We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

I stayed in mid-August in a studio in the Jasmine Court section of Villas II. While Jasmine Court is very remote from the rest of the property, I preferred to be a bit secluded since we were traveling as a couple. I was pleasantly surprised that by our limited kitchen which had nice counter space and a mini fridge with a separate small freezer. There were kitchen sets for 2 people which was ample. I realized during the stay that we really needed all those amenities because there are no dining options in that part of the Villas II and no room service.

I was a bit concerned about choosing Villas II over Villas I. I found our villa to be quite clean unlike other reviews. Other than a strange smell coming from the fridge area that was a minor annoyance (possibly a cleaning product odor?), the fridge and rest of the kitchenette was spotless as with the rest of the unit. This is not a hotel, so don't expect daily housekeeping - your unit won't be cleaned during your stay and you'll need to re-use your towels.

We played golf several of the days we were there on the Palm and Valley courses, opting for 6:30 or 7:00 am tee times, which enabled us to finish our round by late morning. It was actually quite pleasant out in the early mornings. You have to pay to park your car at the JW Marriott where the golf courses are, so instead we opted for the shuttle, which we had to call for. The wait was usually about 20 minutes. After golf we we would relax in the JW lobby and get a bite in Starbucks. Unfortunately there weren't any other options for a quick snack or bite.

Jasmine Court has a separate pool, which is small. On the weekends it seemed a bit too crowded as everyone was in the pool because it was too hot for many to just lay out. But mid week was very quiet. There is a clubhouse next to the pool and it took me a few days to realize that there is a front desk in the clubhouse for Jasmine Court guests - open 8:00 am - 4:00 pm. I believe the clubhouse in the main part of the villas is 24 hours. Like another reviewer, I have to call out Dolores who managed the front desk there, as she was especially helpful, very hospitable and lovely to talk to. I had to get on several conference calls one afternoon and she found me a quiet room in the clubhouse. She also ordered us lunch that was delivered from the restaurant in the main part of the Villas. I used the fitness center in the Jasmine Court clubhouse a few times and found the machines to be in good condition. I also did laundry on the back end of our trip - it was free to use the machines and housekeeping left us one single use Tide, which was a nice perk. It's so nice to bring a suitcase full of clean house home from vacation...

The views of the mountains are spectacular and the Marriott grounds are meticulously maintained. We took a couple of day trips on the days we didn't play golf, including to Joshua Tree.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank intervaltraveler_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    332
    87
    44
    38
See reviews for
426
329
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2014

Nice location, an oasis in a desert. We had a two bedroom villa/suite - spacious and well equipped. Few leaks and blocked drains but once reported fixed immediately. Would recommend for a relaxing break.

Room Tip: Can be noises if you have heavy footed neighbours above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cruser58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2014

Long-time Marriott Rewards Member XXXXXX957 with stays for both business and pleasure trips. My husband, best friends and I include a Marriott Resort stay in Palm Desert at least three times a year. I arranged a 3-night's stay this past weekend to celebrate my husband's birthday. He and our friends love the proximity to casinos and shopping while I enjoy reading in the pool located closest to our building.

As always, the front office staff were friendly and accomodating. We were placed in a 2-bedroom located in the 7700 Building of Jasmine Court. Unfortunately, there were bothersome flies both inside and out this weekend, possibly due to a dumpster located within our parking lot. The pool, though large, was warm, stagnant and became cloudy towards the end of each day, collecting a film and insects on the deep-end closest to the small putting area. The temps reached a minimum 106 each day without relief from the heat when entering the pool. On the second day of our stay, with many guests, including children in the pool, 2 "pool guys" poured gallons of solution which smelled of bleach directly into the pool at 30 to 40 foot intervals. When asked if we should be concerned and leave, we were informed it was safe to remain in the pool.

The pool is unmonitored and though employees can be seen walking from the Club House, they never ventured into the gated pool area. I enjoy spending 5 to 6 hours each day in the water while reading a book. Children and adults often dove into the pool singularly or in pairs and not always in the deep end. I often asked which section they preferred and moved away accordingly. I enjoy bringing my beverages in a plastic cup to the pool area. There were quite a few glass bottles which made their way to the pool area, including next to the outdoor shower and within feet of the children's pool.

We were able to use the 15% Marriott discount card made available to us upon check-in at Babe's, one of the local restaurants located at The River.

Room Tip: Rooms 7709 and 7710 located on Jasmine Court have a nice view of the golf course, but is located nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherrie_PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2014

As we got to the villas we were told that out room it's not ready and they will give us a call when it is ready ...after 45 min of wait we decided to check again only to be told that the room won't be ready for another 20 min ...this was after the check in time (4:00pm)... We asked for a dif room since we weren't gonna wait another 20 min in 108 heat...we've already checked the kids area and that was a disappointment ....finally we got to the room 1 h after the check in time , only to find the bed sheet dirty not to mention that you have to walk to the pool , we asked for a room near the pool since we got kids n the closest pool it's a 10 min walk.
The pool it's full of dirty towels on most chairs n food left overs and the water sticks .... This is the bigger pool haven't checked a small one yet .... Don't think we will ... Can't wait for this to be over ... What a nightmare!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pho3b3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is our first time visiting the property. Normally we stay at the Westin. A friend recommended this property so we decided to give it a try. The rooms were nicely decorated, spacious and I love the huge tub. We really liked that there was a choice of many different pool areas and that there were many activities for kids/teens And adults to participate in. We would recommend this property and would return again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2014

we had a corner room with a beautiful view of the grounds and pool. with private patio. they served wine while you waited in line to check in nice touch, staff was all very courteous and helpful. we only stayed one night would highly recommend to family to get away many activities to do if you want.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colorado2Connection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall,Pa
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Recently stayed at Marriott Desert Springs Villas II.. Rooms were very spacious and well appointed. Master bedroom was very nice and had two big closets. Beds were soooo comfortable, including the queen pullout sofa bed. It definitely was one of the most comfortable pullouts that I ever felt. The kids actually wanted to sleep in it ! The staff is very friendly and helpful. Grocery store (Ralph's) and Rite Aid Pharmacy are right up the street. Very convenient location. Kitchen area had everything we needed to cook. Pools areas are very nice and they are always bringing fresh towels. Very nice resort!

Room Tip: After reading reviews on Tripadvisor, I asked for a corner unit, top floor with either mountain or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing