We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Management Should Be Ashamed of Itself!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Desert Breezes Resort
Reviewed July 5, 2007

What a huge disappointment! To begin with, I specifically requested, and was promised, a full-size crib for my 18-month old. When I checked in at 9:00 pm, I was presented with a play-pen. Apparantely the resort did not have anything else, even though I checked and double-checked when I made the reservation. At 10:30 we discovered that the fold-out couch in our room would not open. Maintenance was called in and said it could not be used. At mid-night, the couch in the room was changed so that everyone might actually have a place to sleep. Additionally, some of the screen doors in the room were broken; the ones that were not, would not lock. The air-conditioner in the bedroom would not cool anything down and no one could sleep in the bedroom. (Temp outside was about 100 degrees at night). Lucky that we had that couch replaced at mid-night.
The swimming pool had broken pieces of tile at the bottom that we discovered with our feet, the resort provided hardly any activities for children, and, to cap off a perfect vacation (we left a day early), the guy at check-out wanted to charge us $2.00 for a receipt! This is one place we will not be revisiting.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank apb1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 152 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2007

Four women were celebrating a 10-year anniversary of our circle in mid-May, 2007, with a weekend at Desert Breezes. We had a lower floor two bedrooms, two baths, a pleasant living room with pull-down-bed sofa, and a fully equipped kitchen (including microwave, coffeemaker, and icemaker, along with a large refrigerator and stove). The suite was immaculate, the staff were very considerate, and we had the quiet we needed for our gathering. We ate breakfast outside on our private patio (the temperature was lovely in the early morning), swam in the pool and sat in the jacuzzi, all before the heat of the day. The air conditioning was accurate and quiet; the TV also offered a DVD which we used for a film that was part of our agenda. We each expressed our delight with the accommodations, and I would be pleased to return. The reservations were made by another member of our party--I'll ask her how she booked our stay. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Inkslinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

My husband and I exchanged our timeshare and stayed at Desert Breezes from January 12-19. We did a late check-in on Friday night, and the lady working the front desk was extremely rude. We were given a room on the first floor, and the heater was not working. A guy from maintenance came to check it out and said a specialist would have to come in the next day and do some work. Therefore, we would have to sleep in a cold room with no heating. I called the front desk and asked for a new room. Instead of working with me to find a new room, she asked if we had "dirtied" the room. She informed me that there would be a cleaning fee if anything in the room had been touched. It was around midnight, we had just finished packing our bags and settling in, and we wanted to get to sleep. Her first concern should've been satisfying the resort's patrons (us) and accommodating us after their' heating system failed. Eventually, we got a new room. But this required waiting an hour, asking to speak to the supervisor, and driving out to the front desk to exchange keys. The next day, we complained to the supervisor and gave the name of the uncooperative resort employee.

Besides problems on the first night and with that employee, our stay at Desert Breezes was fine. Our new room was smaller than the original room that we were assigned. But it was clean and heated. The activities coordinator was also very helpful in suggesting activities to do in Palm Desert. We enjoyed the weekend Farmer's Market and the various hiking trails. The resort also had a heated pool, jacuzzi, and rec. room to keep us entertained.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank CharleyandMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2006

There's nothing terribly wrong with Desert Breezes. The rooms are clean, the units are ok, the pools are fine, there's just nothing really wow about it. Everything is really dated and in need of some ooomph. The grounds are mainly dead grass right now, the units are 70s style with old tvs and outdated everything. There are almost no amenities or activities. Decent gym-not many machines but I rarely saw people in it. Everything is kept clean, it's just more on a Motel level than a desert resort. I wouldn't recommend this place unless you get a pretty dirt cheap rate.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank Justin7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2006

I was very nervous about going to Desert Breezes, Had heard it was not clean (by reviews) and overall looked aged. We had a great time - planning our next trip back - there is a pool for about every 4 condo units, ours was updated, I believe they were built in 1982-85. All four of us ages 50-62 loved our stay, utilized the gym and water aerobic class for all four of us. I 100% recommend this place. I think Desert Breezes is the overall community and "4 seasons" is the timeshare section & appears a bit newer. Go enjoy the quiet and location Room 411 was perfect 2 master bdrm and 2 mstr baths - with laundry. About 1500 sq feet in size - unit was stocked with what we needed.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vijocass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
COLORADO
120
Reviewed May 11, 2006

On the outside, this resort looks pretty nice, but from the inside it's a different story.

The units, and the onsite management, (including housekeeping and maintenance) are in desperate need of an overhaul. Upon our unfortunate arrival to the 2 bedroom unit, the 4 of us, (6 pp capacity) immediately noticed the dirty condtions. It was very obvious, even to the most forgiving person, that years of dirt had been allowed to build up. From the permanently stained walls and cabinets (inside and out) and microwave that was sticky/gummy with food, to the carpeted floors and furniture that had not been vacuumed or cleaned for a very long time. The smell of rotting foam rubber carpet padding, permeated the place. The refrigerator had a daily flood of water that accumulated under the drawers and ran out onto the floor. When the AC turned on, it sounded like a convoy of semi's coming through the place.

There were several safety issues such as exposed wires hanging out from 3 uncovered electrical outlets. We had to alternate showers, and toilets could not be flushed during a shower, because of the immediate scalding you'd received.

Both bathrooms were disgusting, with peeling enamel from the shower stall floor and the tub's floor and sides, and both were stained from years of use. Thick black mildew outlined the tile walls, with caulking faling out.

There were only 2 bathrobes in this unit for 6. We asked for 2 more, and they absolutely refused to give us any more, saying, "You only get 2, even if the unit is for 6." This is the attitude we dealt with throughout our week long stay.

Neither bedroom had a chair, mirror or table. The second bedroom had no alarm clock or TV, but both had been promised by the management before our arrival. The second bedroom had no nightstand of any kind, with only 2 very small dim wall lights. The furniture consisted of 2 twin beds and 2 small 3-drawer chests, and that's it. In this same bedroom, the sliding closet door was broken and was leaning against the wall.

The walls are extremely thin. We wound up listening to the TV below us (as in every word) until 3:30AM for several nights.

Each building has 6 units and one small hot tub. The black algae covering the inside of the tub, was so extreme, it was unusable. It need to be drained and scrubbed, but when we asked them to clean it, their answer was to dump more chlorine into the tub.

The topper was, they told us if we needed replacement towels before our midweek cleaning, (and I use the word cleaning loosely) we had to haul them 21/2 blocks down to the laundry room, next to the clubhouse. They proceeded to count the amount and type of towels we turned in, and replaced only those towels, then we signed for that amount. I asked for 4 addtional pool towels (you are allowed 4) and they made me feel like a criminal.

As you can imagine, we made a series of calls to the front desk almost everyday, for basic things (like a sponge and toilet paper) that should have been provided without asking. A few items were taken care of, but mostly WE were left to do the clean up and hauling towels etc. We were frustrated and tired of having to pursue another problem on a daily basis. We actually bought cleaning supplies to help with the living condtions.

Thanks to the Desert Breezes Resort, we couldn't wait to come home!

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2006

We have exchanged to this resort three times, and will be doing so again this year. The property is extremely well cared for, the units are well equipped and kept in good repair, and the staff is friendly. A car is definitely necessary.....but there is plenty to do within easy driving distances.

Stayed: June 2005
8  Thank JanGroshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
3.6 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Address: 77955 Calle Las Brisas S, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-8265
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Palm Desert
Price Range: $98 - $523 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing