We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Palm Desert
Reviewed August 4, 2008

There's very little not to like about this Holiday Inn Express: check-in was quick and friendly, the bed super comfortable, the room spotlessly clean, breakfast exactly what you'd expect, parking free and readily available, and very quiet thanks to its setback just off of CA 111.

All in all it was better than average for a Holiday Inn Express and fantastic value for the Coachella Valley. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank imipolex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 478 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2008

Business trips to the desert in summer can be murder if you don't book the right hotel.
I am profoundly happy to have stumbled onto this three floor hotel!
This is indeed a great value.
The address is directly on Palm Canyon Drive (HWY 111) so is very close to everything, including El Paseo.
The hotel has great rooms, a nice, full breakfast in the morning, and very upscale towels and bedding.
Outwardly, the hotel seems somewhat conventional in design, but the property although older, is kept in great shape.
There is a washer/dryer available, a business desk with one computer terminal (they could use another), and a gracoius and helpful front desk staff.
Rooms are quiet, nicely appointed, and are maintained by a very competent staff of housekeepers.
Without being obtrusive, they are constantly vacuuming, mopping floors, and manicuring the grounds.
You can certainly spend a lot more for hotels in this area, but you would be very hard pressed to get a better value.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Desertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2008

Spent 4 nights here and it was all positive. I was a little surpised at how far it was off I-10, but I didn't do my homework on that (~ 8 miles).

The place was very clean and the front desk were of great help on directions to places. The breakfest was I'd say a tad over average, but still it's always nice to have it included in the price.

There's a Starbucks across the street and few fast food joints within walking too.

Overall I'd stay again and I give it 4/5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank darrylg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2007

We stayed at this property last night and the only positive was a decent breakfast and the cheap rate thanks to Hotwire. Otherwise it was awful. This was my first experience with a Holiday Inn Express.

Upon arrival the parking lot was almost full so we were stuck at the far end of the lot with minimal lighting. I was then informed by the front desk clerk that there was no parking lot security. Great.

We were booked for a non-smoking room but it smelled like a pool hall and there was only one bed, though we booked for three people. The bathroom fan was malfunctioning and made an incredible amount of noise.

Lowlight: After ten hours in the car my wife got in bed only to discover that one of the pillows was not of the hotel-issued variety, but instead was left by a previous guest. It was very dirty and was actually just the pillowcase stuffed with clothes. She threw the case on the floor and was so disgusted she didn't even look inside. How thorough was the room cleaned if housekeeping put a non-standard pillowcase full of clothes on the bed? Gross.

Upon checkout, she asked for a survey card and was told that they didn't have any. Big surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank seancb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEPalmDesert, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2008

Dear Valued Guest,

I would like to apologize for your terrible experience in December 2007. I wanted to let you know that we have recently changed management at the hotel and we are addressing the issues that you mentioned in your comments. I appericate you letting us know about your problems and hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely

Jay Mitchell
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

I purchased the room on Hotwire and it cost $136 for two days. My friend and I took a trip to Palm Springs and stayed from Friday to Sunday; we really enjoyed it. I agree with the other reviewers in that the sink area is only large enough for one person to use it at a time, but other than that the space worked just fine for the two of us. The continental breakfast was great and so was the internet access in the business center. The staff was also very friendly. It was only a short drive to restaurants, outlets and the casino. I would definitely reccommend it and stay there again myself.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank LW1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Three generations of my family stayed here for 4 nights. Everything was immaculate, free continental breakfast was extensive and fresh, staff was friendly and helpful. Will surely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LuvToLearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2007

A very clean and very comfortable hotel. Great value for what you pay. The employees are very nice and professional. The lobby is nice and open with couches and a flat panel television. The hotel hallways are all very clean. The room itself is also very clean with updated furniture and decor. The swimming pool is not huge but still nice and clean. There is a spa too. There is also a single tennis court and 2shuffle board courts whice were unexpected. There is a starbucks coffee right across the street. There is a grocery store and drug store just walking distance away. You can also walk to the El Paseo district will all the fancy shops and resturants. My only complaint with the hotel is that the room has a very small counter top around the bathroom sink. As a family of 4 people, it was impossible for all of us to share the sink with all our bathroom stuff. The sink counter top was only a little bit over 24 inches wide. Very confining. But that was a minor complaint over what I thougt was a very nice hotel. This review is being written on a free internet work station the hotel provides its guests. There is also a gym that has a excercise bike, treadmill, eliptical, and a weight setup for weight training. The morning free breakfast is not bad. Cereal, fruit, juices, bagels, hot cinnebon rolls, coffee, etc... Overall this hotel is a very nice hotel for a resonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Almaden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Palm Desert Resort
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#16 of 23 in Palm Desert
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Palm Desert
4 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
3.5 mi away
Residence Inn Palm Desert
Residence Inn Palm Desert
#15 of 23 in Palm Desert
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Address: 74675 Highway 111, Palm Desert, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92260-3803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#8 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range: $102 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout.The Hotel is undergoing lobby renovation from November 1st to January 31st,2017 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing