We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice time on my first visit to Palm Springs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Ranked #1 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A very nice time on my first visit to Palm Springs”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A friend and I stayed in the Villas II 9/26/12 to 9/30/12. We had a 2-bedroom suite which was very nice sized. The bedrooms, bath, kitchen and living area were all very well done. We were only using the villa as a bedroom as we were sightseeing the entire time. We also did not bother having midweek housekeeping. The view from our balcony was very nice. The grounds were all immaculate, and the resort itself was amazing to see on our short visit there. If there was a small negative, it was that the furnishings in the living areas was somewhat dated. Again, though, we were not in the room very much. The resort staff was pleasant to work with. We had no problems during our stay. We did not use room service or the spa.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paradiseguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    332
    87
    44
    38
See reviews for
426
329
14
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hilton head island
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I will be the first to admit, when we were scheduled for a working vacation in Palm Desert I wasn't sure if I even wanted to go. Typically, my ideal vacation is on a beach. But, work was involved, kinda had to go, so I went with low expectations but trying to make the best of it. I was very pleasantly surprised!! The resort was gorgeous, the rooms very spacious, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. The beds were great, I loved the large bathrooms, and the views of the mountains behind the golf course was pretty spectacular. I enjoyed the pools, we spent a day at the JW Marriott spa (which is connected to the property) which was sublime. We definitely were some of the youngest people there, and we are early 40's, but it was fine, most of the older people were partying harder than we ever do!!

It doesn't have free daily housekeeping which is a bummer, and the rules were a little obscure regarding the use of JW Marriott amenities which was a little annoying. Other than those 2 things it was an excellent stay, and I might even go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bugtussle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this property and will NEVER stay here again. Spent one thousand dollars for a two BR villa for three nights. Chose this property because I am practicing to play in a golf tournament upon my return to Miami. I am a beginner golfer and was planning on using the driving range every day while here. They closed the driving range with no announcement beforehand to their guests. I went to the front desk to say how disappointed I was and they said they would see what they could do for me. They NEVER followed up. I finally called and spoke to a manager named Petra. She said too bad and there was nothing she was going to do for me except give me a break on my bike rental. Really? A thirty dollar break for a ruined trip?

I told them they should post on their website so that people booking villa would be alerted to the fact that the driving range is unavailable the next 25 days. She said that is not going to happen. They would rather deceive you and take your money. Unprofessional handling of my situation and the JW Marriott has lost a customer for life.

Room Tip: Find another place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

A nice quiet place although feels like being a fugitive in a retirement village. As our average age was 40 we felt positively juvenile that does not happen often. Housekeeping was lax, however the staff were lovely. Not sure I would return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracyonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights on a road trip. The room was a 1 bdrm master suite which was very clean and had just about all the amenities in the kitchen (no hot mitts).

I loved the large soaker tub and the deck overlooking the golf course was wonderful for the end of the day drink.

However the furniture in the living room was really not that comfortable for an evening of watching tv (which is was we like to do after a day of golfing). We made due and stacked the pillows so it wasn't so bad.

The only "issue" we had with this resort was checking out. For express checkout, the card by the phone in your room says dial *22, hang up and you're done. Front desk says dial *66....and the message left on our phone by check out staff says dial *521. Huh??

We called the front desk and she checked us out the night before we left. But at 7:10am the day we were to leave, housekeeping showed up at our door. Seriously??

Management needs to work on this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs. Richardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at Villas II in early October, 2012.This is a Marriott Vacation Club (timeshare) property. Our Villa had two bedrooms, two full bathrooms, a full kitchen, living room and dining area. This villa had been recently renovated, something Marriott does on a regular rotation. A flat screen TV in each bedroom plus one in the living room provided enough sleeping space and entertainment for a family of six to eight.

The Villas II are part of a huge sprawling resort which also features Villas I and the JW Marriott Desert Springs Hotel. There is a magnificant Spa on the property along with two first class golf courses. If you have never been to the Palm Springs area for vacation, you will be surprised by the natural beauty that surrounds you.

The Villas II has its own complex of pools and plenty of free lounge chairs, umbrellas and towels to help you enjoy the clear, sunny desert sky. Shop-a-holics will find everything from premium outlets to El Paseo which is a Rodeo Drive like boulavard in Palm Desert. It seems every famous designer has a shop on El Paseo.

The great weather supports a wide variety of outdoor activities and plenty of ways to revive in this luxurious setting. And, when it's time to eat, there are hundreds of restaurants to choose from. Everything from Fast Food to Gourmet.

Room Tip: Most all the Villas line the golf course and there are no high rise units. Two floors to choose from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We spent 2 weeks here divided between villas 1 & 2 although with the villas 2 you have to pay to use the hotels main pool but didn't,t bother us as the pool at villas 2 is just as nice.The apartment was a remodelled one with a view of the mountains and the golf course, it was perfect.The staff are very courteous although having the apartment serviced would have been nice.Will definitely be back !

Room Tip: Think the Upstairs units are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
1.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.6 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
897 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
2.6 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
0.2 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1636
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 402
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing