We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We came to Palm dessert to attend a seminar and stayed at this property. Staff was just great and I must make a special mention about the GM, Luis Valderama. He was extremely helpful and I was impressed to see him both Saturday and Sunday, I saw him engaging with all the guests at breakfast time and made everybody feel special. With a GM like that, is no problem having great staff. Room comfortable, breakfast was great!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Georgia Q,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel. When I receive a comment such as yours, I am more than gratified, as you are a guest who both appreciates as well as understands the hotel culture and service we offer. We pride ourselves in leaving our guests with lasting memories and we are delighted that you had such a great experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 476 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

Reservations had been made for 8 ladies for 2 nights. We were supposed to have 4 rooms. When we arrived we were told our reservations were for the following 2 nights rather than the day of our arrival. The rooms we were supposed to check into were not available for the first night. They put us in 3 "executive suites" which we found to be simply regular hotel rooms with 2 double (NOT QUEEN) beds each. One of the rooms we got was for 4 ladies. The "executive suite" was very cramped! One of the ladies brought in an inflatable bed of her own, on which she slept. Oh, yes, the staff initially told us that we had to pay an additional $20 per room per night because we were in the "executive suites!" Our sorority sister who had made the reservations had to come down to the hotel the next morning and talk to the manager and because of her efforts we didn't have to pay the additonal price. The clerk at the front desk tried her best to help us, and was friendly; it wasn't her fault.

Room Tip: Use another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lakemoosecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2013

Dear Lakemoosecap,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel; we are disappointed that we were not your favorite hotel experience. Based on the information described in your comments I was able to gather some facts about your reservation. Your sorority sister made three double bed rooms reservation. You arrived a day early. Given the circumstances the hotel was not in a position to provide you with the requested room type due to high occupancy, in an effort to accommodate your party despite the date’s mishap we graciously offered you three of our executive suites.

Thanks again for sharing and we wish you the absolute best in your travels.~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Even though I knew I was booking two double beds, I thought it might be because of tight quarters. It wasn't. The headboards were queen size, the beds, double. There was plenty of room for queen size beds. The electric outlets wouldn't hold chargers so phones didn't get charged overnight. TV kept going out for same reason. Water pressure was next to nothing. Coffee in lobby was stone cold. I was ignored by reception when I told him. There were three of us in the room, housekeeping only gave us two towels. Didn't replace coffee cups. There's no loading area. You have to lug your stuff all the way through the parking lot. You can't use the back doors, which are closer to your room because they are afraid you will sneak your pet in. Pool was a nice temp.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Todd M,

Thank you for providing us a detailed feedback. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible.

Please accept our sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced and we regret the issues you experienced during your stay. We have taken note of the points you've raised in this review and discussed them with our team for review. Rest assured that your feedback will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer. ~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Nice quiet place to stay. Unfortunately, this time there were a few parents who don't know how to control their kids, and they were running in the halls. The front desk heard the running and quickly put a stop to that. Staff was friendly and knowledgeable about restaurants. The breakfast was good, with plenty to eat. Although on HWY 111, it's quiet and a lot of parking. Good place to stay. This is our 2nd time there. They even put out fresh baked cookies in the evening.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear Bob K,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a relaxing and quiet stay and enjoyed our famous cookies. We hope to see you many times! ~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay in the desert for the Thanksgiving holiday. Both our sons are in their early 20s so we had to purchase two rooms. It is easy to go overboard with places to stay in the desert $$$. This place is a good choice.
Here are my scores:
Location - A
Value - A
Cleanliness - B
Bed - A
Free Breakfast - C

I recommend !

Stayed: November 2013
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear John W,

Thank you for your review, We are glad that we were able to meet your price for both rooms during your recent stay with us. We look forward to see you again in the future! ~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

Not a true suite - pony wall separating couch area from bed area. Felt a bit cramped. Lovely, relaxing pool area that was always empty the weekend we were there (in November). Breakfast - minimal paleo options (pre-shelled hard-boiled eggs, a little fruit, wafer-thin bacon. Also had biscuits and gravy (tasteless gravy and hard biscuits), machine-made pancakes (tough), very good cinnamon rolls, as well as various cereals and bread products. Very hard-working breakfast staff. Not much seating, and a ceiling fan cuts across one of the lights, creating an unpleasant strobe effect. Workout room contained one elliptical, one bike, one treadmill. No mats/free weights/machine weights. Property includes a tennis court.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Token6500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Token6500,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you had a relaxing stay and enjoyed the pool area. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Sorry to say we had to get out early on a Sunday - around 5:30 AM - some time before start of breakfast. Night manager Charlene and Kitchen Manager Garcelia were nice enough to have a breakfast well organized at the time we needed it. Good bagels and peeled hard boiled eggs. We were also quite pleased to have the engineer come by the room in the evening when the TV/Movie system was a bit cranky and would not play The Butler for us. Thanks again to the engineer for timely help that fixed the problem. Gabby the front desk person was pleasant during check-in and the grounds and parking area looked spotless. Good vending machines - chips and sodas when needed. Well-located in the middle of the Palms Springs region, on the main east-west surface street.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwanda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Dear Cwanda1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert. We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their night's stay a satisfying one. The principal goal of our hotel is to provide dependable service to all of our guests at reasonable prices. But, it's only through their eyes that we can accurately assess the quality of the accommodations and services we provide.

Again, thank you for your review. ~Luis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#14 of 23 in Palm Desert
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#15 of 23 in Palm Desert
356 reviews
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Highway 111, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $110 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout.The Hotel is undergoing lobby renovation from November 1st to January 31st,2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing