We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed of Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Palm Desert
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Reviewed December 1, 2013

There was a time when we looked forward to staying at any Courtyard no matter where it was. You would always get consistency no matter the location. Those times have changed. And keep in mind we are Marriott rewards members and will be changing to Hilton Honors. We just spent two nights at this Courtyard. The first thing we noticed in coming in from the parking lot was a towel on the floor by the entry door and dirt and sand all over the floor. We got to our room and whereas all hotels nowadays have a refrigerator this room had none. We have stayed at Hampton Inns recently and each room is welcoming, lobby areas and hallways are clean, they provide breakfast, hot coffee and tea all day and Courtyards provide nothing except lemon water in their lobby. They have not kept upn with the times and offer their guests nothing. They seem to think by modernizing their lobbies that they are catering to business people but it is a joke. The rooms offer very few plugs for folks to plug in their electronic items and just no longer have the refreshing look they used to in the past. We will never stay at a Courtyard again until they decide to catch up with the competition. There are so many other choices in Palm Desert. It is no wonder why this hotel is one of the lowestrated in the area. As mentioned earlier we are quitting Marriott Rewards and switching to Hilton Honors. We feel hotels like Hampton Inn understand their customers better. They don't pretend to respect their clientele by prettying up their lobby with a phony modern facade and totally neglect the rest of the hotels. Kids running through the halls and taking over the Fitness Center for two days. We will not be returning to Courtyard.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank lin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your stay with us. I do apologize for what you found during your arrival as this is unacceptable to me. We will review this with our staff to ensure that this does not continue. Our hotel is equipped with portable refrigerators and microwaves that can be brought upon request. It is our property and company goal to promote the very best service available, thank you for providing us with valued feedback. We hope you have safe travels during the holiday season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 253 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2013

I stayed here one night for business. The clerk was helpful. I stayed on the third floor with window towards parking lot and couldn't hear any outside noises. The bed was fine, the t.v. was large, and room was clean. They also have a full service café with starbucks coffee, wine and beer. There are also computers available and a printer. Only downside was that they have wall units for AC and mine was incredibly loud and rattled. No perks but other than AC, served its purpose for the price.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FamilyontheMove_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Palm Desert! We appreciate any and all feedback from your stay. We routinely service and change out our AC units; we will make sure to look into the room you stayed in to ensure the issue is fixed or unit is changed out. Thank you for taking the time to post your experience, we hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I was recently in Palm Desert for a conference and needed a convenient, resonable priced place to stay for a few nights. Overall experience at this hotel was great. The location was great. Very easy to get to and find, lots of parking, within 5-10 minute driving distance to great shopping and attractions. Bed was comfortable and the room had a big TV. I liked that the room had a little couch and chair and a desk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMPets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Thank you for staying with us here in Palm Desert! I appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay. I hope we see you again in the future! Have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We needed a hotel close to a friend's house & this fitted the bill. It wasn't anything special & looked older than I expected. It didn't seem as nice as other Courtyard properties we had used. Although on a main road it was quiet to sleep. We had a room overlooking the pool area. The bedroom was a fair size but the bathroom was poorly planned. It was small with a washbasin outside & the bathroom door opened against the washbasin so was totally impractical. We find that invariably we are both trying to get ready at the same time & having bathroom facilities big enough to share is crucial. We didn't have the breakfast package or eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pearl65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate any and all feedback on our services. The restroom facilities are a bit difficult to navigate when multiple users are present and I do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I hope you wont judge use based on this one experience and will allow us to better serve you in the future. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you have safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay here. The beds are hard as rocks. I have never slept on a more uncomfortable bed. These are not the typical Marriott mattresses. It's like sleeping on a cement slab. I will never stay here again sorry to say. I didn't get a wink of sleep.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank BlueBear4356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We appreciate any and all feedback from our guests. I am very sorry to hear about the bed situation. We change out our beds regularly and will make sure that we are up to date on our mattress rotation. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was just okay. For the price, it did the job. If you're looking for ambience or luxury, look elsewhere. Also, beware of "breakfast included" upon check-in. The hotel has a funny way of telling their guests that breakfast is included with their room (three separate times) then trying to charge their guests upon check-out. We called "shenanigans" on being charged and got the breakfast taken off the bill but only after strong insistence by us and basically being called liars by the staff. If you stay here, keep your eyes open and be sure to check your bill!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank somebeach54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us in Palm Desert. I do apologize for what happened during your stay with us. Breakfast generally is not included with our hotel however there are room packages that include it. I will be reviewing this with my staff to ensure that mistakes like these do not repeat themselves. Thank you for taking the time and letting us know what happened. I hope you have safe travels on your next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The location is good. The lobby is new and on-par with the newest Courtyard line but the room was not. It was clean and comfy but not as modern as the courtyard I stayed in the night before. Reina, the front desk clerk was awesome and delightful. The pool area was really nice, spacious and well maintained. I would stay there again but prefer the newly renovated courtyard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrbynum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnathanKennedy, General Manager at Courtyard Palm Desert, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while in Palm Desert! We appreciate you taking the time to post a review for us. We hope you enjoyed your stay in the desert and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#14 of 23 in Palm Desert
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Desert
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Palm Desert

Address: 74895 Frank Sinatra Dr, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-2055
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range: $99 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Courtyard
Palm Desert Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing