We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Colony Gals” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Murrieta, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Colony Gals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

We are a group of friends (16-20) who enjoy spending time in the Palm Desert area including an overnight at The Holiday Inn Express Pal, Desert. We have spent the last four years at this hotel because of its excellent staff and the personal services they have provided us. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: When we stay at this hotel we request rooms surrounding the meeting room which we utilize following...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheColonyGals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear ColonyGals,

Thank you very much for your review and comments...all are truly appreciated. Our location is clearly one of our biggest draws and the service we provide is crucial to keep discriminating guests returning year after year. We are very proud to be your hotel of choice in Palm Desert.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    147
    53
    27
    20
See reviews for
89
135
43
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I was very pleased with my recent hotel stay. The front desk staff made me feel very welcome and were helpful. Carlos was able to point out several recommendations, even gave me a discount coupon and he also told me several points of interest. The room was very well appointed and the property is in great condition. Also, the breakfast was great. Overall this hotel and it's staff blew away my expectations. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldTrigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Goldtrigger,

We very much appreciate your kind comments about our hotel. Our goal is to always provide the finest accommodations and the highest service level at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert. We are very happy that we were able to exceed and “blew away your expectations”. I will make certain that Carlos is made aware of your compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I was very pleased with my one night stay with at the Holiday Inn at Palm Desert. The night manager Charlene was so nice and welcoming when we arrived for a late check-in at midnight. Room was nice and clean. Definitely recommend staying here! My boyfriend and I will come back to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kherf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Kherf22,

We very much appreciate your compliments about our staff and hotel. I will make sure that Charlene is made aware of the great service she provided to you.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I wanted to express my appreciation for the continental breakfast staff (Patty) were very helpful and deserve a great deal of praise for their excellent costumer service. To management and your staff for making my stay a great one, I will defenlenty be staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert again, thank you.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ayoobriannaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear ayoobriannaaa,

Thank you very much for your 5 star rating of your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert We do very much appreciate your ranking of our hotel.

My staff does a great job and we are proud of them, I have shared your compliments with the staff and Patty. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to recognize her for a job well done!!

Thank you again for your outstanding review!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I stayed here six nights in March while attending some professional training. It was very convenient and they offer a convenient hotel shuttle to and from the Palm Springs airport. Rooms were nice size and very comfortable with nice large bathroom, chair and ottoman, good size desk, and a balcony to sit on. They have the best free breakfast I have ever had, including omelets, bacon, sausage and pancakes. The pool was enjoyable and in an inner courtyard area. Gym was adequate. There was a nice value diner within five minute walking distance and also a Mexican restaurant about a 10 minute walk away. Shopping center with pharmacy and grocery across the street.

Room Tip: Upstairs on the third floor was very quiet. It is set back about a block from the busy boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drpass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear drpass,

Thank you for taking the time to share your six days business experience with us. The service culture at the Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert is predicated on a commitment to excellence that is personal, detail-oriented and always delivered in a warm and friendly manner. If we exceeded your expectations, I'm thrilled to hear it. That's our goal for every guest, no matter what their expectations are entering our property.

Thanks for sharing this with us and we will see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Luv
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I traveled to Palm Desert for an event at the McCallum Theater and I chose this place because it's nearby. I've stayed at several Holiday Inn properties in my travels and they usually are predictable. This place was an exception. I was turned off the moment I got to the front desk: the clerk acted strangely and was very rude. As I registered, he said something to me about a problem with my credit card. Even though I knew there was no problem with my card, I gave him another credit card, just so that I could check in and get settled in my room. I didn't need to deal with such drama. The room was average. For the price, the hotel did not offer much, except for snotty personnel. I would not recommend this place. It was the worst Holiday Inn property that I stayed at.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamond-luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Diamond-Luv,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel in Trip Advisor. I want to apologize for the issues you encountered during your stay. Clearly what you describe is far below the expectations that we have and not indicative whatsoever of what our typical guest feedback is. I have shared your comments with my front desk staff.
Again, thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Spotlessly clean, fantastic location near great shopping and lots of interesting restaurants, and a super-friendly staff...what more can I say?! The price is a bargain for this area...would not stay anywhere else when I am in Palm Desert.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms overlooking the pool have a beautfiul of the mountains in the distance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyDucky4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear LuckyDucky4,

Well, you said it all!! We do appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel, location and staff. We take pride in making sure that our service skills and guest satisfaction is the best and unforgettable!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Deep Canyon
The Inn at Deep Canyon
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Address: 74675 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout.The Hotel is undergoing lobby renovation from November 1st to December 31st,2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing