We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelzoo special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
california
Level Contributor
171 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Travelzoo special”
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Travelzoo is listing this property at $49/nt (more on weekends) for the summer. I checked in on a Sunday and got a pretty decent room (309) with kingsize bed on the top floor, westfacing with a balcony overlooking the pool, power substation, but great sunset view toward Mt. San Jacinto. Actually if you position your head just so, the balcony railing blocks out the power station from view. From the bed out the window, the view is perfect.

The beds are definitely starting to sag. I found the passenger side next to the window slightly firmer. Other than that it was a decent room for the price, and no resort fee.

Everything worked just fine. Breakfast is the usual.

  • Liked — Breakfast, good value using Travelzoo
  • Disliked — Soft beds
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mlgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    159
    58
    30
    21
See reviews for
98
149
45
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2007

Needed to spend the night in the desert at the last minute and went to Hotwire , listed it as a 3* star hotel in Palm Desert...paid $104.18 inc. tax. When I requested 2 beds at check-in, I was told that no "type" of room was guaranteed...but that I could be accommodated. We were put at a room at the end of the hallway hear the vending & ice machines...they were a bit noisy but the worse part was that the hallway had a real funky aroma...not sure if if was from the ice machine or not but luckily the room didn't smell. The room was clean and the beds were comfy but a big warning...the walls are very, very verryyyy thin and I was awoke at 12:30 with a little activity going on on the other side of the wall...with all the banging and moaning I felt as if i was in bed with them...it was so funny that I had to laugh out loud!

If booked directly, the room is around $160, for the $$ i paid, it was worth it...and besides, I got a good laugh!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank MalibuSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2006

Booked 2 rooms for two nights at this hotel through Hotwire -it came to $50.00/night/room.
Clean rooms that are a bit small, though well appointed. Pool area is nice and clean. Staff is friendly and accomodating. It's a great hotel for if you have kids. The continental breakfast is well laid out with juices, milk, cereal (hot and cold), assorted breads, fruit, hardboiled eggs and coffee. The breakfast area is convenient. The hotel provides trays if you would like to take the food to your room. The free wireless internet worked perfectly - very fast.

Downside: above average noise outside of the rooms - but not too noisy whereas we wanted to leave. Though one can walk around in Palm Dersert, the area is really not conducive to strolling. Palm Springs seems more suited for this.

All in all, it was inexpensive and very nice.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kcollett67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
355 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2006

My family and I stayed at HI Express for two nights in early July for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Got a great price through Hotwire and couldn't have been happier. Wonderful continental breakfast, something our three-year old really appreciated! Nice remodel and nice clean rooms with working air conditioners (something, it seems, is increasingly difficult for us to find in desert hotels these days!). Only downside was the room's carpet needs shampooing.... black feet after just a few minutes. Great location, near the Living Desert Zoo and popular restaurants, including our favorites at "The River" complex. Nice attentive staff, and we were even offered our choice of floors at check-in. Very gracious and accomodating staff throughout the hotel. Nice pool and balconies. Not at all a noisy place and we'd definately look to stay at this location again. Thank you Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 17, 2006

Got four nights on priceline and as usual had a room near the noisy stairs and ice machine. Better than another usual priceline room next to the elevator. Pool was murky with missing tiles and black algae. Breakfast was good enough but heard the golfers complaining they could not sleep. Neither could I--beds sagged. Manager let me try other beds but they were all the same. I asked for a cot mattress or a bed board or help in moving a mattress to the floor as room space was minimal. Was told only the engineer could decide and he was out at the store but he'd call. After seven hours I again went to the front desk to learn he had left for the day. I called the hotel's 100% satisfaction guaranteed 800 number. The recording said they would get back to me within 72 hours... they never did. I spent all four nights trying to sleep on three cheesy blankets on the floor. Management continued to say there was nothing they could do.

  • Stayed May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed May 15, 2006

Excellent Hotel...
Great Location, excellent room (354), Staff was very friendly
Only knock would be the wireless connection in the room was
very slow.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Connecticut
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2006

This hotel is located on Highway 111, the main drag that connects all the desert towns from Indio to Palm Springs. It's separated from the highway by a service road that keeps down the noise. It's convenient by car to El Paseo Drive, the southern entrance to Joshua Tree National Park, and the Living Desert Zoo and Garden. Downtown Palm Springs is a 15-minute drive. We had a king bed with an upholstered armchair and ottoman in lieu of a sofa. The sink is outside of the toilet/bath/shower area, which is convenient, but the lighting over the sink was yellow! There was no full-length mirror. The seating in the breakfast area is limited and there is no computer available for guest access.

Helpful?
5 Thank samanthasopoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palm Desert
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#17 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Deep Canyon
The Inn at Deep Canyon
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Address: 74675 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout.The Hotel is undergoing lobby renovation from November 1st to January 31st,2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing