We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the desert landscaping”
Review of Embarc Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embarc Palm Desert
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Towanda, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Loved the desert landscaping”
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Our family of four (2 adults and 2 children) loved this club. It was very quiet and peaceful. Seemed like we had the place to ourselves but we knew there were others there. Very secluded and yet close to so much. Staff always greeted us with a warm hello and were always helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    63
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
79
101
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

This was my second time at Club Intrawest in Palm Springs. The previous stay we had a lock off room (they consider it a two bedroom), which I would recommend if you are more than two people. On this stay I was not sure if I would be joining my parents, so they got the one bedroom. Alright, so what I liked about the property: good size, beautiful grounds, basic amenities, the room was cleaned twice during our 8 night stay, access to laundry room, dishwasher in the kitchen, activities at the club house (yoga, wine & cheese, movies), free internet access. What I didn’t like: the walls are definitely thin, our front door did not close properly (you really had to slam it), bar fridge instead of a full fridge, showers are very odd (one is in the bedroom all out in the open), small fitness centre, there aren’t any running paths and you are not allowed on the cart path during daylight hours. I don’t golf so I can only tell you what I have heard – that the golf course was very nice but expensive. I would not recommend this resort if you have children, as I believe they would be bored. At 24, I was by far the youngest person at the club.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yashinfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2010

Four adults stayed at the Club Intrawest last week. From the moment we walked in the door, it felt like home. Clean, charming, and beautifully decorated with all the cooking supplies you would need. Beds were very comfortable. Very large bathrooms and showers! Lovely outside patio with fireplace was a great spot for cocktails and a short distance from the pool and hot tub area. Great mountain views in the distance and the Desert Willow golf course, on which this property borders.
The best part was how convenient the location is. When turning off the Country Club Drive, you feel you are entering an oasis. Yet you are within walking distance of a grocery and drugstore and a slew of fabulous restaurants. No need to drive far for a great meal. If you are golfers, the Desert Willow courses are among the best in the area. You also get a very good discounted price when showing your room key. The clubhouse at the Club Intrawest has tennis courts, a covered basketball court, bike rentals, a movie room that in addition to movies, had two NFL games on the large movie screen on Sunday afternoon. Nature walks and other activities were offered as well. A small spa and yoga classes were available. Free WiFi in each unit as well as a computer and printer were available in the clubhouse. The staff was very friendly and helpful.
Can't wait to return. Next time I would ask for a two bedroom unit with two king beds. One of our bedrooms had twins.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KYinMAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

This was my first time at a Club Intrawest and the staff was great. We arrived late in the evening and the manager on duty was very gracious and accomodating. The 2 bedroom unit was very nice but a bit dark. The ligting was very low and the southwestern colors were dimming. The rooms were great. The facility was nice. The pool loungers were a bit dated and they could have used a few more as most folks spent time at the pool. The setting is lovely and we all had a great time.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn2354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2010

We went to the resort at the beginning of August (very hot, but better than Calgary this summer). My husband and son managed to get 5 rounds of golf in at various resorts. Great time to go as the price is cheap for golf! As long as you can stand the heat.
The resort was brilliant, we have been members of Intrawest for 11 years and are always keen to try new resorts. Loved the tennis courts and the pools (they were nice and refreshing considering the air temperatures). Our unit was perfect, we overlooked the golf course and had a lovely terrace. The ice maker was a bonus, it meant we had to have a few margaritas!
The bbq areas were great for meeting some of the other guests and fabulous for cooking dinner. The staff at the reception were very helpful and pleasant.
Overall, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgaryGlobalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2010

This resort is fantastic. The grounds are amazingly well kept, the rooms are wonderfully appointed and spacious and the staff is second to none It's not a party resort, you'll need to bring your own drinks down to he pool, but it is incredibly peaceful and relaxing. If you have kids they have two family pools, if you didn't bring kids along, they have adult only areas complete with their own pools as well. The movie theatre is great, the arcade is wonderful (and free) and the golf resort the resort sits on is top notch. We can't wait to go back to this resort again and again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank storels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We recently stayed at Club Intrawest for the first time in Palm Desert the first week of November. It is located on the Desert Willow Golf Course and across from the Marriott Desert Springs Resort. We booked at 2 bedroom lock off through RCI. The condo was well maintained, and had beautifully manicured grounds. The resort has a very nice check-in area with an adult pool, fitness center with locker rooms, and theater. There was complimentary internet for guests and the condos are Wifi ready. We stayed in building 16- ground floor. Our patio had a nice table and outside fireplace. Buildings 12-16 surround the family pool and barbque area. There were no children at the resort at this time so it was very quiet. Our unit also looked out onto one of the Desert Willow Mountain course's fairways. I highly suggest if you are reserving a 2 bedroom that you request the lock off style. The 2nd bedroom is basically the hotel unit. It has a mini kitchen and king bed and large bathroom. If you reserve a regular 2 bedroom, the 2nd bedroom would have 2 single? (double beds) and no mini kitchen. So the 2 bedroom lockoff has 2 master suites with the main master having an extra large walkin shower off the side of the bedroom. We found the kitchen to be a little under stocked. It could have used a few more pots and pans, bowls etc. The blender was not a full size one, only big enough to mix 2 drinks. The refrigerator/freezer is not a regular sized one either, is split, and is built into the cabinet area. There is no regular oven in the unit, only a microwave convection oven.!! We were quite surprised about this, and it changed our cooking methods for the week. Also there is no dining table inside. The patio table has to be used for dining or the bar area with 4 bar stools. I guess the idea was that most guests might be eating out more than cooking in. There was a Ralph's supermarket a few blocks away. These things did not deter us from having a wonderful stay at Club Intrawest. The location is great and the property is beautiful. We would definitely stay there again. Also, guests receive 15% of golf at Desert Willow.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.7 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
2.8 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embarc Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embarc Palm Desert

Property: Embarc Palm Desert
Address: 1 Willow Rdg, Palm Desert, CA 92260-0619 (Formerly Club Intrawest - Palm Desert)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Embarc Palm Desert 4.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Embarc Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Intrawest - Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Hotel Intrawest Palm Desert
Intrawest Palm Desert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing