We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Most Beautiful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Most Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Our family stayed for almost one week in a two-bedroom suite and have never had a larger and nicer room. Equipped with a full kitchen, laundry area, patio that faced the pool, immense bathroom, etc. we could not have asked for better accommodations. To top it all off was the view of the golf course and trees with the mountains in the background. It was picture perfect. The facility also has large fitness centers and easily accessible tennis courts. Only drawback was that it is located a bit far from Joshua Tree.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harvey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    530
    340
    88
    45
    40
See reviews for
444
333
15
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonoma County
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

You can have an agreeable stay in Palm Desert at the Marriott Villas II. We have stayed several times - the biggest attractions for us being the 1 or 2 bedroom condos with full kitchens, great at the price for our family with grown children, and the relaxing vistas of the golf course and mountains. We stay in the separated Jasmine complex - good for us because it is quieter. But if you have small children, you probably want to stay in the main Villas II, or Villas I complex which are walking distance to the activity center and main pool.

There are some negatives here. As some reviewers have noted,the property is not as well run as a standard Marriott hotel - front desk staffing can be inexperienced and overloaded. And there is a steady, but not overbearing, sales push for vacation club "membership."

Also the Villas recently were refurbished in a somewhat retro bright orange motif that I found odd and not overly comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas II! Our team is happy to hear your family enjoyed their luxury villa and the beautiful views. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the service at the front desk and will share it with the appropriate managers. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmon Arm,B.C. Canada
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have just recently spent 2 weeks in a 2 bedroom unit at this property. We are owners but weren't able to use our time last year so we were very pleasantly surprised with the newly refurbished look. The carpeting was new, the furniture was new,the window coverings were new, the decor bight and cheerful. What wasn't new was the attitude of the staff. At every point of contact they were so pleasant and asked if there was anything they could do to make our stay better.One week we had friends with us and one week we hade both of our 92 year old mothers visiting with us. We took both of them on the shuttle to the hotel. The staff there all acknowledged them by saying hello and asking them if they were enjoying themselves. They remarked that everyone was so friendly. They also enjoyed the movies that they show in-room every night at 8:15.we also took in a movie at the theatre at the Shade- the recreation center.
We had asked for a lower floor suite to facilitate their decreased ability to climb stairs and we were accommodated. Check in at the gate was so easy!
We had been on an extended trip prior to arrival and had arrived a day early, carrying with us the contents of our RV fridge and freezer and the staff happily stored our cold and frozen items in their fridge and freezer. As well, they stored our luggage.I can't say enough about the friendly service we received everywhere.
We ate at the Fish grill one evening and the food was excellent. The weather was very cool for Palm Springs and our window seats proved to be chilly but they turned up the heat for us!
We also had lunch one day at the Palmera pool and our waitress,Lettie, was very good. She brought us a little extra guacamole for our quesadillas as they didn't have any sour cream. The special drink that day was margaritas which were excellent.
High marks for a job well done!

Room Tip: We stayed in room bldg. 575, great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed in a studio room which is like a large hotel room that has a mini-kitchen. It was very convenient and the BBQ grills outside were cleaned well every day. So, we were able to do quite a bit of cooking between the grill and the microwave in our room.

There are lots of pool areas and the day I decided to visit the pool, I went to Palmeras pool, which is probably the largest pool area. It has several pools, games, quick service dining and several spas. Why someone let their kid poop in the pool, I don't understand, but the rec pool in this area had to be closed. After that, I was a bit too disgusted to use any of the pools.

Staff is very friendly here in the market and at the quick service dining at the pool. They were all 110% at their level of customer service and seemed to be genuinely happy.

Check in left a lot to be desired. We were given a map and an activity sheet, but nothing was explained to us about the property. We saw a shuttle driving around and noticed shuttle stops on the map, but we had no idea how often it ran or if we could even use it.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room away from the basketball courts. We heard the thump of basketballs whenev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohc962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Our team appreciates your positive review of Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas II! We are thrilled you enjoyed your spacious villa and the many resort amenities. While we are disappointed to hear your check-in was not excellent, we thank you for bringing this to our attention. We look forward to your next visit with us for more desert fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Stayed in a one-bedroom villa on the top floor. Had a large balcony with a great view of the golf course and mountains. Quality of furnishings was good - granite countertops, very spacious, huge bathroom, all appliances (fridge, stove, dishwasher, microwave, toaster). Bed was firm but comfortable but the pillows need to be replaced. Free Wi-Fi with good connection speeds. Minor issue with one dirty coffee mug and what looked like dried food on the countertops but overall cleanliness was good.

Location is excellent and it was easy to drive around to several golf courses and restaurants and shops. If you choose to cook in the unit, there is a grocery store nearby.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBorg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Have stayed here before, but much nicer this trip since the remodel of the units. There are no bad locations, but I like the second floor, a bit better view of the golf courses, and lovely green rolling area that surrounds the villas. We have a two bedroom, and this includes a full kitchen, living area, dining area both inside and out, and a huge deck. If you want to BBQ, there is a very convenient grill directly beside the villas. We have always spent Christmas at home, but this year we decided to try something new, and this might just be the best answer going forward, time with friends and family but still some very nice opportunity to relax and enjoy the holiday instead of just "working my way through it". Ladies, isn't it time to let someone else cook that turkey? If so, Sarah Joseph at the Concierge desk will help you with your every wish, she is delightful, smart and willing to go that extra mile. Allow her to assist you, you will be so glad you did.

Room Tip: There are no bad villas, just decide if you prefer ground or second floor and you are good to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparkboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

Very nice two bedroom unit. Well maintained, everything was fresh and seemingly new. My only complaint is I was under the impression that our unit was located on the golf course when in fact there was a road between us and the golf course. I would not have paid the rate I did for the crummy location and view of construction, fork lifts, etc from our balcony starting bright and early in the morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVCI_Executive, Manager at Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for providing your Tripadvisor review of Marriott’s Desert Springs Villas II. While we are so happy you enjoyed your overall visit, we regret the view was not what you expected. Your feedback is important to us and we look forward to exceeding your expectations on a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
927 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embarc Palm Desert
Embarc Palm Desert
#8 of 22 in Palm Desert
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing