We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Golf holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Ranked #3 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Golf holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

The Marriott Desert springs Villas 2 in palm desert is an ideal golf retreat location. The Palm and Valley courses are on the property and were 2 of the finest golf properties we visited during our 10 day stay. Service at Villas 2 was first class. Wonderful pools, excellent workout facilities. If you did not want to golf, the resort offered a wide selection of activities each day. This is one of the best vacations we have had in the Palm Springs area, and the Marriott was the reason! Thanks!

Room Tip: We had a room right next to the pool, so we got some noise from the pool activities. much quieter on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 780Edmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    303
    79
    43
    36
See reviews for
396
279
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Marriott Desert Springs Villas offers very well appointed two bedroom units that provide privacy for the adults by separating the adult and child bedrooms with a larger living/kitchen space. The unit we used was within easy walking distance of the outstanding resort pool complex that featured several different pools/spas for adults and children - making it easier on both. The poolside bar and cafe was convenient and offered a wide variety of both adult beverages and juices, sodas, etc. The cafe food consisted mainly of sandwiches, burgers, and salads which were tasty and moderately priced. We made use of the tennis courts, but did not hit the golf course - but it looked pretty inviting. The service was quick and the property is very well maintained. The Desert Springs resort proper is within walking distance of the Villas complex and featured an upscale restaurant, more "cafe" type eateries, and a nice pool complex also. We have been to Palm Desert in both May and September and the weather was decent both trips, although it can get fairly hot (110+) later in May and in early September.

Room Tip: Corner units are a bit larger, but all the 2 bedroom units are plenty big and feature 2 baths as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamccann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was our first experience with a vacation club rental. It certainly will not be our last. For our short stay, the Marriott Desert Springs Villa II offered us the 2 bedrooms plus living space that we wanted while traveling with our adult son and his wife. We were fortunate to get a corner unit that afforded both privacy, lots of bright interior space, and two patios overlooking the golf course. The design is interesting. Upon entering the large entrance foyer, which is locked from the outside, you see two doors. The first interior door (locked or open at your preference) leads to the one bedroom suite, complete with full kitchen, dining area overlooking the golf course, a sunken living room with fireplace and TV, a large master bedroom with jacuzzi, and a fully appointed bath accessible from both the master bedroom and the living area. A lovely patio completed that section. The second door from the foyer opens into the second bedroom, which although smaller than the master, includes a mini kitchen, a beautiful bath with jacuzzi tub, and a separate patio. There is no direct access to the main suite from this second bedroom, however. If we had very small children, the design would not have worked for us - particularly with the second patio affording access to the outside. Doors could have been propped open into the foyer for easy access, which would have solved the problem with children of elementary age or older.

We made dinner one night in the kitchen. The area has convenient shopping so finding a supermarket was easy, and after a day in the sun, hiking in Joshua Tree National Park, we all enjoyed just relaxing in the pool, then later on the patio and still later in front of the fire (gas) and TV while preparing a simple dinner.

The staff is wonderfully helpful, as is typically the case with Marriott resorts, and the grounds of the Desert Springs Villa II are meticulously clean and pleasant. Palm Desert and surrounding areas are beautiful and offer tons of activities for non-golfers with other interests. Cons? The kitchen needs some maintenance. (Desert Springs Villas I was undergoing maintenance while we were there and I suspect that Villas II are scheduled for upgrades also.) Appliances are good, but the cabinets are well worn and one of the doors was loose. Also, the several pools scattered amongst the various "neighborhoods" are quite small, as are the hot tubs, and on two occasions, there were no towels. Normally, guests at the Villas have access to the beautiful pool at the JW Marriott hotel next door, so I would not expect this would be a problem at other times. During the week following Christmas, however, the JW Marriott's pool was closed for renovation and maintenance. All in all, this place is a winner and we would not hesitate to go back. 4.5 stars

Room Tip: the corner suites are large and sunny and have two patios, both separated in such a way to offer mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forestdale, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

i called ahead to find out which was better for kids villas I or villas II. i was so excited to hear that villas II was closer to the kids zone. so i booked with desert springs villas II and the whole place looked amazing and we couldn't wait to go. After arriving I found out I wasn't even staying there but at another place down the street that wasn't even attached to the resort, jasmine court. boy was I mad. The room itself was nice and we ended up having a great vacation other than the fact we never saw the actual resort. we could go to it if we wanted but having to get in the car and drive to the resort we were supposed to be staying at kinda hit me the wrong way. I went in to complain at the main building in the actual resort but there was only one person around to talk to in the whole place in the middle of the day and a line of people looking mad and like they'd been there for a while and the one person to talk to was helping someone on the phone. ALSO there should have been an indoor pool where we were. It was 112 degrees and we got into a dirty WARM (like bath water) pool. My husband and child and I were really hoping the one day we stuck around we could have a nice time but it was absolutely disgusting in that pool. oh and beware of mice everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smv20088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

spent three nights there and played golf for 3 days. the resort golf course was well designed for any handicap player and the course was immaculate. Great price for the experience. The pool and hot tubs were great and the grill side pool was a plus. There are club activities for young children and teenagers, but our was adult golf only. Great location in Palm Deseret.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjsutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level Contributor
123 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Mattress is way too soft; I awakened every morning with back pain. The resort is centrally located near great golf at Desert Willow. Wonderful supermarket at Bristol Farms. Best pizza in the desert at Papa Dan's.

Room Tip: "Jasmine Court" is quiet, but remote. You must walk around the outside of the resort to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRealDesertFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Park NY
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Thank-you to Gen Mgr Susan Belleville and staff. We just spent 3 continuous weeks in a lovely one bedroom unit with a fantastic view of the mountains. Check-in was seemless, the unit was clean and the weather perfect. Problems with the internet were resolved quickly with the help of front desk asst mgr Jim DeBrino and Eng director Glenn Knorr. This is one of the older MVC's, but the refurbishment program here is impressive. We really enjoyed our time at Desert Springs II.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jyoung3381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
1.2 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
1.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Desert Springs Villas I
2.4 mi away
Marriott's Shadow Ridge I-The Villages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II

Property: Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II
Address: 1091 Pinehurst Lane, Palm Desert, CA 92260-1636
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Desert
#3 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
#5 Romantic Hotel in Palm Desert
#6 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II 3.5*
Number of rooms: 804
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Marriott's Desert Springs Villas II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott`s Desert Springs Villas Ii Hotel Palm Desert
Marriotts Palm Desert
Marriott Palm Desert
Palm Desert Marriotts
Palm Springs Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing