (stairs with kids and bags and no direct access to the pool). It had a tub in the middle of the bedroom (not what I want for a family vacation) and an outdoor shower on the patio. The indoor shower didn't work properly and had scalding water (with no temperature control). When it is past midnight with two little kids in tow, the last thing we needed is this gong-show of a check in and a sub-par room. I also didn't want to take advantage of their offer to clean the room we were supposed to get (kicking the couple back into their side of the suite), and move the next day. Too much upheaval for us and the other couple.

The sun came up each morning to fill the master bedroom with light and heat (there are no curtains, just blinds), and I realized that the other rooms I had been in always had the master on the front or would get the evening sun. There would be no sleeping in past 6 am in this room. There are a lot of units over the large complex, and obviously some of them are situated better than others. We were nowhere near the family pool, so we could enjoy scorching ourselves on the walk to the pool with the kids. It was a real 'trip' to get to the pool, instead of just running out the patio door to the pool, and returning for a drink whenever the kids wanted. You can call the front desk to send out a golf cart & driver (to get you to the pool), but it is very inconvenient.

In conclusion, because this is a time-share you can only 'request' rooms and nothing is guaranteed. I don't know if I can vacation like this anymore -- as at least if I book into a resort, what I pay guarantees my room type and often the location too. Some of the rooms are fantastic, but I can see how someone can be unimpressed by a stay here. If this was my first experience here I would have never returned.

Meh. Double meh.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank epicureangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.6 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
No photo provided
3.0 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Property: Embarc Palm Desert
Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing