We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Family fun”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Timeshare was nice. The pool was great for the kids. A little chilly for December, but kids had fun. The recreation building was great for indoor play with two Wii's, internet area for teens and outdoor climbing wall. The wall is not high but it is fairly wide.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wlomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    337
    87
    45
    39
See reviews for
439
330
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I consider myself a pretty patient person. I gave Marriott 3 opportunities to impress me with from every indication (online) is a great place to stay.

Service: Every time, and I mean *every*. single. time.....we checked in the room wasn't ready. Dead bugs or ants on the floors, cobwebs on the lamps, HAIR on the pillows. Come ON Marriott. The 3rd time we went, they gave us the wrong room keys, it was 120 outside and it took them 45 minutes to get us new keys. Prompt! When I booked the room on our second visit, I wanted to surprise my wife with food and champagne so I ordered it with the room and told them when we were checking in. Nothing was ready, no food, no champagne. Pathetic.

Environment: Decent. The pool temps are consistently, ludicrously high. I would wager somewhere between 86-88 degrees. Why bother with the hot tub? Good luck cooling off if it's hot outside. The rooms (if clean) are nice looking. I enjoyed watching bunnies scamper around on the golf course in the afternoons. Nice greens and barbeque pits. I was able to sleep well here, I didn't find it terribly noisy.

Overall: Absolutely NOT worth the price. I will never return. If I'm dropping ~$350-400 a night, there are FAR better places to stay in Palm Desert/Springs. Until they roll over management or the housekeeping staff this place is an dud.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This was my second time staying at this property. The rooms were great, make sure you get a golf course view. This is a great place to come if you just want to get away and relax! I would also recommend asking for a room closer to the main pool area if you are planning on going back and forth from your room to the pool a lot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Marriott Desert Springs Villas II happens to be our home club, but we don't use it all that often (because I hate the flight from DC to CA). It's been 5 years since we were last here, and I am pleased to say that the property has been impeccably maintained. Right now, the main pool is being redone, so you must go to one of the smaller pools on the property. I was disappointed that pool was closed, but I was pleased to see that Marriott is doing such a fabulous job of keeping things well-maintained. Each time I had to call the front desk for anything, my needs were met promptly. Would I recommend this place to a friend? Yes, in a second. It's a lovely property, well-maintained, and convenient to all the sights and activities that Palm Springs has to offer. This place deserves 5 stars!

Room Tip: We like to try to get a west facing room so that we can watch the sunset over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lhglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was disappointed in this property. The grounds are very nice, but the constant noise from vehicles and service associates made this stay less than satisfactory. I asked for a ground floor unit hoping to alleviate the struggle of carrying luggage and golf clubs to an upper floor. Much to my dismay, we were placed in the first building right next to the Shade recreation center with no view and a LOT of noise. This was the first time that a Marriott associate didn't advise of the situation and give us another option. I called first thing in the morning and asked to change rooms and was told that they were at 100% capacity and could not change us. When I asked the associate if they could keep trying and to let us know later in the day if anything was available, she became snippy with me.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with a golf course view away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWgolffanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I've stayed at the villas twice, and I have to say, they are a bit underwhelming. The units themselves are big and spacious, with good AC & high ceilings. Kitchens offer a lot of amenities for those wanting to prepare their own meals. I just think the location leaves much to be desired. There's not much to do in the immediate area, so you'll have to drive anywhere to get to a point of interest. The grounds themselves are in a walled compound, where my view has both times been just basically a big green in front of a concrete wall with an office park behind it. In the desert heat, the pools fill up on weekends, to the point where the surface of the smaller pools fill to capacity with people floating on their little blow-up loungers. The main pool was kind of a meat market from what I could tell, sort of a spring break vibe with mobs of people drinking beer in the pool. Maybe someone who's into that sort of thing would like that, but it was terrible for families with small children. Also, there are not enough shade umbrellas, and you kind of have to fight to claim one if you want to lounge by the pool. I found the only way I could get some peace on the property was to go back to my villa.

Only some of the parking spots are covered. The rest will turn your car into a dangerous oven in the middle of the day.

If you do have a small child, at least there is a play structure by one of the pools that is entirely covered with a shade.

Overall, I couldn't really get into staying there. The service was ok, but impersonal. The gym was adequate.

Room Tip: Try to stay away from the noisy main pool if you're looking for some peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank myles_of_smiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

As Marriott owners this was one of the best places we have stayed. Check-in was quick and easy, staff has been excellent. Convenient place for sightseeing, golfing, shopping and dining. We are definitely coming back. Would like to make this a yearly trip.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ruth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Embarc Palm Desert
Embarc Palm Desert
#9 of 22 in Palm Desert
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing