We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mediocrity. Why buy a timeshare if this is the best they can do. I've stayed in nicer BestWesterns.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Breezes Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desert Breezes Resort
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Mediocrity. Why buy a timeshare if this is the best they can do. I've stayed in nicer BestWesterns.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Checked in last night the agent was not professional, only the beginning. Studio is out dated, SMALL, uncomfortable Double bed not Queen, no closet space, ridiculous small bathroom inc no towel hanger by sink. Cumbersome table chairs in this already TOO8 small studio. Landscaping both growing into room at slider and dying/dead planters! TV can't be seen from couch which btw is nothing special either. Add in carpeta that should haveI been replacedtoo some yearson ago. MEDIOCRITY. DISAPPOINTED be forewarned.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Califswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would greatly appreciate the opportunity to address your specific concerns. Please email us at dbr@tradingplaces.com with your name, dates of stay, and unit number so we can resolve these issues in a timely manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    46
    17
    9
    9
See reviews for
44
44
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Coronado California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We own this resort and vacationed here in the past. (We like to hike)- We stayed in a one bedroom with 2 baths.. Fully equipped kitchen- including storage containers with lids which I like- as we always cook in the condo.
Within a block on Washington Street are shopping centers with grocery store, pharmacy - Resort has pools - and hot tub and an extensive fitness center. CHARGES FOR WIFI- $3 DAY , but free wifi in the fitness center and Starbucks a block away on Washington Street.. Bedroom large and comfortable- one bathroom has tub and the other a shower-- adequate space with patio off living room and bedroom....
There are grills and game room- would be a great place for a family to stay with swimming pools and quiet, private resort.. It is in a complex with private homes whose residents share the fitness center and tennis courts-- There is golf near but did not use and do not know any details about golf option. They have day trips in the area and lots of information on attractions... Adequate parking and gated community.....Temp over 100 during the summer-- so visit any other time for good desert weather..
We always enjoy staying here and professional staff- only drawback is paying for wifi.....

Room Tip: You can hear people on second floor-- so would be quieter upstairs--- but on first floor have 2 pati...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinevalues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for being an owner! We appreciate your honest comments and look forward to welcoming you back "home" soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The resort was great for spring break, the week prior to Easter. Even though the resort was completely full, the pools always had plenty of open lounge chairs and it wasn't a problem getting on a tennis court. The crowd was mostly older, with some family gatherings spanning three generations. There's no real kid activities, nor a restaurant or bar, and it's not walkable to anything, so I took off one star. Still, much better than the Hyatt Regency and Renaissance Esmeralda, we checked both out one afternoon and couldn't believe how crowded the pool areas were.

Pros:
Not noisy at all
Pools weren't overcrowded, and had plenty of lounge chairs.
Five tennis courts were very accessible
Nice, small kitchen allowed us to eat in when we wanted
Big deck on our studio
Lost of nice gas grills on the pool deck and by the hot tubs
No resort fees.

Cons:
Not walkable to any stores or restaurants
Although the resort has lots of sidewalk areas between homes/rentals, they do not allow scooters, roller blades, skate boards, etc.
Seemed like a retirement community. Not a lot of activities or things going on.
No restaurant or bar. Not a problem, but would have been nice.
No longer has ping pong tables.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonchien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Breezes and reviewing our resort! We hope you had a wonderful spring break and will stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

DESERT BREEZES 2/23/13 – 3/2/13

We really enjoyed our week’s stay at Desert Breezes. The resort would be considered one of the smaller ones, particularly compared to the several Marriott developments in the area.There are not a lot of onsite activities (restaurants, etc) though there is an excellent exercise facility. It’s very nicely landscaped, very walkable, easy access to the units from the roads, super clean, and quiet. It has a wonderful location, right at the intersection of two major roads, and is minutes away from a great golf facility, the College Golf Center (it’s a huge driving range and instruction center).

The 1BR unit itself was large and very nice, though the bathroom area would probably be considered somewhat dated (no biggie for us). The buildings seemed to provide maximum privacy and maximum view from all units; at least that’s what we had from ours. The staff was helpful and not pushy. Immediately upon our arrival home we set the wheels in motion to go back – this time for two weeks. We had some initial indecision, and took this locale on the urging of our SFX contact lady. It was terrific advice.

------Zach Kaplan

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Picker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you for your comments. We appreciate your patronage and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, California
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

.We spent a week in a studio. It was fairly large with good kitchen facilities, a divider between sofa sleeper and bed, and comfortable bathroom. Bedding was exceptional and queen bed was very comfortable. The unit was very clean and well appointed with flat screen tv. The tv was set up to be directly viewed from the bed. It would have been helpful to be able to swivel it so it was viewable from the sofa too. All the staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely recommend this resort to other travelers and will return again.

Room Tip: The studio is large for two but would be cramped for sleeping four although there is a sofa bed in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cdncarol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of Desert Breezes! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This is my 2nd review of this property and my 2nd year in a row to stay here. I must also disclose that this is a timeshare location that I purchased about 18 months ago at auction for $13.04 (yes, this is not a typo). So on my first 2 week stay last year, I was pleasantly surprised. This year was the same, with some improvement too. I stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The property is older (80's) but the grounds are very well maintained. There are 3 pools, and about 10 hot tubs. There is a clubhouse with 5 tennis courts on the grounds too. It is located a 3 minute walk from the Indian Wells Tennis Gardens.

PROS

Self contained suites with full appliances: full size refrigerator, oven, dishwasher, blender, toaster, hand mixer and all the cooking implements and dishes one might need for an extended stay. There is also a safe and 2 robes. The suite has a flat screen TV in the living room and an old style TV in the bedroom. The couch is pull out and can sleep 2. The internet used to be a BIG negative, as the bandwidth was very low and they blocked all the good sites like YouTube and Facebook. This is now remedied, but you must pay $15 a week. Parking is still free.

CONS

Pool area closes at 10 pm and is now onerously enforced in all hot tubs and pools. Seems a bit early/and or silly to have such rules, but the clientele here go to bed early. Bathrooms toilet areas are very small, large people will have an issue with this (you can barely close the door when you stand in it). The walls are super thin, and you have to keep the noise down, lest others here your personal business.

Don't expect a wild time, just expect quiet times; the average person staying here is at retirement age. All is all, another great couple of weeks. I'll be down again next year in Feb/March.

Room Tip: Do not attend the free "owners night" wine and cheese party Thursday: it is a pitch for ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linescrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review the Breezes. We look forward to welcoming you "home" again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been an owner at Desert Breezes since the late '80's. My husband and I love coming to the resort so much that we are trying to buy a second week. The resort is beautiful and well maintained. The staff takes good care of the resort and is very attentive to guests. Desert Breezes is in a great location, convenient to restaurants and shopping. We usually eat out at lunch time and cook at home in the evenings. We have two bedrooms and two bathrooms and often have friends and family come for part of our stay. I use the health club, which basic but convenient.

Room Tip: If you like to grill, choose a lower unit for easier access to grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TradingPlacesTPI, Manager at Desert Breezes Resort, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
We're glad you are one of our valued owners and enjoy the property and resort! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Breezes soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
4.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton La Quinta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
3.5 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#13 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
4.4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Breezes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Breezes Resort

Property: Desert Breezes Resort
Address: 77955 Calle Las Brisas S, Palm Desert, CA 92211-8265
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Breezes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated at the base of the Santa Rosa Mountains you'll find 10 buildings clustered around a beautiful water feature, and surrounded by lush landscaping; Desert Breezes Resort condominiums offer exquisite luxury and comfort. Each Mediterranean-style villa has a fully equipped kitchen and cozy furnishings, and the resort includes multiple pools and spas and on-site clubhouses. It's your perfect home-away-from-home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Breezes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Breezes Hotel Palm Desert
Desert Breezes Palm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing