We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Courtyard by Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Palm Desert
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We like staying in the Marriott chain and have stayed in the Courtyards often as they seem to the ones that are newer or updated. This one in Palm Desert has been here awhile but the overall condition of the property was good. Our room was spacious and comfortable. The bed was somewhat soft but we still had a good night's sleep. They definitely need to do something about the pillows. Old and out of shape. The bathroom was clean. We were wanting our room cleaned earlier than they were getting around to it but never had it done before mid afternoon even after we requested it. And the Bistro wasn't the best. On the last morning of our stay, I bought a smoothy that was all ice. When I took it back, explanation was that they were out of bananas, so I guess they substituted ice. Why bother. At least it should be taken off of our bill. And the breakfast sandwiches are just all bread. Not our favorite way to get the morning started. So go to a McDonalds if you're staying at this Courtyard. Street noise is pretty bad so request a room away from Frank Sinatra. Will definitely stay in the Residence Inn next door next time if they have rooms available.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing Frank Sinatra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScNebraskatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H, Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for staying and rating our property. Your feedback in greatly appreciated and we will take the proper measures to insure this does not happen to future guest. We hope you will return to our property so we can better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

146 - 152 of 261 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have become fans of Courtyards on our recent visit to USA. This one was was a little disappointing. Two glasses of wine $20 when we have been used to Happy hours elsewhere. The place lacked atmosphere. We eat both dinner and breakfast elsewhere, and decided to move on after the one night.
The room was fine and it was nice to enjoy a little sunshine by the pool. No problems with noise as suggested by some. Location is good to move around the area.

Room Tip: Our overlooked the road. No problems with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raymond L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H, Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for staying and rating our property. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We will look into adding our wine selection into our Happy hour prices. We hope that you will return to our property so we can better serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

When I have to travel almost weekly to Palm Desert, I want to find a place where the hotel management and staff recognize you as a person and not just a transient guest. Staff at Courtyard Palm Desert are friendly, helpful and responsive. All the staff recognize me when I walk into the property, it does make me feel special. Management has changed from Marriott to a new management team. The new management company has certainly made some improvements in services. It brings back free coffee in the morning and provides cookies at the end of day at the lobby. They try to have happy hours and during the football season to attract guests to enjoy the spacious and comfortable lobby. They also gives some token gifts like a bottle of water and cookies when you arrive the first night. These are all good things. Though I hope they will provide free breakfast to frequent business travelers like me.

The rooms are comfortable and spacious. However, the WiFi is spotty depend which side of the property the room is. Rooms on the east side of the property have better receptions then those facing west. I noticed that the hotel just changes out all the towels which are much better than the old, thin, wore out ones.

All in all, the property is up-to-date and I have enjoyed my stays here.

Room Tip: Rooms on east side of the property have better WiFi receptions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H, Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to see that we are your home away from home. Our goal is to provide each guest with excellent service and I am proud to see that our staff met our and your expectations. We look forward in seeing you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is not along the freeway, yet still easy to find! I wasn't woken by trucks or a train. Price is reasonable. Rooms are clean and comfortable. The breakfast menu is good and includes Starbucks! (Not free.) Staff is friendly. Definitely my top pick foot this area.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for staying with us in Palm Desert! I am happy to hear you were able to catch up on some rest. I hope we will see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

Great location. You have a variety of places in the area for eating, entertainment or just a relaxing walk in downtown We were gonna take a cab to the casino but since it was an hour wait we drove. Was not that far, but make sure you have a designated driver to drive you back. Was New Year's Eve so was a little tough on the not drinking part. LolThanks for a pleasant stay

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mishelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackie H, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard in Palm Desert. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

My son and I stayed here on our way home from the Christmas holidays with family. The location is convenient to the freeway. The hotel is clean and the service was good. Check in was quick and easy. On the negative side the beds aren't great, probably time for new mattresses. Definitely time for new linens. The sheets were super thin and the towels needed some fabric softener. I had to have maintenance up to fix a clogged toilet. That did get me two coupons for free dinners but we had already had dinner. We also had the joy of a false fire alarm which of course happens but it took forever to get it to stop. The worst part was no complimentary breakfast. Dumpy motels give you that but here you have to pay. Luckily they were nice enough to exchange my useless dinner coupons for breakfast. Overall it was fine for a place to stop over night but I can't recommend it for a longer stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susanono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while in Palm Desert. I am very sorry to hear of the troubles during your stay. The mattresses are routinely changed throughout the year. All Courtyards by Marriott are unfortunately not allowed to issue complimentary breakfasts due to company regulations. I am happy to hear the front desk was able to exchange your complimentary dinner for breakfast. I hope you have safe travels throughout the holidays and have a happy new year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

As a Marriott reward points member and Vacation Club owner I did a lot of research prior to staying at this location and I am relly glad that I stayed here.

Jackie made check in lightning quick, the room was spacious and clean, and even though the hotel is close to the highway, I did not have a problem with noise. A minor technical issue I had were with the WIFI. Being in the furthest room from the lobby was perhaps why the WIFI was occasionally problematic, but both computers in the lobby were working fine plus it is Christmas time./who needs WiFi for God's sake/..

Although I did have these minor technical issues, I don't think should detract from, what otherwise was, a great experience. Can't understand people complaining about matrasses..etc.
For the comfort, location, staff and overall value I give the hotel top marks.
Did I mention five diamonds service I received from Jackie Hurtado..? Prior to my stay here I stayed in London and Heidelberg, Germany..nothing to compare with. What makes Marriott and Ritz is the employees../not the matrasses/.
Jackie, Marriott and your GM should be proud to have you onboard.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool and not facing Frank Sinatra way.. ask for great dining on El Paseo- Des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! I will share your praises with Jackie personally. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#15 of 23 in Palm Desert
362 reviews
1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Palm Desert

Address: 74895 Frank Sinatra Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-2055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range: $121 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sparkling-new renovations, plenty of creature comforts, and a simply unbeatable location: the Courtyard Palm Desert is a veritable oasis for guests on business trips, weekend getaways, and family vacations. With a recently renovated lobby, a gorgeous onsite restaurant, The Bistro, and an array of modern amenities including tennis courts, our Palm Desert hotel suits even the most seasoned of travelers. There's a wealth of activity outside our doors, too. Indulge in jaw-dropping views of the Santa Rosa Mountains. Go for par at over 30 golf courses nearby, including Desert Willow Golf Resort, or try your luck at area casinos. A shoppers' paradise awaits nearby at the renowned El Paseo Shopping District, while natural beauty abounds at Mt. San Jacinto, easily accessible by the Palm Springs Aerial Tramway. Come see what's in store at one of the top hotels in Palm Desert, CA, then book your getaway online today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Courtyard Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Courtyard
Palm Desert Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing