We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like Bugs, this resort is for you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Breezes Resort
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Stayed here a year ago, was very nice but did see 2 bugs that looked like cockroaches. Decided to give it one more try.

Seemed nice in the beginning, but after going into one of the bedrooms, they put a 25 year old TV set in it, in a dirty white casing. Then noticed the DVD player was not working.

We then started to discover crickets/bugs in the kitchen and tile ways. We found a total of 32 bugs in 3 days stay. The worst was finding a cricket in the refrigerator, see the photo I uploaded here! Also there was an orange peel and a cricket in the bottom of the sink.

After the first night, we were awoken by people playing tennis at sunrise as our unit was right next to the tennis courts. Our unit was far away from the nearest pool/bbq which was a pain to walk to since my wife was pregnant. After these problems we asked the front desk to move us, and even though they had at least 2/3 vacancy, they said they could not move us because the computer assigned the room to us. Totally mad at that. To add insult to injury, the smoke alarm went crazy monday morning at 5 am beeping every minute because of a low battery. We ended up leaving 4 days early because of all these problems.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gplacers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2009

We've just returned from Desert Breezes in Palm Desert and it was great. For the first time ever we were asked which unit we would like in the complex. We had a lovely view of the main pool and the lake. The grounds are beautiful and the unit was very clean and comfortable. There was only ever about 20 people by the pool, so it's a quiet and relaxing place to be.
The weather was so hot and reached 102 degrees. The local area all looks very much the same but is very well kept. It's the only place I've been to in the US where there aren't bill boards every where. Palm Springs is not far away where you can take a trip on the aerial tramway for great views of the desert cities.
About 5 miles away in Rancho Mirage there is a shopping/eating complex called The River where you can visit the cinema, have a meal or just browse the shops.
We would happilly return to Desert Breezes. We were very content with every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carolanne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed there because our friends have a timeshare with this place. It's a bit dated overall. The grounds are nice, the pools are not bad, satisfactory. You can BBQ in the pool area, which is not the greatest since people do and you end up smelling the BBQ trying to relax. The rooms are old, but the price is right and you get kitchens. We had a one bedroom, which was nice because our child slept in the living room on the pullout and we had the master suite with its own bathroom. There are two bathrooms. Kitchen is fully equipped and we ate breakfasts and lunches there after doing some shopping in the local grocery store. There is a pretty nice gym, family area with games. It's a good place to stay but in no way is this a luxury resort. I think it used to be a while back. We got a killer deal of $80 a night, so it was worth it. I'd say anything over $125 is a bit too much for this place. There is no room service and no maid service though, they clean before you come and then every 3-4 days or something like that. We did not get maid service with 3 nights we were there.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VictoriaLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We went to stay at Desert Breezes in August and had an unbelievable experience. I actually had an individual enter my unit while I was in it and stole my wallet and cell phone. I did not fully realize this had happened (I think I was in shock), until later that day, and the proper authorities were notified. The manager said they could do nothing and were not responsible. Okay, but they are responsible to have adequate security. The problem with my room was that the sliding glass door had no functional pins to prevent an outside entry, thus an intruder got in.
Desert Breezes used to be an okay place to stay, but it has not been kept up. Not only is this unsightly, but it is dangerous. If you do absolutely have to stay here, I would suggest that you get a second story room and check that the windows and doors can be bolted from the inside and that everything is in good working order .

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank IndigoSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2008

We (four of us) stayed in a one-bedroom condo (Rm. 164) at the timeshare gated resort of Desert Breezes. Our condo was on the second floor overlooking a pool area (there are 3 pools, exercise room, putting green). While there were a couple of minor bothersome items needing repair (noisy A/C and a sliding door that was difficult to open and close), we enjoyed our stay. The weather turned VERY hot but the large pool was wonderful and refreshing. A gazebo area had misters to keep those outside of the pool cool. The jacuzzi was great at night and the stars were incredible! Our condo had a small balcony overlooking the pool. Check-in went smoothly with a very friendly staff, the grounds are beautiful, and parking was convenient. If you are looking for the Palm Springs atmosphere, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a peaceful place to unwind and get some sun, Desert Breezes is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank retiredatlast57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

My wife and I wanted a location very close to the Indian Wells Tennis Center where the Pacific Life Open (tennis) is held yearly. The resort is well within walking distance as it is just across the street (Fred Waring). I have stayed at Desert Breezes three times, each time being entirely comfortable. I have stayed in a one bedroom and a studio. The one bedroom is, obviously, more comfortable and more like home having a separate bedroom from the living area. However, if all you're doing is sleeping and eating breakfast in your room, then a studio is perfect. I recommend an upstairs studio or bedroom as they have balconies on which to enjoy an evening cocktail. There are many tennis courts and swimming pools and hot tubs. There is also an exercise facilty. We found the staff to be very cooperative and prompt to act if necessary. Yeah, Desert Breezes is a good deal.

CQ
Tulsa, OK

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Quantrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2008

We stayed at Desert Breezes for the Pacific Life Open Tennis Tourament from 3/11-14. It's a great location, literally walking distance to the tennis facility. Overall the 1 bedroom with a pull out couch was great for 4 adults and 1 baby. Major stores are down the street for eating out or bringing back food to cook. I would highly recommend this place. We'll be making this trip annually.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank tuf_travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
4.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
4.8 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
3.6 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Address: 77955 Calle Las Brisas S, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92211-8265
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Palm Desert
Price Range: $96 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing