We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“exceeded expectations.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Ranked #12 of 22 Hotels in Palm Desert
Aliso Viejo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“exceeded expectations.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Must be honest! Wasn't planning on staying here, but the business manager booked and once found out, it was too late to change.
Now after the fact, the mistake was a blessing. The hotel was very clean. Pretty good variety with breakfast. You can tell the rooms have been upgraded and modernized. Maybe the best thing about the property was the staff. We had booked several rooms and it was easy to check in and very helpful with directions to places around the area. I would definately stay there again for business trips or personal golf outtings.

Room Tip: I stayed on the third floor in the corner....I think it was room 333 or something like that. The ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank One_Coach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear One_Coach

Thank you so much for your honesty, we appreciate you taking your time in letting others know about your experience with us and how much you enjoyed your stay. We strive very hard from our service to our cleanliness to make each and every guest's stay a great one. Once again thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    147
    53
    27
    20
See reviews for
89
135
43
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

We had been very much looking forward to our 4 night stay at this hotel and felt pretty much let down by the end of it. We were given a room with a pop/ice machine virtually feet from our door that made a LOUD racket day and "night". When we complained after the first night we were told that there were no other rooms cleaned so a move was not possible. We did not ask again and were never offered. Our room was cleaned before 3 on one day we were there and that was after we had complained the day before because we had come back to our room and wanted to relax and it was still unmade. One day we sat down by the pool and waited until 4 to get it done. One day we just told her not to bother after 3:30 rolled around. I think the cleaners work very hard but there is just not enough of them. There is pretty much no vanity area (nowhere even to hang a towel). The door to the fridge area would not stay closed and we kept running into it. My husband bruised a leg on it. On a happier note, the breakfast is good. We will not go back.

Room Tip: Make sure you aren't given the one with the pop/ice machine right outside your door unless you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverIslandLotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to first thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future. We strive to ensure our guests receive the up most customer care and cleanliness during their stay. It is disappointing that you did not receive that while here with us.

Again, I apologize for all the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

We just returned from a two day stay at this place. It was terrible. The room was cramped, and the bathroom sink area was ridiculous. Barely enough room to set your toothbrush down. Forget anything else. The faucet in the tub was coming out of the wall. The toilet took at least 3 flushes to completely empty.

First morning, we were awakened shortly after six with the beeping of the trash truck (right under our window). It seems there was excessive trash because the beeping went on for at least an hour. Perhaps it was a series of trucks. Then there was the barking dog, not to mention everyone's car alarms when they lock or unlock their cars. All this right outside our room.

We left the hotel for approximately four hours, returning hoping to take a quick nap before getting ready to go out that evening. Our room had not been made up....and never was during our stay. None of the housekeeping staff seemed to speak a word of English....so trying to get some clean towels was difficult at best. There was only one elevator for the entire 3 story building...and it was shared with the housekeeping staff as well. Half the time, when it arrived at our floor, it was completely filled with a cart and we had to wait until the maid sent it back to us.

The door on the "mini" fridge didn't latch properly and was forever opening....which caused problems when trying to navigate oneself to the bathroom during the night. Twice I scraped my arm on it.

I was under the impression that I'd booked the Rancho Mirage location...as this one seems to be listed as Rancho Mirage/Palm Desert. We will never stay in the Palm Desert location again. Next time I'll be certain that we are booked into the Rancho Mirage location....IF, and it's a big IF, we ever book Holiday Inn again.

Room Tip: Be sure you're not facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Azusalady,

Thank You for your reviews and comments. So sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I do understand that we are not the right hotel for everyone.
All guest comments are taken seriously and we continuously make efforts to use any less than perfect reviews as training and coaching opportunities for our staff and management.

Again, Thank you for your valuable comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights for a dog show. The hotel has great and easy parking, looked nice and was well kept on the outside. The inside lobby was nice and the staff was friendly...Our check in was very fast and efficient. The staff at check in was very friendly. Our room was adequate...The bedroom/tv/desk sitting area was very spacious. But the bathroom "area" was a pain especially if there is more than 1 person trying to accommodate the space at the same time. The sink was not in the "bathroom" but was outside it and directly across from the closet and area where you put your suitcase...The space between the sink and that area is big enough to accommodate one person. Because the sink is squeezed in that space there is no counter space to put anything...Not even your toothbrush and toothpaste. The toilet and bath/shower are in a very spacious bathroom...there is no reason they could not put the sink in the bathroom with an adequate countertop. So if my husband was at the sink brushing his teeth or trying to brush his hair at the sink and i needed to get into the bathroom or to the closet to get something out of my suitcase, it was a shuffling game. We found it a real pain. if it was just me in the room, no problem (except the no counter space issue), but 2 people trying to get ready at the same time made it trying. Aside from this, the bathroom is clean, the room itself is clean. There is a refrigerator, and the room is nicely furnished...the bed is only adequate. It was extremely firm. I dont like soft mattresses per say, but it really hurt my ribs or hips which made it so i was tossing and turning a lot. if you are traveling with a dog, there is great walking/potty space for them. The breakfast in the morning was in a nice area, and was better than many places that include breakfast. The value was only ok...frankly I would have given it a higher rating if i didn't pay what i did. For what it was, they shouldn't be charging what they were. I would stay there again in a pinch, but i will not stay there again next year when we go to that show. There are 3 other hotels literally within the same block and i will try one of those next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRCazador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear RRCazador,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations.We appreciate your nice comment regarding the room, mattress and room amenities.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bathroom size. We will look into this point. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to ensure complete guest satisfaction. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Upon first appearances, the building appears dated, but beyond the lobby doors., it is a delightful surprise. I was greeted by name when I arrived and upon entering my room I found a lovely welcome letter with my name on it, a complimentary welcome basket of fruit, snacks and water, quick and easy check in, a great breakfast, guards watching the cars easy check out, clean accommodating rooms, and incredibly comfortable beds. Thank you, for honestly caring about me.

Room Tip: Not to worry. Any room is great. They want you to leave happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmlvngstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Let me first say that this is a nice Holiday Inn Express. I would have likely given this hotel 4 stars had they not charged an extra $50 for a night that included our well behaved dog. To make it worse, we were given a room near exits that could only be used in emergencies and therefore had to take our dog through the lobby every time we took him out. This was a lengthy walk and I think given the charge and that we are both Priority Platinum Members, a more convenient location would have been warranted.

The room was nice as was the lobby and the breakfast bar. The staff when we checked out was far superior to the staff when we checked in. Good location.

Room Tip: If you have a pet, ask for a room with good outside access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2takepics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Luv2takepics,

Thank you for been a loyal Priority Club Member and for taking the time to review our hotel in Trip Advisor. I understand your feeling about the $50.00 pet fee, I apologize if you feel that it’s to high , but although dogs are well behaved and clean they leave behind dander, hair and other matters that have to be properly and deep cleaned to make sure the next guest enjoy their stay in a clean room in the same way you enjoyed yours.

Again, thank you for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a pretty good hotel with not a bad location and - importantly for this trip - pet friendly. The room was clean, nice size, and convenient. There were no issues with lights, plumbing, or television. There were some noise problems with what I believe was a car shop next door, as well as what appears to be a power transformer substation.

The staff were friendly and attentive. Housekeeping was efficient and thorough. The breakfast was very nice and kept well stocked. (Though the conveyor-belt automatic pancakes are a little ... strange!) I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have a view, but face the transformer station and a vehicle repair shop. This can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luis V, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear TravelingCook,

Thank you for the great review of the Holiday Inn Express in Palm Desert. It is a proud moment for us when a guest writes a great review and even better when they can end the review with a comment like “I would stay here again”.

Thank you once again for your great comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Palm Desert hotels
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Palm Desert Resort
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Palm Desert
0.3 mi away
International Hotel & Suites
International Hotel & Suites
#14 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Palm Desert
0.2 mi away
The Inn at Deep Canyon
The Inn at Deep Canyon
#15 of 22 in Palm Desert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage

Property: Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage
Address: 74675 Highway 111, Palm Desert, CA 92260
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Desert
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Palm Desert
#9 Family Hotel in Palm Desert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert Rancho Mirage/Golf Hotel, directly in the city of Palm Desert, is in the heart of the 'World Capital of Golf'. This award winning quality Palm Desert hotel, known for its 'friendly and helpful staff,' awaits your next visit to Palm Desert, California. Stay where the leaders stay. Players from the PGA, LPGA and Senior PGA have made this hotel their home away from home. The Holiday Inn Express hotel is centrally located to over 120 'world class golf courses' and Coachella Valley's corporate community. Minutes from El Paseo, Palm Desert's renowned Shopping District, the Living Desert, Desert Willow & Indian Wells Golf Resorts, famous Palm Desert restaurants, the Bob Hope McCallum Performing Arts Center, Indian Wells Tennis Gardens, La Quinta Art Festival and world famous Palm Springs. When you are ready to unwind, take advantage of our large heated pool and spa, play an invigorating game of tennis or shuffleboard or workout in the executive gym. All rooms have semi-private patios or balconies. Start your day off right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast. In addition to breakfast, watch the events of the day on the 47' plasma screen TV and notice the new decor that includes fine leather furniture and granite throughout.The Hotel is undergoing lobby renovation from November 1st to December 31st,2016 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Palm Desert / Rancho Mirage Hotel Palm Desert
Holiday Inn Palm Desert
Palm Desert Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing