We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Pleasant stay.....” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Courtyard Palm Desert

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Courtyard Palm Desert
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Long Beach
Level Contributor
207 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Our family of four stayed here for an "overnighter" in order to see family for Christmas. We had a room with 2 queens but brought an air bed for one of our college age sons as they won't sleep together any more. The room was quite adequate for our needs, enough room for the air bed and we were comfortable for one night. I would say that I do not prefer the "in wall" climate control system they have in place as it's quite noisy during the night. It is controlled by a wall thermostat, however the fan is loud....I would guess this has more to do with the age of the building, as most newer Courtyards have ducted systems which we prefer....much more quiet. This Courtyard has a small "bistro" which sells coffee, breakfast, lunch or snack items with many tables a sitting areas to use. It also has a 2 station I.T. center for clients to use. Looked like a nice pool with 2 hot tubs but we did not have time to use them. Though a bit dated this Courtyard was a good choice for our needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    87
    51
    20
    15
See reviews for
43
72
25
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

I liked the room. I found the bed to be very comfortable. Free wifi, free parking. The lobby area was very nice and updated. Staff was nice and very accommodating, allowing us to check in early. Nice view from our 3rd floor room (but blocked by a palm tree!). The bath towels were horrible and needed to be replaced. Nothing but an Applebees within walking distance, so you had to drive into town for your meals.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cappy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
80 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

I'm usually a fan of the Courtyard hotels as they're a great value and super for quick visits or business travel. I've rated several Courtyards around the country "Excellent" in the last year or two here on TripAdvisor. So when I booked a room for one night in Palm Desert during the recent holiday, I had good expectations. I had stayed here once in 2009 and was surely thinking they must have updated the rooms by now, as they were pretty bad back then. Well, they haven't at all, as far as I can see, and the room I was given.

To be fair, let me first say what I do love about this Courtyard: The brand new lobby is fantastic, the food/breakfast and mini-market was great, the staff and service were wonderful overall, and the pool looked super for those with kids. Love the free internet. Great location too as it's just a minute off the I-10, walkable to many food places and markets, and near most everything Palm Desert has to offer.

But, the rooms... oh my. If they at least just updated the scratchy sheets, horrible beds, and flimsy towels, this could be a great hotel. The bed looked like it was set up on a board with no box spring, and was pretty hard to sleep on. The linens were scratchy and had an odd smell. the towels were very thin and I agree with the other reviewer who said they'd be more appropriate for washing dogs or cars. The furniture is really old (although I don't really care about that). There are a few odd design buggers in the room such as the miniscule sink counter space (see photo) and the closet door you can't really open (see photo).

We were given a room with a spa tub in it which is kind of funny -- it takes up half the room and you're sleeping with an old medical-looking bathtub next to your bed. (See photo.) I doubt anyone really uses these! They should just get rid of them and give us more space. There were very few outlets (unusual for a Courtyard hotel), and the wrong room number was listed on the phone near the bed (not good for an emergency).

But what really sent us over the edge was seeing what the mattress looked like. We weren't trying to even look... but the sheets don't fit properly and by the morning both corners of the sheets had rolled up on us, exposing the mattress. (Why is there no mattress pad?) Ewwwww! Well, see the photo here, but yes there was dried blood and other weird stains. We were totally grossed out.

This hotel needs to update its rooms, or at least its beds. People stay at hotels to sleep. The rest is a bonus. If they updated their beds we would likely stay here again and again.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a spa room - it's really a joke - i don't think anyone would want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sologirltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

A very nice and clean facility with a very comfortable bed along with a wonder view in all directions.
The staff was very accommodating. They are completing renovation. Easy access off and on the freeway. It was a very relaxing weekend. Quiet neighborhood with convenient restaurants.
I would stay there again. Only complaint was no complimentary breakfast.

Room Tip: 1st floor has 10 ft. ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dwayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard one night in October and it was a great getaway. We were greated by a friendly receptionist upon our stay and she offered a complimentary continental breakfast the next morning due to the rennovation that was in progress. The rennovation of the lobby did not bother us at all. In fact the new decor was very modern and upbeat. The room was very clean and modern and we had a view on the top floor overlooking the pool. The queen sized bed was comfortable and we were offered a late check out the next day since we wanted to lounge by the pool and shower afterward. Everything about our stay was excellent and it was not far from the shops on Via Paseo Drive and Agua Caliente for some gambling afterward. Thanks to the management and their staff for making this a very worthwhile stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top level so that you don't hear any noise from anyone above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelerLaMirada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I visited the area for a wedding and this was the perfect place to rest between activities. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, and the pool was quiet and relaxing during our stay. The fitness room offered all we needed -- a couple of treadmills, some dumbbells, and a bike. All the staff members we encountered greeted us with a smile! The hotel was under construction during our visit. The staff went above and beyond to not let the guest experience suffer during this transitional time – they did not encroaching on amenities (they actually offered additional amenities like complimentary breakfast during construction), they displayed appropriate signage to redirect guests, and the contractors did not disturb the guests with messes or noise. As for the location – it was a breeze for us to get everywhere we needed to be and it was a short 20 minute drive to the airport (it was 4:30am).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShuggieP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here about two months ago and liked it so much that I decided to bring my parents so they can unwind.. It was a good experience because it was very quiet which was what we were looking for. I loved the jacuzzi and the pool because it was empty. I know they were going through a construction but it didn't matter much to me because the service was good. The only thing I didn't like was that they only had one waffle maker in the breakfast area . I know it was free but I felt it was time consuming waiting to make your own waffles. Overall, I will come back again because of the peacefulness I found here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glendy32272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#12 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Palm Desert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Palm Desert

Property: Courtyard Palm Desert
Address: 74895 Frank Sinatra Dr, Palm Desert, CA 92211-2055
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Palm Desert 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard Palm Desert reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Palm Desert Hotel Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriott
Palm Desert Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing